Read & Respond – Week 11

Nothing too strenuous for this read & respond. Mainly, read through the assigned Briggs chapter 6 on visual storytelling. Think about his advice and the example experts he gives. Many of you have been incorporating visuals in your work, so you seem to have a good understanding of the subject, but start to think about more creative forms of visual storytelling. How might your blogs tell a story that is more visual than text (and while “use lots of photos” is surely an answer, it’s not the ONLY answer).

Second, I’d like you to look at some photoblogs. What’s a photoblog? Find out for yourself. Cake Wrecks, which we discussed, is an example. Why? Post at least one (use an in-text link, not the URL, please) and tell us a bit about how it works.

Third, go poke around a bit in Tumblr. This site (and others like it) are becoming prominent examples of quick-hit, visual blogging. Actually, I’m not even sure if “blogging” is the right word for whatever Tumblr is, but it’ll suffice for now. This Huffington Post list of “33 Tumblrs you NEED to follow” might be a good place to explore. Maybe even create one yourself (although that’s not part of the assignment). It may not be your thing, but resist the urge to gripe’n’grumble and remember: Look past the content to what’s behind it. What ideas are here that we as journalists can use?

Finally, I’d like to share with you this gem from our spam filter:

“Throughout the great pattern of things you actually secure a B- just for effort and hard work. Exactly where you confused everybody was first on all the facts. As it is said, the devil is in the details… And that couldn’t be more accurate at this point. Having said that, allow me say to you just what exactly did do the job. The text is definitely pretty powerful and that is possibly the reason why I am taking an effort in order to opine. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Next, while I can see a leaps in reasoning you come up with, I am not convinced of exactly how you seem to unite the ideas which help to make the conclusion. For the moment I will, no doubt subscribe to your point however hope in the foreseeable future you connect your dots better.” (from Zilvinas Juraska, posted 2011/03/14 at 4:46 am to our “About” page)

I guess there’s always room for improvement.

Remember, your responses are due by noon Monday, March 28 (after spring break) as a comment to this post.

18 Responses to Read & Respond – Week 11

  1. K.Wish. says:

    After reading through this Briggs chapter and applying it to my own blog, I’m considering follow the art process of local artists through photographs. My blog relies largely on photos of art pieces to add understanding and depth to my posts. Without those photos, my blog would be very dull and pretty pointless. However, all of these photos come from other sources, none of them are originally from me. It would be fun to follow the art process of an artist as they create something.

    Next, an example of a photoblog, you ask? Well, I believe that Fail blog is an exceptional photoblog. Ever need a pick-me-up or a good laugh? This is the place to go. It essentially posts screen shots from failed text message auto-corrects, photos caught from bad newscasts and events, pretty much anything that is an epic fail. For example, they featured the Prince William and Kate Middleton teacup picture (the only problem is the teacup features Prince Harry, not William). Failblog also features some video clips. Photoblogs like Failblog and Cake Wrecks essentially rely on the photo as the content and context for blog posts. They will occasionally comment on the featured photo, but without it, the post would have no meaning.

    Lastly, we have Tumblr. Personally, I do like Tumblr as a source to find interesting things. As journalists, this can be used as a source of fact checking, information digging, and even a place to find special interest items. There is really no limit on what you can find on Tumblr. So if you’re writing a piece of something with relatively little mainstream information available, Tumblr might be the resource to utilize.

  2. rdlwvufan says:

    I think Briggs makes some good points about the importance of being able to take good photos. I’ve never been a “photographer,” and I’ve never even been much of a picture taker. My last group blog post had two photos that I took with my cell phone, which I suppose is good enough for the purposes of this class. I’ve done a lot more work with filming video than I have with taking photos, but the benefits of this skill are obvious. No one wants to stare down a giant block of text. When reading a text book, for instance, it’s a nice surprise to turn the page and see a photo or chart taking up an entire page. Similarly, a blog is easier to digest when photos are present, even if, at the moment, I am not the one taking them.

    Failblog and its cheezburger cohorts was my first thought, though it has already been mentioned. Another one that came to mind is Engrish . This is also a humorous site that shows photos of bad translations that occur on clothes, signs, etc. around the world, specifically Asia. The author throws in his two-cents about each photo, to add to the comedic element. Sometimes these comments are funny, but sometimes not. Usually the visuals are all that is needed for a good laugh.

