Read & Respond week 14 – Video and Vine

This week’s readings are mostly viewings. In addition to Briggs’ chapter 8 on video, get to know a bit about Vine. You’ve already tinkered with the app in our Twitter Scavenger Hunt and Storify assignments, but you may not have given it a thought since then. In a nutshell, you can create a six-second clip of anything … just how useful can that be?

As with Twitter’s 140 characters, Vine’s time limits force you to be creative. Vine regularly poses challenges to its users, and the results are always interesting. Possibly my favorite idea is Six-Second Science Fair. Originated in a challenge by General Electric, the idea persists in various forms today. Is this sufficiently informative? Can you see potential here?

Getting away from Vine, let’s look at the short, exciting history of Meerkat. For a very brief moment, Meerkat, a live video sharing app, was the new hotness. But before you rush to download it, stop, because it’s pretty much dead, slain by Twitter’s Periscope app. This is our current social media world: Ideas are announced, get investors, are copied by bigger players, die, and are quietly buried in a matter of days (which is great preparation for our upcoming innovation challenge!).

Post your responses in a comment to this post by 10a, Monday, April 13.

18 Responses to Read & Respond week 14 – Video and Vine

  1. Sara Wells says:

    The fact that Vine can be used as data journalism not only surprises me, but confuses me. While I think that the vines that won the journalism awards were good, I think normal video does the same thing.

    However, PBS made it seem a little clearer to me. I think vines can be most importantly used to preview, sneak peek, or show something that wasn’t long to begin with- something I thought the intern video did a very good job of doing. That was in-the-moment. You weren’t going to catch that twice. Context can be hard, but I think the captions can help that with vines, since you don’t have a standup like Briggs suggested. PBS also says they’re hard because they continuously loop- and I agree. Why do you want to keep seeing the same six seconds? The author does make a good point that they’re great for sports- which is something that I could use it for!

    I do see a lot of potential in GE’s competition, and I think that things like this could not only help journalism and creativity, but can help Vine become more popular, and hopefully usable on more platforms. When there’s a need for it, like Twitter, we will see it available in more places. Vine is a great way to use ‘viral video’ like Briggs mentioned- which gets your work out there better than other ways as well.

    I had actually never heard of Meerkat or Twitter’s Periscope, so this was especially interesting to me. I would love something like this for pregame, postgame, pre-speech, pre-launch, etc. I think that instead of businesses, corporations and teams using their own platforms, they should use something like this. It makes so much sense and I’d be more willing to watch it live this way (accessible). As Briggs mentioned, you don’t need to be perfect- video shouldn’t be hard. This is a great way to practice that. I don’t know if you’d be able to mix your shots and use the five-shot sequence with this, however.

    As Doug Burgess of KING-TV Seattle said in Briggs, “Because we have the internet, you can still be noticed in a small market. You should start small, but start.” Things like vines and Meerkat could be useful for that.

    I think video can be a wonderful addition to web writing if done right- which we see is hard to do. Sometimes, as with the eight-year-old baseball player illustrated in Briggs, video is necessary.

  2. sjl0693 says:

    Considering that we live in a world where everyone wants information faster, I am not surprised that Vine is being used for data journalism. Even though you are only getting six seconds of content, that can still be a lot based on what you put in it. Sporting events are a great outlet for Vine because, for example, you can get a big home run in that time frame and have it play over and over to see different angles.

    I have never heard of Meerkat, which I’m guessing is because it is dead already, and I have never heard of the Periscope on Twitter, but I can see why they would be in for a brief time because of video sharing. It is amazing how with these apps, anyone can be discovered if they put up good enough content, like some of the Vine users that have millions of followers and now make bank off of it.

  3. paigeczyzewski says:

    The way I feel about video has always been a love-hate relationship for me. I adore video because I think that it’s extremely powerful. Polished video can drag great emotion, but raw footage is shocking and memorable. The thing that I hate about video is that I’m actually terrible at creating good footage. I only know that because I have taken classes and covered things mentioned in Briggs Chapter 8 like using the five-shot sequence and stand-up. Although I may have done pretty well for class projects, I haven’t really produced anything I’d want my professional name on. While I have a few accessories like a mini tripod and a microphone, something I learned about in the reading this week was the video questions for actual media and the difference between CCD and CMOS. From what I read, I think CCD would be better to work with.

    I love vine because I like watching the clips of people sing or the rare hilarious vine retweet, but I’m not a fan of the use. I understand that it forces creativity though because you have to be selective. I respect that, but I was kind of surprised to learn that it can be used professionally in journalism. The Six-Second Science Fair is incredibly interesting and even though it’s short I think it’s informative because it makes people want to learn more. It keeps attention and makes you say, “I should find out how to try that.”

