Read & Respond week 13 – Audio/Video

Your main readings for this week will be from the Briggs text. You’ll read chapter 7 (audio) and 8 (video). Address these in adequate detail in your response – how does what he have to say on how the audio/visual side of blogging inform your work? It’s our last week of Briggs readings, so it wouldn’t hurt to provide some overview on the text as well; I take your feedback into account in my book selection for future semesters.

In addition, I’d like you to learn about Vine. If you’ve got a smartphone (and don’t already have the app), download it and give it a try (I’ve been experimenting for a week or so, and you can follow me if you’re so inclined). In a nutshell, you can create a six-second clip of anything. It’s been used in journalism, to the delight of some and the annoyance of others: PBS’ MediaShift gives a great rundown of its strengths and weaknesses, as well as some tools for Vining. For a look at how others are experimenting with the app, take a look at General Electric’s Six-Second Science Fair challenge. Is this sufficiently informative? Can you see potential here?

Post your responses in a comment to this post by noon, Monday, November 11.

23 Responses to Read & Respond week 13 – Audio/Video

  1. ebuchman5 says:

    Working in television, I’ve been taught for years the importance of having strong audio and video to adequately tell a story. From my broadcast experience, I’ve always been taught that audio is just as important as video—maybe even more. I’ve noticed that some people get nervous talking on camera, so as a journalist, it’s important have both skills. In my opinion, having bad audio makes a story worse than it would be if it had no audio at all. Our blogs this semester, because they all have a media focus, could really benefit from using different audio and video elements.

    More than just embedding someone else’s video, we could use our blogs as platforms to display our own podcasts or video work. If we find something relevant to our post, whether it is an NPR segment, SportsCenter update, or news story, we should include that to have a nice balance in our blogs between text and visuals.

    Overall, I actually enjoyed the Briggs text. I thought he was well-informed and brought up some thoughts and ideas I hadn’t previously thought of. While some of the chapters are fairly dense and somewhat “obvious” to journalists, others are not. I really enjoyed the “Going Mobile” chapter (chapter 5), because it talked about both the pros and cons of living in such a mobile world, as well as how news translates to a mobile version. I would keep this book for future classes, because I think the good outweighs the bad in terms of content, and I think there is a lot to be learned. As fast as technology changes, Briggs content is still relevant to how technology is changing.

    Vine is an interesting concept, and I can definitely see journalistic value in it, but an effective video would take a lot of work to put together. I actually really enjoyed the Six-Second Science Fair Challenge—it was really informative for only being six seconds long! Using it for a creative competition, especially one that gets kids thinking about science out of the box, is great. I think in general, Vine can be great for competitions and small contests to get social media users involved with an organization or company. I think Vine videos are informative enough, but definitely not up to “journalistic standards” that many are accustomed to.

    I think Vine would be hard to use to tell a news story, but for behind-the-scenes type stuff, like setting up interviews, or a quick tease of an upcoming interview would provide much more value. Putting something together that would provide a ton of journalistic quality would be difficult—six seconds isn’t that much time. I think one of the biggest downfalls to Vine is that you’re not able to edit once you shoot, which takes up valuable time if you have to redo it. I agree with the Mediashift article, in that Vine is a great way to provide quick background context into a larger story.

    Overall, I think Vine is a great idea, but it is most effective only in certain platforms. From a news station perspective, I think Vine can be helpful in breaking news situations, because it spreads quickly and can show what’s going on while a crew is trying to get to the scene. That would be incredibly informative to viewers who are looking for details. In my opinion, I think Vine is most effective for journalism in breaking news situations. It’s an easy way to spread video quickly. I think about a flash flood or house fire, and how useful Vine would be for that, so viewers could see first-hand the severity of the situation. However, I definitely don’t think Vine could be used for an interview or anything else. It serves its purpose in journalism, which is what matters.

    I think Vine is gaining steam and for being a relatively new platform, news organizations and other journalists are figuring out the best uses for it.

  2. iamoore says:

    I found chapter 7 of the Briggs reading informative, especially if you are someone who is not very familiar with the idea of capturing and editing audio. The step-by-step walkthrough as well as pointers on how to capture the best audio possible would have been very helpful to any TVJ 319 students who had to figure this out for themselves. Early in the chapter Jim Stovall was quoted as saying, “Given the ease with which audio clips can be produced, it is surprising that their use is not more widespread.” I would have to disagree with this idea, while I certainly understand that audio is relatively easy to capture and edit, I think the reason it is not more widespread is because of the audience. Given a choice between watching a story with all of the same information in either video or audio formats, I think the majority of the time people will choose to watch the story. This is because humans are largely visual creatures and like to see things.
    When I started reading chapter 8 I thought, I’m a TVJ major this will all be old information for me. I was definitely wrong about that. While certain information was familiar, like the setting up of shots and the necessary equipment, I found lots of information helpful. The section about the five-shot sequences would be extremely helpful to anyone trying to create a well made piece of video. While we may do this sometimes without realizing, the set up that the BBC uses is very good at turning it into a formula for compelling video. I wish I would have had this book when I was in TVJ 319 and 386 because I feel it would have helped me make more engaging stories.
    I have never seen the purpose of Vine, I often gripe about the poorly edited, jumpy six second clips. As someone who really likes the medium of video for storytelling, I don’t see any situation where something could not be better covered through video. While I do agree with the IdeaLab post about how Vine could be effective at showing sports replays, I still believe that video could do it better. The constant replaying of the highlight does not necessarily make it better for sports highlights, especially since some highlights will last more than the six-second allowance. To digress from my anti-vine rant I do believe as people become more familiar with the app it will be the vehicle for better content. Since it is still relatively young, I am interested to see how people can use it in the future. I think that the GE science challenge was an interesting attempt to utilize new technology for the sake of a contest. I think the idea for this contest is interesting to just show short clips of science experiments but again I think short video clips posted would be just as effective as the repeating vines.
    Overall I found the text from Briggs a very good read. One recommendation would be to give this in lower level journalism classes as a sort of reference book. There was a lot of information I would have liked to have handy in my earlier days at the J-School that I learned from this book.

