Read & Respond – Week 12

This week we’ll spend some time on audiovisual additions to your blog. Briggs addresses this in the week’s chapters – yes, that’s plural – 7 and 8. Respond in some decent detail about what he has to say (considering this is the last week of Briggs readings, try and give him a good send off).

As I’ve mentioned, next Tuesday I want all of you to attend Dave Cohn’s presentation (7p April 5 in Martin 205). In preparation, we’re going to stalk the hell out of him: Read his blog, follow his Twitter, check out his work with Spot.us, and see what he’s up to at the Reynolds Journalism Institute (back at my alma mater, the University of Missouri). I’ll leave further investigation up to you, but keep it legal. In your response, tell us about what you expect from Dave and provide a few questions (which, of course, you’ll be asking him yourself next week).

Get ’em up by noon on Monday, April 4.

20 Responses to Read & Respond – Week 12

  1. aarongeiger says:

    Could you repost those links that you gave us in class on Tuesday for all of the fun blogging tools? Please?

  2. rdlwvufan says:

    As a broadcast news major, I actually knew what Briggs was talking about in chapter seven. While he focused solely on audio, much of what he discussed is applicable to video as well, which is the main focus of the concentration at WVU. I’m familiar with a lot of the techniques he mentioned, like how to properly write in broadcast style, how to ensure quality audio, and how to add more punch to certain words.

    For print majors, or just anyone who has focused his efforts mainly on writing, it is an adjustment. It takes time to figure out how to write in a new way, but just as it’s not a good idea to simply drag and drop a newspaper straight to the internet, it’s also not effective to transfer a print copy over to a video or audio format.

    I have used Audacity in an intro reporting class, and it’s not too bad for someone just getting started/can’t afford anything that’s more than free. It’s fairly simple to use, and it gets the job done. Audio, like photos and video, is just one piece of the blogging puzzle. At the beginning of the semester, I just thought of blogging as words, and not really anything else. Obviously, audio isn’t a cure-all for a bad blog, but using it in the right ways can add to the experience just like other elements.

    Again, with my broadcasting focus, I am quite familiar with the concepts discussed in chapter eight as well. In many ways, audio and video formats are alike, and they require the same skill set. While it may seem impossibly difficult to someone who has never attempted it, shooting and editing video is not so bad once you get the hang of it, and it’s an effective medium when done right.

    I think it’s important what Briggs mentions about being succinct and straightforward (unlike this comment) when using video, or audio for that matter. People can always go back and read a newspaper article a hundred times if they don’t understand what they read, but with video, you often get just one shot to make a point. This is lessened by the existence of internet video, but it’s still true that people are less likely to suffer through a video a second time when the first go around didn’t get the job done.

    Also, the concept of internet video, specifically pertaining to blogs, being a supplement is important. It can be figured that video gives you the message quickly by hitting the high points, while the writing can go more in depth. One isn’t taking the place of the other, but they will both be more effective when used in tandem, especially on a blog.

    This concept of community funded reporting is what I expect Cohn to focus on at his talk. It’s not something I have thought about, and I imagine the same is true for most people. For traditionalists, especially, I imagine the notion of operating a news organization in such a manner is not held in high regard.

    For the past several years, much has been said about finding a sustainable business model for online journalistic content, but so far a solid answer has not been presented. Perhaps this concept is the answer, at least in part, to how to put news on the internet, make money doing it, while also forging a closer relationship with the audience at the same time. Putting content online and just charging for access isn’t the answer. I don’t know if Cohn intends for his model to be some beacon for others to follow, nor do I know how it would work in that capacity, but I’m interested to find out his thoughts on the subject.

    I am also interested in how he is able to support his efforts and still be transparent with his audience, when many organizations, news or otherwise, feel these two concepts cannot coexist. With that being said, here are a few questions I would have for Cohn:

    How are incentives like voting rights (like he suggests the NYT should do) or future story investment credits supposed to make people want to pay for content or donate money to his website or any others (like the NYT)?

    How can community funded reporting collaborate with traditional reporting, and can it gain an equal presence?