    So, I’ve never been to tumblr before. I guess you have to sign up for it just to look around? By now, you know how I feel about signing up for things. I signed up for it, so I guess I’ve got another blog now. From a quick look-see, it’s an organized photoblog that allows users to look around at everything with it separated into neat categories, which is convenient. Some are stupid, like lolcat pictures, but others, like Japan and Libya tags, are relevant to what’s happening now. I can see a lot of different uses for this site, from giving the news to promoting a business. Like Kristen said, it can be a good place to start when you don’t know where to start.

    • Bob Britten says:

      You don’t need to sign up for tumblr to look around (unless I am misunderstanding you). To see other blogs, just click through that 33 tumblrs link – you can witness, for example, the majesty of Scanwiches.

      • rdlwvufan says:

        Well, when I went to the home page, it just told me to make an account, and I couldn’t figure out a way to bypass it to just look around. I forgot to look at the 33 tumblrs link, so I guess that might have helped.

  3. deepafadnis says:

    Photos speak clearer and louder than words in most cases. Briggs in chapter 6 talks about using visual aid to enhance the quality of your blog or simply to have a visual blog/photo blog. It is very interesting because with the ease of internet today photo sharing has become extremely easy. In fact after the invention of cameras, I would say digital photography was one of the greatest inventions. The chapter talks about editing programs that can be used to enhance the quality of the photograph, which I think is interesting information. Also the part that talks about how to build a good audio slide show was very interesting.

    If I had to pick one photoblog that I really like it would have to be Moodaholic. There is something about these pictures that speak to you in a different way. This European photoblog has received many accolades for the work and the author of the blog states that the purpose of his photoblog is to maintain a fair playground with his own rules. Now that part is open to interpretation, but if you see his pictures you pretty much understand what he is trying to capture.

    Finally, Tumblr is fun and uncomplicated. The ease of just posting a picture using all the various options that it provides is just very convenient and encouraging. Also the idea of reblogging, an option on Tumblr that lets you share you photo entry with the world with just a click of a button is terrific. There is no doubt that Tumblr is here to stay.

  4. tonicekada says:

    Firstly, after reading through the Briggs chapter I realized how dull the photographs on my blog really are. Not good. I kind of wish we would have read this chapter a little bit earlier in the semester to help us with our blogs. Reading chapter 6 helped me realize how important a photograph can be to a blog. so far this semester I have made the mistake of making all of my photographs the same size, which Briggs says can eventually take away the photos’ impact and bore the audience. For the future I will be sure to try to size my photgraphs appropriatly according to their importance and impact to my post.

    Next, I thought the Briggs chapter had a great point about how to take the photo and edit it. Maybe this seemed like simple logic to everyone else, but I’m no photograpgher…I’m more of a “take the pic with my cell and immediately upload it kind of photographer.” For the future when taking pictures for my blog I will try to remember to think about lighting, how to posistion the subjects, and angles. I want to keep cropping in mind too so I can only show the audiece what is really important.
    http://exposedplanet.com/kids-along-the-northern-highway-belize/?cat=1

    Sorry about the link, I don’t know how to do the in-text…I keep doing something wrong when I try it.

    The link I posted will take you to the categories page of this photoblog. The blog is called “Exposed Planet.” It’s about an adventurer who goes all around the world and posts photos about his trips, places he’s seen, and people he has meant. I think the pictures he posts on this blog truely do say 1000 words. This photo blog is more serious whereas cakewrecks is more humorous. Exposed Planet allows the viewer to see the culture and the world, not read about it. The author of Exposed planet, I have noticed, is very good at using multiple shots to really make the photos stand out. for example, the author uses extreme close-ups to show the expressions on peoples faces from around the world.

    Cake wrecks, on the other hand, is much more humorous, and was basically just created because the author was bored one night. Nonetheless, Cake wrecks is also a great photoblog, but moreso by an amature photographer. Pictures and humorous captions are used to create the conversation.

    Lastly, Tumblr seems like a quick and easy site to surf for photos by clicking on the numerous tags. It seems like it is moreso fun and entertaining, than to be used seriously for journalism. Though, I would say it would serve as a good starting point for sources, or even to check facts.