  3. frostedtsaar says:

    While I’ve personally never made a Vine, I do appreciate its application when it comes to sharing little snippets of life with friends and online acquaintances. A friend of mine is constantly making Vines, so I do understand the appeal. That being said, I’ve never seen a Vine used well for anything except humor, so I question what real-world application it has. GE’s Six-Second Science Fair does a good job of showcasing examples of those applications, but I still can’t see Vine as something that will revolutionize the way we share video, beyond being made for laughs.

    Briggs has always been nice in how practical it is. This was never more obvious than it is in today’s reading, as chapter seven gives step-by-step instructions on capturing the best audio, something that many students are unaware of, I believe. I’m not someone particularly skilled in video or audio editing, but I do appreciate good work, and being able to potentially do it myself is intriguing. Though much of the journalism school’s classes overlap, I’ve never had a broadcast instruction, but Briggs’s instructions and advice make it seem fairly simple to begin learning how to create and edit video. As a companion text, Briggs has served us well.

  4. As a broadcast journalism undergraduate, I found the Briggs chapters this week really repetitive to what I already knew I do, however, feel like there is some very helpful information for those who may not be educated as much on the subject. I think one of the most interesting things Briggs points out is that almost anyone has quality video capabilities anymore. Even if they don’t, many good high quality cameras are no longer super expensive. This is encouraging for people who want to incorporate video into their blog. As far as video editing goes, I really taught myself before I learned it in my undergraduate program, and I’m honestly still teaching myself new things. I have final cut pro and there’s all sorts of neat tricks you can do. I usually just sit down to a Youtube tutorial and learn as I go. I really feel like it’s a skill everyone needs to learn, even if it’s just the basics. Almost every company uses video and audio whether it be for internal use or external use. It’s a useful skill many companies are looking for. I also like the section where it points out what equipment you need and what equipment to use. A lot of beginners have no idea the amount of equipment or what type of equipment you need. I thought it was a really good guide for people who are just starting out.

    Video and audio really make the story more compelling. It allows the opportunity for the viewer to see real people the issue of the blog or story affects. It also helps show emotion more clearly. Video and audio allow you to see and hear someone laugh or cry. Video also allows you to see body language that can really help you understand someone and what makes them tick. I try to include video in at least one of my personal blog posts per week. In addition to adding more to the story, I think it also helps break thing up for the reader. Hearing information from someone else sometimes helps the viewer understand what you’re trying to say better.

    Overall, I really liked the Briggs text. I learned some new things and was reminded of some things I learned at some point but may have forgotten. One of my favorite parts of the Briggs texts was the sections at the end of the chapter with the expert opinion. I thought these were interesting and really added something more. I also like that the book made me think in a different way. It put the knowledge I had or that it taught me in real life context and situations so that it made more sense and really showed why it was important to learn certain things. The thing I liked most about it was the fact it’s still current and relevant to fast-changing media today. Like I said before, I think the expert opinions at the end really help that come full circle.

    I’ve been using Vine for about six or seven months now. I couldn’t really get into it for the longest time. I thought they were kind of pointless. I mean after all, how much important information can you really fit in to six seconds. I would post Vines of me or my students twirling or something cool that was happening on the boardwalk at the beach, but it was never really any important news that I had to share with other people. I didn’t realize the value of Vine journalistically until our Twitter scavenger hunt. It was then that I realized I could capture interview tidbits. After that, I started using Vine to tease some of my blog posts for my group blog. I show some video footage of things involved in my post and then pose a question at the end of it to tease the story. I tend to use the Instagram video feature more than Vine, however, because I have more followers on Instagram so I know the blog gets promoted better through Instagram as opposed to Vine.