    How can a community funded reporting organization avoid real or perceived conflicts of interest with donors who also offer story ideas?

  3. deepafadnis says:

    I’ve worked in a news channel in Mumbai, India for more than two years and this was right after I worked with a print publication. I can completely agree with Briggs when he lists the various ways in which audio and visual can be on par or better than print. While I am completely a print person, I have witnessed the miracles of television and it is definitely more powerful and addictive than reading a newspaper.

    While I worked at the news channel, which was a start up, we would often shoot stock footage. This activity was meant to capture situations in daily life, which could then be used to combine with other videos, jazz it up with a fancy voice over and you have a story. It is fun to see how everyday mundane situations in life can be transformed into a great television program.

    It is good that Briggs has divided the chapters’ audio and video separately, because video always gets the upper hand and also overshadows audio with its picture plus voice characteristics. I agree with Briggs when he talks about choosing to hear a commentary on radio over choosing to watch the match on tv. Audio can create the imagery that even in real life video will be able to match up. It is like reading a book and not watching the movie based on that very book. It’s just a different experience. More real.

    While shooting an interview once, I realized that the cameraperson was taking close up shots of the guests hands and fingers. It was very amusing then, but when I saw the final product and how seamlessly the editor had mixed the close ups with the actual interview, that I realized its importance. Briggs covers this part very well too.

    Finally, I am glad Briggs spoke about the finer nuisances that the audio medium can capture like none of its other colleagues. The space between two sentences, the umms and laughs, the pauses, and the accents are all so relevant in this medium. You can catch so many things that are otherwise not obvious, because you are distracted by other things on television. Also when Briggs talks about natural sound in the surrounding, which we refer to as the Ambience sound. It keeps the viewer in touch with reality and makes you feel like you are at super market or at a crowded bus station while watching television or listening to the radio. I hope these mediums are here to stay and get better, not vanish and become history.

    Dave Cohn’s venture, Spot.us is brilliant. It actually talks about what journalist and editors are doing to adapt to the rising popularity of the new media. I spoke about this in my presentation last week and its really exciting to see that there is a successful model of citizen journalism in existence. I know that Spot.us is a community funded model, but I still down know how it works.

    I would probably like to ask Cohn how the community funded model works and if he has any other revenue generating ideas in store. Tuesday it is!

  4. K.Wish. says:

    Having a public relations background, I never received much training in the aspects of audio (or visual) journalism. Briggs mentions the importance of using audio in journalism, which I can totally agree with him on. However, he gives examples of using podcasts to build audiences. Personally, I rarely listen to podcasts and other solely audio formats.

    Maybe I’m just more of a visual person, but I don’t see the interest in using just audio in the news. Obviously, there are cases where it would seem natural to use audio in journalism. Using soundbytes from interviews and background noise is something that’s been traditionally done in journalism for a while now. However, I just don’t see it being a big trend all the sudden to add just audio into a news story without the accompaniment of video too.

    To contrast my cynicism, Briggs does point out how easy it us to manipulate and record audio today. I think this can be proved true with the extreme popularity of manipulating audio into songs (The Bed Intruder Song, Charlie Sheen’s “Winning” song etc.). But after reading chapter 7, it looks like I’m missing out on a lot of awesome equipment and technology that will add a great amount of depth to journalism. I need to get on the audio ball.

    I can relate much more to the content of chapter 8. I’ve found myself adding video to a large portion of my personal blog posts just because I feel like it’s needed. I always seem to find something relevant or interesting that I just have to add. And it’s obviously a worldwide trend, because YouTube is so incredibly popular. I also found this chapter helpful to me since I’m not familiar with broadcast techniques.

    As for Dave Cohn’s, I have to say: what a cutie. Anyways, here are some questions I’ve come up with after stalking him.

    1. I’m not sure I understand what crowdfunded journalism is or the advantages and disadvantages of this model.
    2. How can crowdfunded journalism collaborate with other models?
    3. Give more examples of crowdfunded media outlets.
    4. How did you discover this model and what prompted you to help start the nonprofit?
    5. In totality, I’m really interested in the concept of Spot.us and would like to hear more about it. Specifically, I’d like to know how news organizations are responding to Spot.us and what backlash, if any, they have received.
    6. I feel like this organization will affect the way public relations professionals work. Thoughts on this?