  5. Photos are extremely important to blogs. This is evident with entire websites being based around photos. Unfortunately, my blog is majorly lacking on pictures. In fact, pictures are non-existent on my blog. We live in a very visual society and attention spans are short. Pictures help enhance the page and hold the viewers attention. I keep telling myself every week that I am going to go out with my camera and capture my own images for my site. This never happens. I guess I feel like I can get by on my blog without just showing photos of wine bottles. Briggs definitely demonstrates why pictures are so important to people.

    A personal highbrow favorite of mine is people of walmart. This site is full of pictures of people gone wrong shopping at Walmart. You vote for which picture is worse and those photos battle off against others. It will make you feel much better about yourself. The whole site is focused around pictures and if the pictures did not exist, neither would the site. The pictures show the reality of what is really out there. The picture is worth a thousand words, or could just leave us speechless.

    Tumblr is a great idea but can be overwhelming. I always heard about it but never really knew what it was. There are some blogs that you can follow and it is constantly updating and pictures are constantly coming up. If you are following multiple blogs your dashboard can fill quickly. This just gets to be an overload and too much.

  6. aarongeiger says:

    I’m going to sound like a dork, but when I first found out I was taking this class, I started by reading chapter six. It helped confirm what I had already been thinking: that it’s important to develop a blog that was visually intensive. If you look at my blog, you’ll see that the homepage is centered on the visually-cued “moments” of each post. Within each post you’ll find one rather large photo or illustration that is extracted from the post for the main page. You’ll also see some of my posts that are centered around a photo gallery like the ones here and here. On these two links to posts on my website, you’ll find that I grabbed some of the photos from a Flickr “commons” area, where photographers post material that is available for various types of reuse. I think their pictures are a vast reservoir that most bloggers don’t even bother to use. I always try to credit the photographers, even when they don’t explicitly ask for attribution. But I think it’s important to come up with original material, and therefore I’m going to start carrying my camera around with me (since my cell phone camera has the resolution of an Atari).

    My personal favorite photo site, I’m ashamed to admit, is Picture Is Unrelated. It’s a website dedicated to the finding and posting pictures that make absolutely no sense. Nothing more. Nothing less. The photo blogging format works perfectly, and the site is simple and easy to use.

    I’m also glad Tumblr was brought up, because I finally can share something very weird and apropos to this subject with the class. Some of my old friends and colleagues started a meme-Tumblr, using one of my photos from when I was seven- or eight-years old. They called it Wee Geiger. I had nothing to do with it, and, quite frankly, I was a little creeped out. It shows the power of the Internet, since only about a dozen people worked on the “Wee Geiger” memes. On the note of why Tumblrs might be important, my old undergrad college rag, the Daily Illini, experienced technical difficulties on the biggest day of the year for the University of Illinois—”Unofficial St. Patrick’s Day, where tens of thousands of students from several states descend upon Champaign-Urbana for two or three days of crazy partying. The DI staff decided to create a Tumblr account to follow the festivities and fallout, which usually includes some sort of violent death each year. Their decision actually worked out so well they will probably do it again next year. Check it out!

  7. Jazz says:

    Something to be said about a blog that emphasizes photography. I enjoy almost everything in the cheeseburger network, which includes the aforementioned Engrish, as well as Failblog, Kludges, that sort of thing. But we need to dig deeper. There seem to be three types of photoblog: The Cheap-to-maintain gallery, the Comedy Caption site, and the mobile blogging and journalism concentration. Journalism lies within the wheelhouse of all, but is most prevalent in the third. That said, I enjoy the expressive photos I found at
    FriskyPics
    , a New York based photographer. It is much the gallery sort of site, but they do occasional journalism. Basically they catalog a life through stunning photography, and I find that sort of low-concept visual storytelling to be fascinating.

    I wish I understood Tumblr more. I mean, there seems to be nothing you can’t do with blogger or wordpress. I could understand if the thing was more like a StumbleUpon but with blogs. It has a certain ease of use, but frankly, I don’t want someone with no computer skill creating and maintaining a blog. It’s far too painful. Then again, the strength of Tumblr is how it ties so many online projects and applications together. And looking over the Huffington Post article, plenty of reputable and downright helpful sources have jumped on the Tumblr bandwagon, maybe making it a legitimate well for extracting news. Beats hitting wikipedia for news before an interview. I still prefer google, RSS feed searching, and wordpress.