    As for in the news room, I think it would be hard to tell a story solely with Vine. I think it’s great for behind the scenes type footage or for a story teaser. Or even for a quick meet the “crew” type video. However, I feel like even the best constructed six-second video cannot provide enough information on a story. People will always want more—not much more than six seconds but enough to be sufficient. People typically need 3-4 seconds to process one or two lines of copy that is read by an anchor. It’s hard to digest and understand a six-second video with too much stuff in it. I feel like you have to pack a lot into six-seconds to make a good video, but then too much stuff could discourage or confuse the viewer. I just don’t feel like it’s appropriate to every day reporting.

  5. Briggs brings up a lot of very valid points to why Audio is a form of media that can’t be matched by other forms. For example, he talks about the “presence, emotions and atmosphere” of audio journalism. Briggs had me very interested when he added those elements because it made perfect sense. In what other media platform during a horrific event could you hear and feel the true emotion. Hearing a reporter’s voice during an event in which she/he was scared would showcase true, raw emotion. Natural sound at an event could sometimes be even more important than the visuals there. NPR does a fantastic job, and is one of the best in the business of showcasing those three elements of audio journalism.

    In chapter 8, when Briggs discusses video, he explains that the video age added everything the news and media was lacking. Briggs discusses how important YouTube was because it was reported that by mid-2012, “one hour of footage would be uploaded every second”. That statistic is tremendous because if you think of each second, minute and hour of a day, you just about have media for a lifetime, in just one day. The different shots taken in each part of an interview or documentary is very important to each story. Close-ups, wide shots and different creative elements can really make a story that much more enjoyable.

    When reading the different links about ‘Vine’, I was very impressed. I am impressed that ‘Vine” has become so popular in such a short amount of time, that it even has it’s own awards at the Twitter offices. It’s amazing how creative people can be in such a short amount of time. The article about how journalists can use Vine was my favorite because it showcases why to use fine, how to use it and why it is truly so difficult. I tried to ‘Vine’ a few times and I am terrible at it. It takes skill, creativity, and lot of patience. You can’t edit vines; once you shot them, that’s it.

  6. ryanglaspell says:

    First off I’d like to say that I really enjoy the Briggs book. Although some parts are slightly outdated, the wealth of information and advice makes it really useful. It’s equal parts explaining why a certain mode of journalism is important, and how we can effectively utilize it. Even things like recommending what tech and gear to get is great. It is definitely a relevant text that I will probably revisit, especially as I get into more multimedia forms of journalism in the upcoming semesters.

    I feel like I have all but overlooked audio journalism. Podcasts and soundbytes never really occurred to me as a strong form of journalism, but after reading this chapter I’ve realized its importance. At the beginning of the chapter I like his quote of Jim Stovall’s that says, “Sound allows listeners to ‘see’ with the best lens of all, the mind.” Throughout the chapter he brings up the intimacy and authenticity that can be felt from audio journalism. It made me think about the question, “Would you rather be deaf or blind?” (I’m assuming this is a not-so-odd question). I always said I’d rather be blind, and I think my answer came in part due to the emotions that can be translated by sound. Briggs mentioned when interviewing someone and recording them with sound, sometimes that long pause before an answer tells more than the answer itself. A very tech-driven and up-with-it friend asked me if I’d considered doing a podcast for my blog. I never really considered it, but things such as podcasts with regular shows can really contribute to a niche blog. The blogosphere is full of competing personalities and identities, and nothing seems to give a blog a voice more than an audible voice.

    The video section is somewhat of a reformatted reiteration of his thoughts on audio. Video can provide a greater context to a story. I liked that he broke it down and reinforced the idea that it’s all about storytelling, more so than glitz and glamour videography. He says, “If it’s authentic, if it takes a viewer to a news event or behind the scenes of somewhere important, it works.” This foundation of journalism seems like a solid one: focus on the story itself first and foremost. Following with the focus on storytelling, and this applied in the audio chapter too, is preparation. Briggs preached preparation, preparation, preparation. Things like breaking news video or audio interviews can’t be approached as shortcuts and “easy” ways to do something. Without the proper scripts, schedules and setting, things will potentially fall apart. Much like with audio, video can provide authenticity and intimacy. Although audio lets the listener fully utilize their imagination, many people can are visual consumers and can take in image a lot easier than audio. A blog with video, especially along with audio, immediately gains a lot more depth and is set apart from text-heavy blogs.

    As for Vine, there’s definitely something there. It’s the Twitter of videos. A visual microblog of sorts. Reading through the uses that could be and have been seen with Vine shows me that there is a potential for journalistic use. I think there are many, many roadblocks though. Vine is far from distinctly a news gathering tool. Vine as a whole will always be too cluttered with people trying to be funny/sexy/talented in 6 seconds. The idea of 6-second clips could be utilized to convey great information though. Just like a see an intriguing news Tweet amid the sea of random thoughts and song lyrics, Vine could be a valuable tool for news networks to catch the attention of Viners. I foresee it as more of a pass-along tool than a substantial journalistic heavy hitter. I don’t rely on a 140 character tweet to tell me the whole story, I click the link. In the same way, I think Vine will be useful to get the attention enough to be passed along to a full-length video or news article, but by itself I am a bit more cynical.