  5. kerigero says:

    For me, broadcast as always been just a step above print journalism (sorry print people!) the audio and visual elements of a newscast just take the stories to a whole different level; when you’re just reading a story with no other input sometimes you can interpret quotes and sayings differently than what was meant, so the added audio and visual aspects of broadcast style stories has always just grabbed my attention more than newspaper stories.

    And after doing a little light stalking on DigiDave I came up with a few questions for him:
    -You say that writing for Wired was your first ‘big break’, so how did you stumble upon writing for them? Did you apply for the job?
    -Do you have any advice for journalism students graduating and looking for their first job?

    I will most likely have a lot more questions for him after going to his presentation on Tuesday!

  6. Murphy says:

    At first, I thought Briggs was going to have a tough time making a case for incorporating audio. It almost feels like an antiquated medium nowadays. I have a tendency to picture families hovered around the radio listening for President Roosevelt to give news on the Depression. This has always bothered me, actually, because radio is one of my favorite mediums.

    Thankfully, Briggs did, in fact, make a compelling case for the audio format. I especially appreciated what he said about manipulating audio. I’ll allow myself a short personal anecdote illustrate what I mean: for West Virginia Uncovered, we work do pretty in depth, documentary style stories. We have spent nearly the entire semester working on a single, three minute video. In contrast, we produced comparable stories in one weekend at the start of the semester – but these were just audio attached to a photo slide show. It would have been completely impossible to do that with video, I think. It’s not that the reporting isn’t the same, but the editing process is so, so much easier with audio than it is with video. So why shouldn’t we use audio? It adds something that a print story can’t, and if it’s the only practical way to get a story out, why not?

    I should also add that I do, in fact, listen to podcasts. I listen to the This American Life and Radiolab podcasts every week. I love them for their versatility. I can sit at home and listen to a great story while I drink my morning coffee, or have something to ruminate on while I’m working out at the gym (to distract me from how much I really hate working out).

    To be fair, though, those podcasts are just more convenient ways to listen to radio shows (both are from NPR or PRI) that I already know and love – they weren’t started as podcasts. So maybe that format still needs a little work.

    As far as video goes, I have found myself incorporating videos into blog posts quite a bit. It’s partly just because they’re automatically attributed when you embed them in a way, so I’m not nervous about stealing something and angering a photographer. I used to worry that we were leaving out a part of our readership who are reading from their cell phones, but smart phones are getting so good at showing video now that it’s probably just about a moot point.

    Dave Cohn is probably a bit of a genius. I just love love love the idea of crowdfunded journalism for some reason. I’ve always thought spot.us was a terrific project, especially if it’s helping stories get written when they would otherwise have been left untouched. In my mind, it could really help us return to quality journalism. We might think people want to see puppies above the fold but seriously, no one is going to pay to fund some fluff story, they’re going to pay to fund something meaningful, and so that’s what we will get to do.

    I also liked the blog post he had up about the NYTimes paywall, where he proposed a model that was a bit of a hybrid of NPR’s donation model and the spot.us model. Before I read that I was forced to wonder whether crowdfunded journalism was practical in any larger context, but after reading that I think it really could be. So now I just have to wonder, what’s stopping it from becoming more widely accepted and utilized?

  7. Jazz says:

    Much of the Briggs info from 7 and 8 is old hat to a recent Journalism student. But he presents it in an unconventional way that actually makes the info useful. We are taught the art of the interview, or at least learn it through the experience of the profession, but audio is more than the gathering of voice for news, it is the art of using that sound is visible ways. Long-form interviews are out. We live in a time of quick bites, which is helpful for a wordy reporter like myself. Briggs also explains the overly technical in a way that makes sense, and his emphasis on the editing of audio gives hope for the less skilled gatherer. It was also fascinating to see the shift in technology to the needs of the present has changed little in the practical sense; simply a shift from analog to digital while the tools are hard-wired into overall journalism. As an aside to “professional news,” I believe podcasting is an under-appreciated form at least for soft news, and I listen to various NPR reporters and pop culture enthusiasts weekly. Certainly podcasts have as much place as personal blogs.

