Free visual gadgets

I said I’d post this information from the lecture, so here you go. Many of these were drawn from this excellent post by Poynter. Remember your assignment: Each of you needs to put up at least one post using one of these tools by the end of the semester (preferably to your group blog). I call it an “assignment” because there’s not really a better word, but it’s not really hard work – if anything, getting into these should give you new ways to feed the beast.

In addition, here’s a link I just found (via Mindy McAdams) to a bunch of free infographics tools! You can make charts with Hohli, diagrams and flow charts with Creately, vector drawings and graphics with Inkscape, and lots more.

14 Responses to Free visual gadgets

  1. tonicekada says:

    http://tonishealthblog.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/how-music-can-promote-our-health/

    I will try this again on my group blog as well using a different tool this time. I used wordle.net for my individual blog on a post about music therapy last week and this is how it turned out. I can’t figure out why it embedded so tiny. The way I have it on my post was the biggest I could get it to be. Any suggestions?

    Toni

    • Bob Britten says:

      I think you may have to link it at that size. A way around it would be to save the PDF to your desktop (or use the Grab application to get it) and place it into your post at whatever size you want. One more suggestion: There doesn’t seem to be any explanation in your post as to what the Wordle is – if you’re going to use something like this, you need to make sure the reader can tell what’s going on.

  2. capnwinters says:

    http://mountaineergamer.com/2011/03/30/dragon-rage/

    I used the interactive timeline to document the Dragon Age controversy

    • aaaaaargh says:

      Neat idea, Kirk. As I suggested to Toni (above), you might consider grabbing a screenshot of the timeline to use in your post so that readers can get a better idea of what they’re getting before they click through. I’m not sure, but I don’t think the code they supply for embedding will work in a free WordPress blog (but please correct me if you find I’m wrong) – it should be displaying your timeline, as it does with a Google Maps embed, and yet it’s not doing so.

  3. Jazz says:

    We put a wordle into our group blog, Mountaineats, just for the fun of it. It’s interesting. I think it actually says something about our content at a quick glance, which is helpful.

  4. Lisa says:

    Worlde is awesome – I’ve used it often on my blog and presentations. By the way, another nice visual tool is LucidChart. Sign up with your school email address and they give you a free account with everything which is pretty nice.

  5. bostonkid124 says:

    Here is the link to my wordle assignment that I did on my personal (Celtics) blog.

  6. K.Wish. says:

    Well, I attempted to use batchgeo for my most recent group blog post, but I couldn’t get it to load right on our blog. But here’s my attempt. I’ll try doing something else soon since this didn’t turn out like I thought it would!.

  7. hello there!
    I used wordle on my wine blogto sum up to any new readers exactly what they can expect from my blog. I think it is something more fun and visually entertaining to add for my readers. An interesting thing to try could be to do another one after a couple of weeks to see how much it changed. It’s really interesting how the more used a word is, the bigger it gets. I think it worked well for the group post and tried it on my personal one as well. I think it turned out well.

    http://collegeandwine.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/word-fun/

  8. rdlwvufan says:

    Here is a link to my most recent blog post where I used a wordle.

    http://elrod1986.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/season-recap-game-twelve/

  9. kerigero says:

    I created a wordle out of all of my group blog posts to sort of sum up what the pet owner’s lifestyle blog is about!

    http://mountaineerlife.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/pet-owners-a-unique-breed/

Leave a Reply