  7. ryanfadus says:

    In the Briggs’ reading for the audio part of journalism he talks about several key factors that can help increase notability in a story. Three of these are presence, emotions and atmosphere. He describes presence as having a reporter be on the scene of an even or something big that has happened. With emotions, a listener can hear the tone of a person’s voice as well as expressions and pauses. All of these can add depth to the story and help listeners connect with the person being interview more. The last one is atmosphere; this basically consists of capturing natural sound. Natural sound can be just as effective as presence since it can put listeners in the shoes of the reporter.

    As for the video part of Briggs’ reading, there are many different ways to make your video more interesting. Where it is setting up a plan to get your story together to using different shots to make the video more interesting. When it comes to setting up a plan a reporter must figure out what their story is going to be to whom they can interview and what kinds of shots they can take when filming. Briggs says there are five types of shots; close-up on the hands, close-up on the face, wide shot, over-the-shoulder shot and creative shot. By using all or even a few of these shots, it can add more depth to your story and give the audience different angles of it.

    With the two articles posted on Vine, I felt as though the PBS MediaShift one was the most informational. It gave great advice on how to make efficient Vines for journalistic purposes and how you can cram a lot of information in, in only six seconds. While it’s hard to get a lot of information in, in a short period of time the article gives good advice on how to do it and what types of journalism work. One thing they suggested was using multiple videos and shooting it from different angles. This allows viewers to see it from different points of view and see things they may not have noticed before. One type of journalism they suggested that Vine would be good with is sports replays. These are usually quick and to the point and usually only last about six seconds anyways. By using it for this you can give people something quick, but just as effective especially if it was a big play in the game.

    The other article, I felt offered good advice for fitting a ton of information into a short amount of time. Since, that is what basically journalism is all about and the video shows really how much stuff can be put into just a few seconds. One thing with this article though, I wish they had written some information out just to backup what the video was presenting. However, I still felt it was effective in getting the point across. Both articles had their strong points and both gave great advice on how to present information with only a few seconds to spare.

  8. samanthacart says:

    I definitely fall into the category of people that Briggs addresses in chapter 7— I consider audio a second-tier type of journalism, second to video, print and photos. However, Briggs makes some excellent points about audio journalism, two of which I found particularly compelling. First, that like photos, audio journalism is available to basically anyone with a cell phone. Anyone can produce a rough recording that could potentially be used for a story. Second, audio journalism has “characteristics that can’t be matched by other forms of media,” (p. 173) such as presence, emotions and atmosphere.

    These observations remind me of some of the research I am doing for my thesis. One of the theoretical lenses I considered for my thesis was the narrative paradigm theory. Walter Fisher’s theory explains that humans are storytellers in their core and prefer to view everything as a story with reoccurring characters, events and resolutions. While we as journalists are elevated storytellers, audio journalism reminds me that the first stories, and perhaps the most powerful form of “journalism” that ever existed, were told by word of mouth; that is, stories passed down from generation to generation.

    Video, or broadcast, journalism revolutionized the world of reporting. Video is versatile and combines the power of audio and photography, and up until the Internet, was the most powerful form of commentary. While I find Briggs to be a good writer who provides good examples, sometimes his instructions and how-tos are a bit basic. He provides a lot of information that I feel students in an advanced class should already know. However, it this this particular chapter, the examples really apply to me because video is definitely my weakest area of journalism. It is really something I need to work on, because I want to have a base level skill set to make me more marketable to potential employers.

    As for blogging, I could definitely use audio and video (as well as more graphics and pictures) to make my posts more interactive and appealing. It’s not that I do not want to put the work in, I actually find myself enjoying blogging, but rather that I have always been drawn to words and find them my strongest skill set. However, I know that more people would enjoy a blog with multiple platforms.

    I was skeptical (and still me) about bitstrips and memes and their place in journalism. As for Vine, I think it has great potential. In a society where we want information the fastest, most efficient way, Vine is an answer to that request. While I think you have to be careful, and pick and choose when it will be effective (not every Vine is of journalistic quality), I think this medium could be a great addition to stories and possibly a way to break news. I loved the article about the Vine journalism award, and I appreciate that you would have to be quick on your feet to capture a newsworthy clip via Vine.

  9. acampb22 says:

    As a print major, I am not the most savvy when it comes to audio and video. However, the Briggs reading really emphasizes the importance of audio and video what they can really do to tell a story. As for the basics, Briggs gives great step-by-step directions for both audio and video use. He also gives basic but important information such as what equipment is necessary and the different type of shots. Using different shots tell a story in a different light and perspective and when telling a breaking story or a feature story it is important to take this into consideration. Video allows a reporter tell the story as a whole allowing the viewer take in the sights, sounds, and real emotions of a story. While, as a whole sight and sound together are compelling I never before realized how important audio by its self can be. Audio has the ability to showcase emotions in the both the reporter and the interviewee. Also, good quality or poor quality can make or break a story. What I found the most interesting about these readings is how accessible audio and video these days. We can even use our smart phones to capture audio and video, edit it, and post it as our own. It may not be ground breaking work but it’s a great place to start.

