In-and-Out-of-Class Assignment #7: Mapping it Up

This week, we’ll incorporate location into our blogs via Google maps (see my handy tutorial for a refresher). There’s two parts to this assignment – one in-class, one out-of-class – so be alert! (the world needs more lerts…)

In-Class Assignment (5 pts)

You’re going to create a simple map, upload it as a blog post (you can delete it later if you like), and post a comment with an in-text link to the post for this assignment.

  1. Create a map with four locations (use the pin colors indicated) and embed in a blog post:
    • Your city of birth (blue) – e.g., John L.: Birthplace
    • The city where you grew up or have lived in (yellow) – e.g., Paul M.: Where I’ve Lived
    • A city you’d like to work in (green) – e.g., George H.: Where I’d Like to Work
    • The most interesting city you’ve visited (purple) – e.g., Ringo S.: My Favorite City
  2. In the class collaborative map, “Birthplaces,” you’ll map these four spots once more. Be sure to label them with your name and what they show so they are counted (I’ve added my own data to this map already as an example).

Out-of-Class Assignment (5 pts)

Using the same process, you’re going to design a more complex map to add to your blog. It should consist of at least five data points (with all relevant and appropriate details included in their pop-up windows) and will follow these steps:

  1. Write a post that incorporates location in some way (e.g., restaurants I like, places I’ve seen WVU b-ball players). It does not need to be hard news (yet), but it should be a full-fledged post.
  2. Using our Google Maps guide, create a map in Google Maps with markers for these locations.
  3. Embed the map in your blog post. Do NOT just post a map – it must be a component a written post.
  4. Publish!
  5. Post the link (with a description of what’s being mapped) to the comments of this post.
    • Use an in-text link (which requires HTML) – don’t just post the URL

Due: 2 p.m., Thursday, March 1 (notice: you’ve got some extra time to plan, so do it right!)

17 Responses to In-and-Out-of-Class Assignment #7: Mapping it Up

  1. I KNOW this isn’t due until next week, and I KNOW it could count as a required blog post. But, this is something I’ve been kind of wanting to do, and it works out perfect with this blog. It’s informative, and I hope someone gets something out of it.

    So, I created a simple map that … well, maps out a pub crawl route. Since it is Mardi Gras, I wanted to have something related on my blog, and I wanted to talk about this event, but I wasn’t sure what visuals to use. So, a map worked out. Check out my post HERE.

    If you look at the map, you can see I’ve plotted the different bars that will be on this tour. I think this is actually incredibly helpful so that when you’re going from bar to bar, you know where you’re going. And the Regatta Bar & Grille is a little walk from the others, like Morgantown Brewing and McClafferty’s, so I actually used to map when I first heard about this event to see how far it was. If I used one, this handy one inside my blog post might be helpful to others.

  2. Matt Murphy says:

    I mapped my posts along U.S. 40. Here’s the blog post announcing the map, and here’s the map on it’s own page.

  3. The map I made shows the places in West Virginia that I have been to and found it to be great for taking photos of things in nature.

  4. Anan says:

    Xi’an is the imperial capital since ancient times, and more than 13 feudal dynasties built their capitals there in history including Zhou, Qin, Han, Tang. Xi’an is rich in cultural relics. My post is about the places of interest in Xi’an.

  5. Mary Power says:

    I’ve used this to link to a map on places where Mardi Gras is celebrated in over the top ways in my post about Mardi Gras King Cupcakes.

  6. erinfitzi says:

    Adopting homeless pets is one of the better ways to get a pet. It not only gives animals good homes, but helps with overpopulation of shelters and strays. North Central West Virginia has many shelters, both no-kill and that euthanize, and they sometimes work together to help animals reach good homes.

  7. amarie1025 says:

    Finding quality places to relax, workout, or find a healthy solution to a lunch date may be hard for some in Morgantown. My map shows various places around Morgatown that can help people take a step in the right direction.

  8. amarie1025 says:

    Finding quality places to relax, workout, or find a healthy solution to a lunch date may be hard for some in Morgantown. My map shows various places around Morgatown that can help people take a step in the right direction.

  9. KLSloane says:

    Here is a comprehensive <a href=

    map
    that I have made of various locations on West Virginia University’s campus, and in the city of Morgantown, whose purposes are to help students get involved and be prepared for their futures.

  10. KLSloane says:

    Here is a comprehensive map that I have made of various locations on West Virginia University’s campus, and in the city of Morgantown, whose purposes are to help students get involved and be prepared for their futures.

  11. KLSloane says:

    Here is a comprehensive map
    that I have made of various locations on West Virginia University’s campus, and in the city of Morgantown, whose purposes are to help students get involved and be prepared for their futures.

  12. Ali Young says:

    For some reason, I almost forgot to post the link of my map that I did yesterday! So here is my “New Rights For Self Expression map” regarding same-sex marriages in the U.S.

  13. Ali Young says:

    Ok that didn’t work so here is my map regarding same-sex marriages in the U.S.

Leave a Reply