    As for video, it arguably is the more obvious choice for blog culture. There’s less artistry to making video effective, as opposed to the difficulty of audio-only streams. This is not to say video is the more effective choice in all situations. Depends on the topic. For example, my personal blog is about Flash, made specifically for rendering visual creativity. I use videos often, as most sites are created and based on the format. But I have also used audio for effect, as Flash cannot be embedded in WordPress. There was once a great mass-conglomeration podcast many Flash artists put out together that was aural solely, which was highly interesting. I have little to no need to create custom footage at a pro level, but I could see his reviews of gear and programs to be helpful. Just not for me at the moment.

    Finally, we can look into the future with one Digi-Dave. His web presence is rather commanding. I hope he’ll fuel my own innovation as he talks so much about his own on the blog. I can’t help but be a little wary of his approaches to Journalism. He call it “a process, not a product” but he seeks to monetize it in many of his posts. Surely the notion is one of reality and forward thinking, but I would love to survive in a world where the politics of news were simply for love of reporting and hunger for the truth. On the flipside, that’s precisely what his community-funded reporting is: thinking of the uncomfortable aspects now so reporting can reach the apex of purity it deserves. But we’ll just let him defend his own legacy in person.

  8. capnwinters says:

    I agree with Briggs when he covers the intimacy of audio. There’s just something about hearing another person’s voice that really captures and holds listeners’ attention. It’s actually kind of neat, Jack White’s record label Third Man Records recently with this very mystical property in mind.

    Video journalism is probably the easiest to do these days, and the hardest to do well. With so many cheap, easy ways to shoot video, it has become such a ubiquitous part of our lives that for a video segment to have true impact, it must be superb. I feel that Briggs’ example of Bertram and the handicapped baseball player is an excellent choice, as it makes clear that the most successful videos are not always the most elaborate.

    Hey look, our Knight News challenge is of interest to DigiDave! His valiant effort with Spot.us is a lovely idea, but I just don’t think it can ever supplant traditional journalism. Crowdsourcing has very specific uses, but to touch back on Briggs, they could never do the work of highly trained professionals such as NPR’s reporters.

    Perhaps the greatest question to me about DigiDave is how on Earth he keeps all of his digital life organized. He has a blog for Spot.us, his own personal blog ABOUT Spot.us among other things, a twitter, a fellowship at the Reynolds Journalism Institute… My question will be, “Do you feel that crowdsourced journalism can ever entirely replace traditional journalism?”

  9. capnwinters says:

    Aaaah! My in-text link went crazy! Oh well. I only meant to link “with this very mystical property in mind.” It sorta went beyond that, but I guess it happens

  10. Pure audio seems to only be useful when the listener is occupied by something else. No longer do families (typically) huddle around the radio as if it were the 1940s. However, thanks to the internet, audio can become easier to explore with limitless possibilities. Just now I am streaming an album before it has even been released thanks to NPR. However I think the audio format seems to be easier than visual in the case of journalism. Visual would require video, photos, and audio of a situation to help describe it. The viewer needs more time to view something. Now the modern day blogger can do whatever he pleases thanks to technology, just as long as they are in the right place at the right time.

    As far as our blogging friend goes, I would like to hear how he makes a living making use of this blogging thing. I would ask him where he got started int he journalism industry. I would try to draw questions away from the future of journalism, but ask more about the current state of the industry. Everyone knows what mediums are becoming more popular, but how are they being used now?

  11. awieders says:

    I’m torn on Briggs’ thoughts on the uses of audio and video. I do agree with using video, whether it be original or something found off of YouTube in an attempt to prove a point. The prospect of using audio bothers me a little bit though, because in certain cases audio can be incredibly droll, and this comes from someone who is the sports director at the college radio station.

    My belief is that if you are to use audio, you must be much more judicious about it than video. Audio needs to be of a high caliber in how it is edited and the subject matter. Video can often get away with more flaws because of it’s visual presentation. Audio needs to be inherently perfect because telling an unclear story with audio only confuses the audience.