    I am 100 percent guilty of spending a larger amount of time watching Vines. However, I use it entirely for entertainment. I have rarely come across a Vine that wasn’t made solely for humor or creativity. At the same time, I think that it could take a more professional direction in some ways. It may not be able to tell a whole story but it could be great for promotion. For example, several celebrities use Vine and I think some of them use it to their advantage by showing a “behind the scenes” perspective to their careers. Vine videos could be great for showing sneak peak type videos for anything. There’s not a whole lot you can do with 6 seconds but eventually someone will find a way to make those 6 seconds relevant in a professional way.

  10. trentcu says:

    I feel an underlying theme apparent in the Briggs audio/visual chapters pertains to the power of sound and imagery to tell a story beyond the capabilities of conventional text media. Specifically, Briggs alludes to the ability of audio narration to convey emotion through the complexion of one’s voice and how that can enhance the presentation of information. In that respect, visual communication has the capacity to enhance presentation by directly showing rather than describing and telling.

    Another key aspect of the chapters revolves around the continuous advances in audio and visual technology and how they have made audio and visual media increasingly viable in the information world. As digital capabilities increase, the readings provides one with the sense that audio/visual content is growing play a growing role relative to its text counterpart.

    As for Briggs work in general, I feel that it is a solid complement to a digital/interactive journalism course. I think it does a good of instilling the digital mind set into aspiring journalists, given how easy it is to remain confined to the traditional print/broadcast mentality. I also like how it does a thorough job of not only describing the present state of media, but placing it into a historical context relative to where it was and where it is heading.

    As for vine, its very condensed duration seems to limit the scale of its application, from my perspective. I see potential from a promotional standpoint where news media outlets can use it to display a brief description of a top news story. The greatest potential may be for the entertainment media where vines could be utilized to create “teasers” for upcoming shows and movies.

  11. As a former radio host for U92, I can say audio journalism is hard. Slip ups, talking too much (or too little) and being conversational on the fly are really difficult aspects of audio journalism. You don’t have the time to really perfect what you’re going to say like you can with print. However, that’s one of the best parts. Hosts who can talk freely are engaging and interesting. Like Briggs said, intonation, expressions, tone, etc. play a large role in the success of audio journalism. He doesn’t particularly go in depth with radio, but there are tons of aspects that make it good journalism. The fact that you have your interviews uncut, is great. They have to answer the question right away without time to construe the best way to write it according to their PR team. I also liked the idea of Utterli, a breaking news service. I had never heard of that before. I wouldn’t say that this medium is second-tier to print journalism, but I do think when used together (perhaps breaking audio news on Utterli, then a written report, then a video segment, etc.) news is even stronger. It would be great to use audio aspects in our blogs to take advantage of all types of media.

    Video journalism is another hard version of journalism for me. I personally haven’t had too much success with it, however, it is an important and versatile medium. I like Briggs’ tips like mix your shots and try a storyboard first. I also really like his tip on using voice overs. That seems like the easiest way to start out because you can easily edit the audio. I think knowing how to use video, or just using videos in general on our blog would be great. They draw readers in, and I think they are important because you can get a lot of information across without it looking like a page-long article.

    I have a hard time picturing Vine as anything a serious journalist would really use, but that’s because every Vine on my feed is a comedy. I suppose it’s similar to Twitter in the sense that no one tweet really matters, but altogether it can tell a story. I feel like any event that I would want a short video clip would still need to be more than 6 seconds. At least I wouldn’t want to be that limited. I also think that since the app is heavily humorous, having a serious news story could potentially be in bad taste. A clip of a serious incident or accident doesn’t belong on a platform that people use for comedic reasons.

    I think the Briggs reading is pretty good. Is covers a lot of topics in depth which is really cool. It’s also very practical for a textbook. It includes tons of real-world examples and apps to download. Although I wouldn’t say that this will be a book I’ll always refer to (it’s not like a history textbook–who knows when Briggs will be out of date) I’d say it’s a great text book for this class.

  12. I could not agree more with Briggs chapter seven. Audio journalism takes story telling back to a more basic level (obviously with the addition of today’s technology). It is nice to know that this type of journalism is not a dying one because you truly can engage listeners in completely different ways than you can via other mediums.

    Just as Briggs says, by combining the use of interviews, natural sounds and your voice-overs and written script, your story can be just as, if not more, engaging than stories told via other mediums. For example, I remember when I entered the School of Journalism. I was in a class learning about the art of story telling, and our professor had us listen to this radio broadcast. I believe this is a perfect example of how audio can be used to tell stories, and it is done very well.

    In reference to my own work, I have learned that there are a lot of tools available to make audio available to my readers. It would be a lot of hard to work make audio engaging like NPR does so well, but if done correctly, it could provide my readers something more than just text.

    I liked how Briggs started out chapter eight by telling a story in which he says could be told best in video – no other form would do as much. I think that is mostly what I am taking away from these chapters. There are certain stories that each medium can be used to tell in the best way. As journalists, we have to recognize that and use the tools available to us to tell our stories via those mediums.