    All I need to do is incorporate photos more dramatically in my own work. I’ve been saving up for an SLR, but that dream may not come to fruition. My phone doesn’t even take pics. At least knowing how to successfully use pictures will give me insight into my own journalistic future.

  8. kerigero says:

    I think that a lot of us have gotten lazy and used to just simply using a lot of photos in our blogs to tell the visual story (I know I’m guilty of it!) that we’ve forgotten about the power we possess as story tellers and journalists. I mean, what makes your favorite book so good? Because it draws you in and makes you want to read more. I think our blogs could be like that too, to the point where we don’t need to rely on a bunch of generic pictures to tell our stories.

    I’m not sure if this counts as a photoblog, but I’m going to roll with it because it reminds me of Cake Wrecks…AwkwardFamilyPhotos.com is a photoblog where people send in their awkward family photos (as the name suggests) and then the website admin puts a clever one-liner and title with the photos…and sometimes the one-liners make the photos even funnier. Then people can comment on photos and share them on facebook and twitter. I had learned of this website about 2 years ago, but I had never thought of it as a blog…And I guess it’s doing so well that they’ve actually added a new branch called Awkward Family Pets! The entire site is pretty funny and whenever you think that your family can’t get any weirder, just spend a few minutes on this site!

    I’m not entirely sure what Tumblr is…I went on the site and poked around a bit but I still have a lot of questions. But from what I did see, it kind of reminds me of a place where photographers and visual journalists would “blog” and post their pics with a sentence or two about them. It’s definitely more of a quick blog type of site, and with people wanting their news and information more immediate than ever, I wouldn’t be surprised if these quick blog sites started popping up more often and becoming more popular. Even if the average person is somewhere where the witness an accident, all they have to do is snap a picture and write 1 or 2 sentences about what happened and post it on Tumblr…instant news!
    -After I wrote that, I realized that that’s essentially what people do with Twitter…maybe I need to do more research about Tumblr..

  9. capnwinters says:

    This actually ties in pretty well with what we’re doing in Visj 210 right now, as far as how we impart meaning to sequences of images. The dilemma of tying images together in such a way that they will tell a story is best illustrated in comics, as Berger showed us.

    When people say a picture is worth a thousand words, that’s really open to interpretation. Oftentimes photos require explanation and context so the audience can see what you’re trying to convey. The successful marriage of text to provide context and visual content to illustrate a point is the beating heart of a blog. Show, don’t tell is a big rule in film making, but can also be a useful maxim when blogging.

    Photoblogs can really be two different things. First, there are community-oriented sites with a central theme, such as things ruined by one’s children. These are less about context and more about leading viewers to imagine the various colorful events which may have led up to whatever humorous climax the image captures.

    The second (less interesting) kind of photoblog is more concerned with actual photography and capturing more sober subject matter.

    And as for Tumblr, if 4chan is the womb of all memes, then Tumblr is the daycare. I mean, you can post all sorts of stuff, but the things that consistently pop up on my radar are page after page of Tumblr memes linked by my Facebook friends. I know that my most Internet savvy companion equates Tumblr with StumbleUpon in terms of form and function. I agree with this assessment; in many ways Tumblr seems to be a visually focused counterpart to Stumble.

  10. I think the big thing Briggs hints at is we, as upcoming journalists, have to be renaissance journalists. We need to learn to take photos, shoot video, write well, etc, etc, etc. I personally love photos. They are able to tell stories in way photos can’t. A good story needs to be complimented by good photos. They don’t tell the same thing, but tell them differently. That little tid bit goes out to Lois Raimondo. Photo blogs are fantastic though, especially with original photos. I’ve seen awkward family photos mentioned, which is hilarious. I used to check someoneoncetold me daily, but it was shut down. Another interesting photo blog is .

    As for Tumblr, I’ve heard wonderful things about it, but I haven’t really gotten into it. I did make an account though, and I love how it’s all categorized. The audience it’s able to reach is crazy. There are celebrities using Tumblr, journalists, photographers. It’s really just insane. And with everything you can post it seems appealing to everyone. I think poetry was first thing that struck my mind as odd. Tumblr also has so many apps and ways to share things fast, which has influenced its growth. I just downloaded it on my phone, so hopefully that will help me use it more and understand it. Truly though, in a small way, it reminds me of Twitter and Facebook mixed. The ability to share basically anything, like Facebook, but the connectivity of the entire world, like Twitter.