    The other problem with audio is that it tends to have a “why does your opinion matter” element to it. In this day and age anybody can start a radio show or podcast. Just look at Blog Talk Radio. Amateur radio hosts all over the world are using BTR to create their own shows. What gives these hosts any validity?

    It’s the same idea with a blog. What creates validity? And what destroys validity? Generally speaking people have an idea of what radio show hosts should be like. Some people see radio hosts as comedians who use their talk segments as bits of stand-up. Others see radio hosts as a newscaster or some sort of analyst or expert. The truth is the best radio host is one who is simply himself or herself on the air. They don’t change their voice or persona, and doing that in a blog in an attempt to draw readers is a problem.

    This is slightly off topic, but the point is that audio can be a bit more dangerous to use in a blog than visual elements.

  12. Ah, the joys of audio and video. All journalists should know and utilize these, I think we get it by now. But sometimes it’s a matter of finding the motivation, time and energy to learn these yourself (if you don’t have the pleasure of taking a class involving them). Many things Briggs hit relate directly to me. This year, we hired our first multimedia editor at The Daily Athenaeum. This has been quite the experience. We didn’t give him a lot of direction because we didn’t really know what he could do. He greatly surprised us. From rarely having video or audio online, we now have at least three of each per week. We utilize audio a lot, and I think it seems to be popular. I know another school, Central Michigan University, (thanks SPJ for the contacts and Twitter for keeping in touch) greatly uses podcasts, but that hasn’t been something we’ve really ventured into yet. Personally, I don’t listen to podcasts. I’m not much of a radio person, though. That school seems to really like it though. What we’ve done is almost take a more broadcast turn and have three sports writers discuss issues with the different teams. Basically we’re playing around to see what our audience responds to best. The way Briggs presented his ideas on audio were very easy for those less experienced to understand. It really made a case for something that many feel is an older medium.

    Video is obvious. Everyone loves video, and everyone loves the visual. I see in previous comments many negative comments toward print people and their lack of audio or video experience. Speaking for the minority, and these are just my opinions, I know the basics to both. They’re not something you learn purely as a broadcast major. And newspapers can offer those just as much as TV stations. With websites, everything becomes streamlined. We both compete to offer the best video and audio. Though TV stations definitely have the upperhand, especially when website first got big, of having better quality, print editions are catching up. And arguably, the graphics are better I see on the New York Times or Washington Post websites tend to be better. But this, I guess, is just more of a defensive rant.

    Briggs emphasized the use of both, and by splitting them into separate chapters, he showed the importance of each. The technology and equipment he points out in these chapters is incredibly useful for journalists of any medium. The popularity of YouTube, and how you can find video of almost any kind amplifies the case he makes.

    As for Digi-Dave, first thing I must say, when I started following him, some things I immediately noticed were some of the people we are both following: Tricia Fulks, my old editor at the DA, Dean Reed, Chris Martin. It’s interesting because is he following them because he’s coming here? Or did he know them before?

    Spot.us is amazing, and his community-funded journalism is something key to West Virginia, where many rural papers have trouble incorporating new technology (cue West Virginia Uncovered). But I believe that’s one of the main reasons he’s speaking here – it directly relates to us.
    His tweets are really interesting (note, mostly links and replies). He targets journalists interested in the new fields. He seems really intelligent, and he’s definitely an innovator.

    Some questions I’d like to ask are: How did you get involved in community journalism, what inspired you? Do you think this model is applicable for all community papers, why or why not? Does donation-driven journalism lead to questions about the integrity of reports? A lot of media outlets are moving to conglomerate formats, how can community journalism survive in times like these?

  13. CoreyPreece says:

    Like most of the Briggs book, I find his actual instructions, explanations, and tips on how to perform certain aspects of digital journalism far more interesting and helpful than the lengthy stories and interviews he presents to supplement his content. This was especially the case in Ch. 7 as his quick tutorial on Audacity was extremely helpful to me (as I have often thought about learning the program but didn’t want to take the time to simply fumble around on the software until I could make my way around). Also the section on pod and vodcasting was helpful as well and I believe I am going to add a segment about podcasting to my presentation tomorrow.