    I’ll admit, I’m not all too familiar with the use of video (making my own, at least). I liked the fact that this chapter gave me a step-by-step process to follow and some general guidelines, but I still have no idea how to use a video camera.

    Overall, I think this book accompanies the class very well. I wasn’t bored reading this book ever, even though some things that are discussed can get a little repetitive. Briggs does a great job in describing a variety of topics and simplifying them so readers can really get engaged and understand.

  13. When it comes to Vine, there is definitely potential of some sort when it comes to story telling. I’m not sure if Vine will just be another fad that comes and goes quickly, but where there is a will, there is a way.

    I can’t really envision how journalists would be able to use six seconds to tell any kind of story, but if this tool continues to grow in popularity, it would not be a good idea to just ignore it.

  14. Vine is an interesting application. As someone that eats up different apps for visual’s sake, like Instagram, I always saw the appeal. However, it is something that takes dedication- more so than a snap on your camera. Once Instagram started incorporating the same style of video-making, it was hard for me to continue making Vines. I actually follow “The Best Vines” and there are some hilarious ones. There are also some artistic ones, but I think I, like most people, are drawn to the humorous ones. That is why I’d find it hard to see them being used in a way to tell a story. I’ve found that journalists find use of almost every type of media, so I am curious as to how Vines or smaller videos in general could be used to further the future of new media.

    Overall, I really do love the Briggs text. I see it as a handbook and less of a textbook. It’s a practical book that journalists can use, not something specifically made for students. It’s a great reference guide for those who don’t know something and for those who need to be reminded. The audio chapter this week gave specific steps one how to capture better audio- something that beginners could learn from and also those who need to be refreshed. I’ve also taken West Virginia Uncovered, and I learned just how important sound is. It actually might be my favorite part of a film to capture. I love using ambient sound to capture a mood or make a story fuller. It’s like the adjectives of writing. Briggs also elaborates of the detailed importance in a video. This is something I also learned about in WVUncovered. These are subtle elements that make a video smoother and more engaging even if the viewer does not recognize it. He also stresses the importance of preparing for everything. You cannot go on a limb and record everything the first time. You must really think about what you’re recording and make notes on what angles you’d like to take to clearly and accurately capture what you’re trying to capture. Journalism is also all about scheduling. Many stories are about people and you have to be able to work around them in while trying to get the shots that seem best for your story.

  15. zvoreh says:

    I was interested in the information given by Briggs about the use of Audio seeing as in my major though we touch on it the main focus is on video journalism. I am an avid listener of NPR and feel that a major reason radio is still popular is because it can be played in the background or in the car. Because it doesn’t require your full attention you can have it play in your car and listen for stories that interest you.
    As a TVJ major i found the readings in Briggs a bit redundant, especially the tips for conducting interviews. I did however find the information on finding good equipment useful.

    As for the use of vines in journalism I feel that it is a ways away. I agree that as mentioned in the links it could have a use in breaking news, but I feel that the inability to edit and the brevity of the recordings would make it difficult to use on a regular basis. It would be like using a Yakbak for radio news.

    I do feel that it would be interesting to see its use in multimedia journalism like on ESPN for sports replays, but in straight news I have trouble thinking of a real use for it.

  16. The sheer success of cat videos on the internet proves an indubitable truth: we are visual creatures. Therefore, if we desire to tell a powerful story, it only makes sense that we do so with images. Visuals give context that words sometimes can’t, and even if we aren’t professional videographers, we have access to the technology that lets us shoot some basic video. The success of terribly recorded videos on the internet also proves that we don’t need to be professional videographers… so what are we waiting for? I agree that audio journalism is effective, but I believe visuals are still more powerful storytelling tools.

    I like this book. Zak and I bought a shared copy, but I’m thinking I’ll pay off his half and keep it. It looks like Briggs keeps updating this book, which is a must given our constantly-moving journalism field.

    I have actually used Vine as a journalist. When I was covering the Student Government election last year, Vine was an easy way to post visuals quickly – posting full length videos was a data-heavy drag. At the time, my primary audience was students following me on Twitter, and many followed my account as a live stream of what was happening. Vine added a layer that couldn’t be emulated in text.

    There was one specific instance where I was in a last-second elections violation meeting – a cause for much drama on both sides of the election. I couldn’t make too many narratively coherent Vines, but I could use them to set the scene. I would point the camera around the room or do one continuous six-second spot. My audience (who was previously unaware about the meeting) went nuts. Here’s one of the Vines.

    It’s a quick way to do good journalism, but you have to be smart – expect when someone is going to say a quote and be ready with Vine. If you do it right, it can be legendary.

  17. Briggs chapters on audio and video are important because those are two fundamental basics of multimedia journalism. Video engages readers interest through visuals and help share a story. As for audio it definitely is a tool that can be stronger than written words. I like audio because it is direct and adds emotion to a quote. This textbook not only breaks down why audio and video is an essential part of journalism but helps readers gain a basic knowledge.I am a TVJ student and have been taught to use strong audio and visual from my first tvj class. Strong audio and visuals in blogging is definitely a tool that journalists and bloggers should master (to at least be informed about) because these are elements that will help strengthen a blog. Not only will the audio and visuals add connections and links to blog posts (or stories), it helps interest and engage readers and isn’t that the whole idea of blogging? I think these are two chapters that Briggs covered well and each is an important enough topic that needs to be brought up and intertwined into our personal and group blogs.