  11. CoreyCP says:

    In some ways I liked Briggs’ chapter on Visual Storytelling “with Photographs” and in other ways I thought he could have expanded the idea of visual storytelling on the internet. For one, I think it is extremely important for bloggers to use as much visual content as possible in their daily writings and musings. Obviously most people are visual learners and every one is attracted to pictures, but it is the very idea of the human’s natural attraction to the image that has fueled the rise of the blogosphere. Blogs are able to incorporate photos and videos in seemingly a “no holds barred” fashion where as traditional news outlets usually only feature one or two photos in a text story (though some are beginning to include interactive graphics and media a la The New York Times).

    However this brings me to my point about Briggs needing to expand his discussion on visual storytelling, he doesn’t really get into the area of using photos from outside sources on your blog. I feel like it would have been extremely helpful to at least talk about the legality of using other photos and the proper way to site photographs (and the proper way to obtain photos) when blogging. Instead, Briggs employs the help of professional photographers and nifty photo-editing tutorials to cover the area of personal photographing…of which I guess the majority of bloggers don’t do a lot of.

    To me a photoblog is a blog that uses photos and videos as a core piece of content. Instead of synthesizing news and adding to the global discussion on matters like politics, education, health, or finance…photoblogs typically rely on one-liners about a photo or video or seek the “shock factor” when posting certain photos or videos (to gain readers of course). A lot of times photoblogs are comedy based or at least light-hearted in nature, making them perfect for a quick break from work or an easy laugh. One of my favorite photoblogs is “Barstool Sports: Boston” (there are two other versions but Boston is the best). Barstool is essentially a “man’s” photoblog and typically posts photos of beautiful women, sports videos, home videos, and random photos of hilarity and offers up Tosh.0-like commentary on each photo/video…often times leaving me in helpless fits of laughter. Check it out: http://boston.barstoolsports.com/
    Before last night I had never visited Tumblr, and while I can honestly say my traffic to the site might never gain traction it is an interesting “blog” aggregator (?) I looked around on the Explore page and it was kind of like Twitter on steroids. The most popular “tags” (#) are constantly updating but unlike Twitter with its thousands of external links to AV materials, Tumblr allows the user to upload a photo or video directly into their “tag post” and allows the reader to instantly connect with the text…instead of waiting for your smartphone to download a photograph. A pretty cool idea and one that works almost perfectly. If I had a bit more time to look around and play with some of the features and functionalities I would probably like Tumblr a lot more (and might consider adding it to my arsenal of social media outlets) but for now I am going to stick to Twitter baby steps.

  12. ewadd986 says:

    I think that what Briggs talks about in chapter 6 is really important for our blogs. Pictures might only tell half the story but that half can be crucial with the right picture or art. I found it interesting when he talks about using different sizes of photos because if you don’t vary it you will bore your audience and lose their attention. I have tried to move my photos around so they are on different sides when I have multiple ones but I have never thought about changing up the sizes, which I agree will probably be more effective.

    The photoblog that I checked out is called . This blog is setup to show one picture with a toolbar underneath that guides you to related photos from that shoot. The easiest way I found to navigate the site was through the archives where he has a lot of different categories of tagged photos like animals, morning, black and white and so on. There is not a ton of info about the site but the photographer is definitely very talented and has a ton of great nature related photos that I recommend you check out even if you are not totally into nature.

    I have never used Tumblr before but I have seen people pimping theirs on Facebook before. From what I read on their about page it seems like just a well organized community of “micro blogs” as they put it. Looking at the other link, it seems like it is just an easier way to post content like videos and pictures and I think that it’s helpful that it is all compiled into one database. This could help journalist who are looking for information about a specific topic or if they need a picture they can just search tumblr and have a ton to choose from.

  13. jonvickers says:

    Briggs.