    For some strange reason I never thought of creating podcasts for my own blog. It seems so easy to create and upload and distribute that it would seem almost simpler than writing posts and looking to incorporate different graphical elements as opposed to audio elements. That entire chapter taught me the importance of audio and that the media that made radio famous can and should be used on the computer and internet as well.

    As for Ch. 8, I actually thought the story was just as important as his instructions and guides for creating video based stories and packages. The entire idea that a photo journalist capturing the one-legged baseball player with a video camera instead of a still camera shows the power video can have on people. From that story alone, you can see that video allows you to really promote yourself to the world…if that is what you so choose to do. If you have talents, ideas, or strange and peculiar behavior, then you can share your mind and abilities with the world with the help of a video camera and Youtube upload.

    Like Rodney, I come from a broadcast news background and know the pull that video has on the public. There is something about being able to see something move and interact without audio or textual explanation for the images that is natural and organic to our senses. Thus, there is no reason not to include video (and really as much as possible) to your blog or social media platforms to 1) better connect with your readers/followers and 2) offer simple and entertaining content that will start the public word of mouth about your site and video. For example, I hear all the time about students reading a blog or website and came across an incredible video…the essentials of a viral video (and it can start it’s viral video tremors on your site if you find or create a compelling piece of video).

    As for DigiDave, I am pretty impressed by his extensive blog work as his archives go back over 6 years and his varied range of content shows his handle on modern and digital journalism. I found DigiDave particularly interesting in regards to Spot.Us and the way that it goes about creating community/public journalism. The reason for my increased level of interest in Spot.Us is because I am currently reading a book titled “Mixed News” that focuses on the role that community journalism is going to play in shaping the future of the industry. Interestingly enough, the book was published at the turn of the 21st century and barely includes the internet in its discussion of media looking to use community journalism.

    The book struggles with the idea that newspapers and television stations are going to embrace community journalism while also remaining independent from the community. However, with the rise of blogs and social media, community journalism is growing every day without the funding or help from traditional journalism and media sources. Spot.Us really hits at the notion of community journalism because it offers stories and reporting that is focused on real events and news in a community as opposed to news covering conflicts, national/international financial matters, and entertainment celebrities. The site also produces content that is meant to make communities and the world in general a better place by actively presenting solutions to various community-oriented problems. While I do not have a concrete question at the moment, I am going to incorporate the ideas of the “Mixed News” book and it’s notions on the problems with community journalism and how the problems have been vanquished by the current state of blogging and social media.

  14. aarongeiger says:

    My biggest hurrah for Briggs and audio is on the power of the intricasies of voice inflection, pauses, laughs, tonal shifts, stumbling, etc. Audio definitely has a power shift over print journalism, and adds another dimension to the journalism experience. I feel that audio gets overlooked a lot because it’s somewhere in between the two worlds of print media and video. Those who want to scan for what they want will read print; those who want more go for video. Audio is stuck in the middle. But it can be a powerful tool, such as when we are reporting and want to convey a lengthy quote without having to chop up the words for the sake of brevity and AP-style hors d’ouevres. When I covered Obama’s victory speech in Chicago on election night, I took a stereo recorder with me; the result was fantastic. I not only had his speech in full, but I captured the moment. I was in the crowd, which was remarkably silent at times, and they erupted with cheers and claps and whistles, all of which sounded intimate in the recording. The next day Obama’s speech was televised and broadcast and written out, but I didn’t run across any audio recordings from the crowd. The sense of originality and intimacy was startling to me. Sometimes I listen to it to remind me of the significance of that day to history (no matter what your political affiliation might be).

    Switching gears, I’ve been reading all I can on Spot.Us, and I’m still in the skeptical market of “community-funded” journalism; at least at this stage. Particularly troubling to me is this statement from the Spot.Us FAQ: “But it is important to note that Spot.Us does not try to define who is and is not a ‘journalist.'” It then says they’ve used a two-time Pulitzer winner, as well as high school students. It seems that Spot.Us picks who their freelance journalists are (and I use that term loosely), which I believe can be an issue, especially in the day and age where it’s crucial that we define the difference between citizen journalists and professional journalists. I’d like to ask DigiDave about this aspect.