    As for the rest of the Briggs text, I found it very helpful and interesting. I think this book is a great reference that works well to help us (the readers/students) not only gain and learn information but look deeper into that information. All the information in the text helped my skills as a blogger and a multimedia journalist. The text is very resourceful and has a lot of information that I would not have picked up if it were not for the required readings. I am happy with this textbook and believe that it is a great tool to use in this class!

    As for Vine, I also believe this is a great tool and resource for multimedia journalists to use. I also believe every journalist at this point should know how to use technology and WANT to use all the technology possible to help strengthen a story. I think Vine is a great tool for journalists, lets use a breaking news story for example… Journalists have the ability to quickly snap and capture video AND audio footage straight from their cell phone- EASY and MOBILE! This is a great tool for behind the scene shots, set up and teases, sport plays, and even breaking news if captured correctly. Vine is a tool that we can and should use as a backup to support stories and further help explain information. Vine should not however be a main source of a story because I do not like that you can’t edit footage and that it has a limit of 6 seconds.

    Vine is a tool that has to be used carefully because of its time limit, the journalist should know how and when it is beneficial to a story to use Vine. A great part of Vine that I did not stumble across from the readings and links however is that it is a huge social media networking website so users can like, post and REBLOG vines. This is great for journalists and news stories because it leaves great potential for the story/vine to be shared across different communities, areas and demographics of Vine users. I do see potential in Vine but believe it has to be used the right way and because of adding its strong visual and audio elements (which makes up a Vine) the news story is enhanced, which is what Briggs did mention in the reading as well. Journalists should want to incorporate technology, social media, video and audio in their work, there really is plenty of room for growth and strenght in news stories from these elements. Personally I had a Vine and deleted it because I just was not interested in another form of social media and another app on my smart phone but the more I look into Vine and current and future day journalism, I realize this might be an app worth re-downloading, especially if I look forward to a future as a multimedia journalist.

  18. kevinmduvall says:

    Briggs makes a good case for the advantages audio journalism can have over other formats. I was particularly struck by the quote about the guy liking baseball better on the radio than on TV because radio let him picture (“see”) the entire game in his head, whereas TV would be limited by what the cameras were showing. That’s a great example of the kind of impact non-visual media can have on a listener (or reader, in the case of print). For blogs, audio could be used to supplement writing by adding sound to the picture the reader is forming in his or her mind through the text. Podcasting is essentially audio blogging, in that allows virtually anyone to create an outlet for news with more personal style and opinion than news normally has. Briggs’s example of The Grammar Girl demonstrates how one person made a podcast that appealed to a particular audience, and through that audience, Mignon Fogarty was able to grow her podcast and writing career.

    Video also has its own unique advantages, in that some things are better with the eyes than pictured in the mind. To use Briggs’s example, a mental image of a kid with one leg playing baseball really well is not as vivid as seeing a video of the kid. In this instance, the event needs to be seen to be believed or fully appreciated. Blogs can use video clips to add more vivid detail to parts of a story that the audience should see and not just read. And like podcasting, video sharing can function as video blogging with people like David Pogue and Walter Mossberg and their video series. I think Briggs makes getting video views seem easier than it really is, though. Pogue and Mossberg might not have the followings they do if they didn’t also work as writers for major newspapers. Just anyone trying to video blog about technology reviews would likely have more trouble finding an audience if he or she was not established as an authority on the subject. And though it is good to “seek viral video distribution,” Briggs does not express how hard it is for a video to “go viral,” and how few really do.

    All in all, I liked the Briggs text. It has a good mix of information about how various technologies developed and the roles they play in journalism and how-to guides on using these technologies. If I were in the market for a camera or audio recorder, this book would help me decide which one to buy and learn how to use it. On top of that, it has some thought-provoking material on changes in media.

    My initial reaction to Vine was that it didn’t have much use beyond novelty, but it’s still in its infancy. I remember thinking Twitter was really dumb when it first came out (“It’s just the front page of Facebook. That sucks.”), and now it’s my go-to news feed (for real news, not personal stuff). So I’ll give Vine time. The examples provided show some good starts for using Vine in journalism. The award winners all show examples of quick images that add substance and vivid detail to news stories. I’m not sure Vine could be used as a source for breaking a story the way Twitter is, because I don’t think proper context could be established in six seconds, but as an addition to a story (such as as in the science article, where Vines are used to illustrate concepts with clips of experiments), I think there is journalistic value in it.

  19. rachelwvu says:

    In the chapter about audio, Briggs discusses the importance of utilizing digital tools that are readily available. It’s much easier to gather audio now than in the past. We can use our phones, a cheap, hand-held recorder, or computers to gather sound that will take our stories to the next level. In this chapter, Hogh says audio captures something that other media can’t: presence, emotions, and atmosphere.