    While parts of this text were review for me with my photography background, I thought it was a great overview of the basic concepts and I did pick up some information I was rusty on. I liked the overview and simple description of resolution and it reminded me to be aware of publishing more information (higher than 72 ppi) than needed. I did find myself wanting more information about “ownership, copyright and fair use.” I was pretty familiar with the photography techniques and strongly agree with some of the ethical discussion about post production. I also strongly agree with Briggs’ suggestion of an edited set of pictures and the importance displaying pictures in a way that has the most impact. Table 6.1’s “Quick Guide to Software and Online Services to use for Digital Photos” and the steps to online photo publishing were great resources. However, I prefer Photoshop Lightroom over Elements. Finally, the HTML codes toward the end of the chapter will come in handy for my blog I am sure.

    Photoblogs.daily dose of imagery

    I enjoyed this blog because it was a great example of Briggs’ 7th step, “Keep it simple.” It is easy to scan through a bunch of images and also search through old archives. While I wasn’t a huge fan of the theme, I did like its simplicity. As a photographer and lover of all images this blog really spoke to me. The lack of a focus or subject is forgivable because of its simplicity of design not to mention the great quality and composition of the images. It definitely ‘says’ a lot with few words.

    Tumblrs.

    They seem to me to be an integrated blogging platform that allows users a wide variety of ways to blog. It seems to allow for more versatility than other blogging sites. It is doing a great job of incorporating social aspects as well as taking advantage of the growing mobile technology. A variety of mediums and medium combination will come from this and journalists need to use these types of blogs as possible sources of ideas and new techniques for storytelling.

  14. lindsaycobb says:

    First off, I think Briggs talked a lot about what the general public knows about photography. He went on for a while about Digital Photography- I kept wondering when he’d teach me something I didn’t know. (how to take a good picture is all personal opinion, I think.) I did appreciate his intro to picnik, I’ve heard about it, but I had no idea how it works. What I will really take away from this chapter is how much visual storytelling I really need to do! I think that I do a good job of putting up pictures that draw attention to the topic or spice up my post- but I would like to get more of my own pictures up. Many of the pictures I use are logos (which I don’t want to stop using, but I’d like to put others up in addition to those). Two things that Briggs fails to mention: What if I can’t afford a camera? I’ve had several cameras in my time, but after you break/lose four digital cameras, it is no longer a good investment. Also- he didn’t mention ethics in photography. He talks about editing your photos, but is editing in blogging the same as editing for a newspaper picture? I think it is. (Cropping, shading, color retouch, etc. are all fine, but I’m talking about photoshopping parts of an image in or out.) It is unethical to alter a photo to make it say something different than what it originally meant.

    The only photoblogs that came to my mind were Cake Wrecks and Failblog. These are both photoblogs because they use pictures to tell their story. Instead of using a visual to support a main text, they use text to support a main visual. Since these were both discussed I went looking around and found a small, but interesting photo blog that shows off an artists work. CGZOOM isn’t the most amazing blog I’ve ever seen, but his photography is really beautiful, and a lot of the images are “out of this world” so to speak. He looks for images that escape the realm of reality. It’s worth a look.
    Tumblr is interesting…. I think the reason I don’t like it very much is because I know I don’t have anyone to use it with. None of my friends or family use that sort of thing so I would be microblogging to no one for a very long time. I know we’ve talked about building an audience in blogging, but I think Tumblr doesn’t have much worth when it comes to sharing important things, All the accounts that I came across were focused on telling funny stories from someone’s day or sharing a crazy youtube video. I can see a well known blogger using it as a way to bring traffic to their main blog, but that is really about it. I like it, I just have no use for it.

  15. I really agree with what Briggs talks about in the chapter about making your blog more appealing by use of photos. I think I’ve done one post without a photo and when I scan down through all of them I tend to miss it because it just doesn’t stand out enough. I also like the he touched on use of image editing software like Picnik, and I learned a little about Picnik, I wasn’t really familiar with it before.
    I found his discussion of copyright, fair use and ownership really interesting and I actually went online to look up more info on it.

    I think one of my favorite photoblogs is probably Failblog, as has been mentioned previously. I love it. My boyfriend and I go there all the time. I think a photoblog is a visual blog supported by words, not a word blog supported by visuals.

    I’ve tried Tumblr in the past and it was kind of…eh. I guess I didn’t really understand it. I have a friend who uses hers to display her art and other random things she’s reblogged from other blogs, but I don’t really understand it. That being said, I didn’t really understand WordPress at first either. I guess it’s a matter of taste, but Tumblr is more of a place to showcase photos, it seems, and not really a blog.

Leave a Reply