    I also want to ask him about the legal implications about community-funded journalism. Is Spot.Us held liable in the event of defamation cases? Or is it the journalist? Or what about the people who fund the project?

  15. Most of these two chapters was review of many concepts and techniques I learned in WV Uncovered, but it is a great resource for a quick and dirty overview of video and audio story telling. Personally, I would rather the chapters discuss more of the trouble shooting aspects such as compressing and uploading than it did. The video driven web is a complicated arena of formats, file sizes and HD editing struggles and while I am sure the information is out their, I would have loved to see more about it in the text.

    I was surprised by the information about NPR’s growth. This information has made me think about the story-telling potential audio has and I am interested in learning more about this medium. While it makes perfect sense, I also liked the idea of delayed recording and hope to use it in the future.

    The video chapter also illuminated some interesting statistics including the unreal amount of information uploaded to youtube every minute, but I found the information about quality to be the most important. There is a balance to be struck between quality, time and money. I think this relates to the “use different approaches for different projects” part, which is a concept I try to support with my blog.

    I hope to learn how spot.us is doing and what the next step is. I was interested in his belief (blog)that brands, such as the NY Times, could do this sort of thing with more success. I have questions about starting these sort of things with a niche audience in mind that is geographically separated and distance, such as the outdoor and climbing communities. I hope to discuss the potential approaches like this have in regards to sustainability (business and monetary models?).

  16. tonicekada says:

    Chapters 7 and 8 from Briggs seem to run together as they talk about adding audio and video to our journalism. To be honest, as a print journalist (although Briggs says not to exclude us) I don’t think I’ll be using this as much. He gets really “techy” towards the end of each chapter and I felt like I was reading a how-to manual for making audio and taking video. He started talking about equipment and such that I will never need to purcahse and therefore never need to learn hwo to use. All in all, they weren’t bad chapters. I’d say that as a print journalist they still keep me on my toes by reminding me that my work is not just about pen and paper.
    Again, I am following Digi Dave now on Twitter, but he seems really “techy” for my taste. at the same time, he also seems like a really cool guy, like he has a good sense of humor and I get the impression that he would be good at talking to an audience. So I think I’ll just have to see his presentation for myself, I’m not really sure what to expect. Who knows, maybe I’ll learn something!

  17. The two chapters in Briggs (7 and 8) were fun for me to read and definitely things that I was familiar with. It really is amazing how much audio and video can enhance a story. It can be seen on every big news site, including ESPN, that with stories people want even more information than just what is written in words. People do not just want to READ a play-by-play about the game the night before they want to WATCH it. They do know just want to READ what coaches and athletes had to say after the game they want to HEAR it.
    Having these elements is a way to give people that little extra. I think the important thing to remember with these little extras is that it should not repeat all of the same information from the written portion. It needs to have information that was not in the text. People need to want to watch it for what they could not get from reading.
    Audacity is a great program to edit audio on and I have not used it since my sophomore year at WVU so it is nice to know that Briggs is standing by it and showing how to use it. I also particularly liked the audio recorders and their price ranges in the chapter. I have an extremely cheap audio recorder right now, but it does the job just fine. Perhaps some day I can get one of those $500 ones, but probably by the time I am able to get it, it will be obsolete and there will be many that are better. But it is still nice to see them.
    I found it really funny to read all that I learned about in my broadcast classes with video here in this chapter. The importance of different and creative shots, camera vocabulary, mic tips and seeing my WVU News camera in the book was pretty funny. All in all, I think Briggs covered these areas very well in the chapters.
    In past years at the school I never would have really been interested in going to a blog speaker. I find his “process not a product” idea interesting. I would love to ask him more about his view on that. Is it more about the fact that journalism is constantly changing and people, like he obviously has, need to change with it and embrace it, rather than trying to make it stay the way it is. I would also love to ask him how he stays current with the ever-changing industry. Not so much the idea that he is a blogger and is everywhere on the web, but more about how he maintains being the best of the best. I always like to ask journalists what they feel is their best story and why. I am sure Digi-Dave will have a good answer for that one.