    In the chapter about video, Briggs begins by telling an inspirational story that was captured with video with no voice-overs or interviews. There was no extras in the video that would distract from the actual story–it was powerful enough on its own. It’s important as journalists to be able to assess the situation and decide the best technique for re-telling a story. Briggs says to ask oneself, “How will the video tell the story?”

    Briggs thoroughly explains that editing, equipment options, and pointers for creating a finished product, whether it be audio or video. He adds that sometimes it doesn’t need to be perfect. The audience may connect better with a more authentic form. Again, it depends on the situation.

    Incorporating audio and/or video could add substance to my own blog that can’t be conveyed in photos or words. Briggs notes that people appreciate audio and visual elements in stories because it connects them to the reporter on an intimate level, and this is especially hard to due in an era of information overload. As reporters, we need something to set us apart from other reporters. Audio and video components are tools that can help us achieve getting ahead and being the best story tellers that we can be!

    As for Vine, I’ve used it to record my 1-year-old nephew when I babysit. I don’t post them because I’m sure my friends don’t find him eating peas and corn as amazing as I do, but it’s a great way to capture special moments that I can text to my sister when she’s missing him at work. My point is that it can be used for means other than entertainment. There’s always more to a story than what a picture is able to show. As a journalist, Vine could be great tool for capturing moments on the fly and instantly upload the video. We can’t always have a tripod and camera at hand, nor time to upload it on a computer and go through the editing process. Vine essentially does it for you (jump-cuts and all!). Whether you’re an amateur recording your nephew throwing peas or a professional video journalist, Vine can be a useful tool.

  20. cricha18 says:

    As a broadcast major I have done quite of bit of work in both the audio and visual department. Naturally I started off with audio and eventually worked my way towards visual, so a lot of what Briggs had to say about these aspects of journalism I already knew about. I really liked what Briggs had to say about audio in chapter 7. I think the text gave a perfect example of how audio enhances the experience by using the story of the person who would rather listen to a baseball game on the radio as opposed to watching it on TV. The text accurately conveys how audio alone can paint a picture for the audience and tell a story that in some ways visuals cannot. Briggs says visuals “confine” the audience to what they should see and experience, but audio only provides sound so that gives the audience a chance to use their imagination to help tell a story. I see audio presentation as a way to potentially enhance my work on my blog. If I did several interviews about a given subject I could post an interview on my blog instead of simply rewriting it. People could actually hear my interviewee and therefore it could give my blog more credibility.
    Now with visuals it’s quite the opposite of blogging obviously. Visual storytelling will show the audience what it needs to see in order to understand the story and what is going on. While this form of storytelling doesn’t the present the audience the opportunity to use their imagination as much it does tell them accurately what is going on and what they should expect. Sometimes people want to see what is going and a visual example is the best way to do so. If I were to a blog teaching people how to swim it would be fine if I wrote about it, but there would need to be something more. I could create a video showing people how to swim to accompany the written aspect of my blog. This would be a good example of how visual storytelling would benefit a blog.
    As far as General Electric’s “6 Second Science Fair” I thought it was very entertaining and mildly informative. It was really cool to see all of the different science projects in less than 6 seconds per experiment. I didn’t think it was super informative about what the whole contest was about. I do, however, see potential in using Vine as another way of telling short, concise stories.

  21. karleapack says:

    Every story can be told in different ways with multiple mediums. I feel as if sometimes stories benefit more from being told by audio and photographs, while others can only be best told by video. In chapter 7, Briggs writes that audio can’t be matched by other forms of media because of the presence, atmosphere and emotion that can be portrayed with it. I couldn’t agree with emotion more because tone of voice and hearing certain expressions can enhance the story better than just writing about it.

    In chapter 8, my favorite part was the “perfection not necessary” section about videos that aren’t the best quality. In all honesty, when shaky videos with unrehearsed comments air, it gives me a sense of me personally being behind the scenes. For some reason I think it also gives us a nice break from the norm, and tells us that the news reporter is on the scene right then, that they didn’t wait to edit–much more of a natural and authentic feel.

    I’ve only made a video for a class last semester, but have never recorded any audio as a voice-over or anything. So, I don’t actually have much experience in the two, but I really like that Briggs incorporates step-by-step processes for both video and audio to get us started.

    I’ve had Vine for about a year now, I’d say. To be honest I’ve only made a few videos on it and mostly use it to watch other funny people I follow for a good, short-lived laugh. I’ve actually been following GE since the beginning and I find their Vines to be a pretty cool way to tell their stories in such short time. Although I’m kind of still confused how a journalist could tell an entire story in 6 seconds, I do believe these little clips can be a nice teaser or intro to a story!

    Seeing as how I’m in the journalism school, I still even find it hard to believe that I just don’t like reading much. I unfortunately don’t have a very long attention span, but this book kept my focus very easily. I never thought, “ugh, I have to read two chapters.” or anything which was really awesome for me. I hope you can continue to use this book for your future sections, this was a great choice for us. Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

