In-and-Out-of-Class Assignment

We spent last week talking across location in our interactions with different campuses. This week, we’ll incorporate location into our blogs via Google maps.

In-Class Assignment

Head to my friend Grant’s blog, where you’ll find a simple tutorial on creating a map in Google and adding it to your website or blog. Have a look through (we’re only dealing with step #1, unless you feel like going further), and use it as your guide for this assignment. You’ll use this guide to do the following steps:

  1. Create an individual map with three locations (use the pin colors indicated):
    1. Your city of birth (blue)
    2. The city where you grew up or have lived (yellow)
    3. A city you’d like to work in (green)
  2. In the class collaborative map, “Birthplaces,” you’ll map these three spots once more. Be sure to label them with your name and what they show so they are counted.

Out-of-Class Assignment #1 – Personal

Using the same process, you’re going to design a more complex map to add to your blog. It should consist of at least 5 data points (with detail included in their pop-up windows) and will follow these steps:

  1. Write a post that incorporates location in some way (e.g., restaurants I like, places I’ve seen WVU b-ball players). It does not need to be hard news (yet), but it should be a full-fledged post. (you may use lines or shapes in place of some of your points, but it’s not required)
  2. Using the above guide, create a map in Google Maps with a marker for this location. You’ll use the same login you use for Google Reader.
  3. Attach the map to your blog post just like you would an image (directions are included with the how-to link).
  4. Publish!
  5. Post the link (with a description of what’s being mapped) to the comments of this post.

Out-of-Class Assignment #2 – Collaborative

Using your new collaborative skills, your Twitter scavenger hunt team will map two locations in the “WVU Scenic Spots” map (I’ll send you an invite): Your scenic location (blue) and your little-known fact (green). Be sure to provide information in the box about who your team is and what you’re showing.

Both due: Noon, Monday, February 21

General Tips

I don’t want you to overcomplicate this, but here are a few tips:

  • Add markers by clicking on the name of your map in the left bar, then click the “Edit” button. The tools for markers and drawing appear in the top left corner of your map. If they don’t, you may need to re-click the map name (you MUST add these pointers).
  • Test your post. If the map doesn’t look right, try re-copying and pasting the link.
  • If the map is incorrectly zoomed on your page, click “link” then “customize and preview embedded map.” In the window that pops up, zoom the map in or out as necessary, then copy the text in the window below and paste it to your site. You can also change the size of the map here.
  • You can see a sample post that shows what I want at my personal blog via this link.
19 Responses to In-and-Out-of-Class Assignment

  1. K.Wish. says:

    I can’t get my photo to show up in the Google Map. It looks like the link is broken. But the only link I have of the photo is an yfrog.com link so I’m not sure what else to put.

  2. capnwinters says:

    http://wp.me/p1hTPU-4s
    Here’s my Google Maps post. I used a custom map to show good places to purchase/play games in the Morgantown area.

  3. rdlwvufan says:

    http://elrod1986.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/cartography-101/

    I have a map of where the Cowboys won their five Super Bowls.

  4. aarongeiger says:

    I mapped out the locations of my foundational poets to see how diverse my interests were, geographically. I also invite readers to help me collaborate on an all-encompassing, hyper-accurate map of all American poets.
    http://www.butifandthat.com/poetry-map/

  5. ewadd986 says:

    http://draftzone.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/177/

    This is my map where you can see some of the destinations a player makes when going through the draft process.

    *Only problem is I can’t get the map to show in my browser (firefox). And I noticed my map that I did for the in class assignment also isn’t showing up even though it did in class which is why I’m thinking it has something to do with the browser.

  6. kerigero says:

    http://kerigero.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/a-few-places-to-eat-in-morgantown/
    This is my map of some of the places I like to eat/drink in Morgantown.

  7. tonicekada says:

    Is anyone else having trouble adding their map to their post? I’m using the second code for embedding and pasting it into the html tab on my post. Anyone else having the same trouble?

  8. bostonkid124 says:

    http://wildandrondoful.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/familiar-places-different-faces/

    Thats my post on the Celtics upcoming road trip and where they are playing.

  9. tonicekada says:

    http://tonishealthblog.wordpress.com/2011/02/20/healthy-places-to-eat-around-morgantown-2/

    There’s my link. The post is about healthy and unique places to eat in Morgantown as opposed to Munchi’s and Los mariachi’s (Though they can be hard to resist!)

    I’m not sure if my map will come up or not. I’m having a lot of trouble with the link, so I just went ahead and posted it the best I could.

  10. lindsaycobb says:

    I have been trying to get my map on my post for two hours- I don’t know why it isn’t working. I see other people are having problems too- I’ll try again on campus and see if it was my browser.

    I made a map of some of the schools hosting the oneSHIRT volunteer event going on this week at WVU and schools across the country.

    http://timeaddedtomyday.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/students-giving-clothing/

  11. K.Wish. says:

    I wrote a post that highlights some of the most popular artists today and mapped out where they are all from, showing that they are all from Europe.

  12. coreypreece says:

    http://thebigbeast.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/morgantown-best-places-to-watch-the-big-east/ Hey guys, my map pertains to the best sports bars in Morgantown and gives some tips on drink and food specials and when is the best time to go to each dive. Hope you all enjoy, I’m sure some people will feel differently about my Top 5 list!

  13. http://collegeandwine.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/around-town/

    here is my link! Sorry it’s late! I did it last week and I meant to post it, but things started happening! Sorry!!

    It is five places in Morgantown to buy wine. Enjoy!

  14. awieders says:

    http://nfldraftbusts.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/mapping-the-quarterbacks-by-location/

    Sorry it’s late as well. It took a while because it would have felt incomplete without it. It is a map of the 25 quarterback prospects in the 2011 NFL Draft. It’s color coded based on what I think of the prospect.

Leave a Reply