  18. lindsaycobb says:

    I understood a lot of what Briggs was talking about in these chapters, especially in chapter seven. I’m a broadcast major so I’ve gotten to learn a lot about audio and visual journalism. I also work at the radio station on News staff so I have to get interviews and do my voice overs. Its a lot of fun I think. I was actually kind of surprised Briggs talked about it though. He is always so into technology and radio isn’t that advanced. I do agree with everything he said though. Radio does get the short end of the stick sometimes, but if journalists are doing good news then they should be recognized for it it. I think audio is better in terms of information sometimes because you force the listener to pay attention, because if they don’t they’ll be lost. When someone gets their news from Twitter, they can jump around as much as they want and always come back to the original story in the end… but all the content on a computer screen can eventually distract you to the point in which you have no idea what you were learning about.

    As for visual news, I also agree with Briggs. Giving the audience a visual of what you’re telling them about is, in my opinion, the best way to give a thorough report. You are presenting it as if they actually saw the story unfold in person.

    I think this was an odd way to end with Briggs, just because I haven’t really seen eye to eye with him all semester. Now, he throws audio and visual journalism at me and I couldn’t agree with him more! Except that he recommends Audacity… I don’t agree with that, I hate Audacity!

    I think DigiDave looks pretty interesting. I’ll have to wait and see to be completely sold, but Spot.us looked pretty cool. I’ve never really seen journalism or social media used for that… and it is definitely something that I can relate to. Some of the stuff he was talking about went right over my head though- especially on his blog. He seems like he knows what he’s talking about though, so I’m excited to hear him speak.

  19. ewadd986 says:

    Like all my other Broadcast News buddies, I really enjoyed and comprehended a lot of what Briggs was saying in Chapters 7 and 8 about audio and video. I definitely agree that audio and video completely enhance a story and I think it’s clear that multimedia news has surpassed your average newspaper. I am not going to disrespect print journalists because I think what they do takes a lot more skill. Most print journalists don’t even get a picture to accompany their story so they have to be extra skilled in writing for the news.
    The reason why I love broadcast news though is that we get to give the viewer the whole experience. It really makes a difference when you can write to something that you are also able to see. Right now I’m the executive producer of WVU News which means I have to write the script and while were taping I have to coach the anchors. I was very cognizant of what Briggs had to say about audio and voice inflection, tone shifts, pauses and so on. As a news anchor, you have to speak in a certain broadcast voice that drives home the selling points of your story. Instead of using punctuation in writing, we have to use those voice inflections and pauses as our own spoken punctuation.
    I also wanted to just say that as a huge talk radio fan, the podcast has been one of the greatest inventions for me this past decade. I love to be able to walk around the house doing my everyday chores and what not while being able to listen to my favorite talk radio show from that morning.
    I’m interested to attend Mr. Cohn’s presentation on Tuesday. I would like to ask him how he thinks Twitter has changed the way news is reported around the world and what impact it might have in the future. I’d also like to get his thought on where he sees the news industry in 10 years including newspapers, print and broadcast news.

  20. bostonkid124 says:

    Being a broadcast major I could relate to the two chapters. Audio and video are a huge part of news and making a story better. People like me that like to see highlights tend to go to sites like ESPN or Youtube to get our fix of plays that enhance the story. I can view a recap and read that somebody hit a game-winner, but it wouldn’t be the same as actually seeing it.
    Nowadays people have 4g smart phones that can load game highlights in seconds in HD. In my opinion these technological advancements have made audio the least important, out of print, video, and audio. Since people can connect to internet just about anywhere they can check new and get updates from their computers or phones.
    I liked how Briggs isolated audio from video in the chapters. It made it easy to follow while you could really pick out the benefits of each one.

    In terms of DigiDave, I’ve been following him and he has posted a couple links that I got a good laugh out of, as I also enjoyed his about page on DigiDave. I plan on asking him what inspired him and if he ever worried about not having readers and followers like most first time bloggers or writers do.

Leave a Reply