    Meerkat was all new for me though. I’m not surprised it’s dead; I think it may have been new to more than just me. Hearing the social media world be put in perspective and reading Kuittinen’s article, I’m not excited for our upcoming challenge.

  4. tmertins says:

    They teach in broadcast that it takes the human brain three seconds to process what it has just seen. That means in order for everyone to remember everything they’ve seen, each clip needs to run at least three seconds. In Vine, that only leaves room for two, maybe three clips. Of course, Vine loops unlike broadcast television. So people are probably watching each Vine maybe 5, or 6 loops at a time.

    So the “loops” count is a little misleading. You could think, wow! My Vine has 250 loops! Well that’s probably about 50 unique viewers. Nevertheless, Vine is a wonderful journalistic tool that allows us to get the gist of a story like on Twitter, but in video form. Instantaneous transmission velocity from sender to receiver is very powerful.

    I don’t really understand Meerkat or Periscope. So we’re supposed to watch social media live streaming? I guess Snapchat has tried to hop on board with that. Every now and then, there will be a link to an event to “peek in on.” The problem with live media is that it’s hard to get people to click on something before they know exactly what they are going to view. This said, your hook needs to be really strong.

  5. Collen Lewis says:

    I really liked the comments for the vine journalism awards, three people were upset because consumer attention span is non existent. I’m not sure what they were expecting, but there isn’t anything to do about it aside from evolving to meet the need. Consumers dictate the media, and that is how it will always be.

    I can also understand where PBS is coming from with the struggles of using vine, but there isn’t really a form of story telling without a learning curve, except Twitter of course because it turns everyone into a journalist.

    Thank you for the six second science link, I just lost thirty minutes of productivity, but another great vine account belongs to Digg.com. They stay up to date on all major news while at the same time giving you all the viral videos you need to stay in the know with what everyone is talking about.

    Overall Vine is a great tool for journalism and a host of other professions, but to truly be successful a journalist has to incorporate as many new ideas as possible to stay relevant. So keep up or get left behind essentially.

  6. I can see where Vine could come in handy for data journalism and it does not surprise me. Depending on the story and what you are covering, it could be very useful. Personally though, I think that Vine videos are too quick and it takes me three of four watches or ‘loops’ to even process everything that is going on. As PBS mentioned, it’s aggravating to see the continuous loop and it really is!

    I think that Vines could be beneficial if you are trying to tease or preview something that is short and straight to the point. I thought the intern video was an excellent example of this. Also, they would be great for sporting events that are packed with lots of action. As Briggs mentioned, each shot should run at least 3 to 5 seconds, but with Vine thatis impossible, which requires viewers to keep watching the loop.

    As for GE’s competition, I think this could be a great compliment to journalism and could inspire more of us to think out of the box. Vine found its niche in Twitter, so that’s the challenge that new platforms are faced with- finding where they fit in and where they are needed.

    I have actually been keeping up with Meerkat and Periscope. I have wrote two blog posts on my own blog about them and how these two tools and can really be valuable to citizen journalists and their reporting. I think both of these apps add a unique perspective to reporting. Anyone from anywhere is essentially able to broadcast what is going on around them and have a voice. To me, that is powerful.

    I think video can be a great addition to blogs and online content. As Briggs mentioned, it doesn’t have to be perfect because most likely, none of us are professional videographers. But it definitely sets you apart and drives your content.

  7. kmshire says:

    Video is a very effective way of telling a story. In the example Briggs gave, with the one-legged baseball player, the photographed did not include interviews or context of the story–he simply let the video speak for itself.

    The fact the Vine is being used as a source for journalism is mind boggling. The finalist in the Vine Journalism Awards told a story within 6 seconds, obviously with the help of a little context.

    Context is the difficult part of Vine, according to PBS. Six seconds is a very short time to convey a story. Vine is useful in setting the context, providing replays in a infinite loop, or showing a step-by-step explainer.

    This is the first I am hearing of Meerkat and Periscope. I think it is a very interesting idea. With the Internet nowadays, people want to be in the mix with big events second-by-second. I think this is a great way to cater to that want.

    Video is a powerful tool in journalism. It is a way of putting the audience “in the moment.” In some cases, it can evoke more emotion and context than pictures or the written word.

  8. chadkriss55 says:

    It seems like Vine can only do so much. Sure a solid 6 seconds could get people intrigued, but I can’t see what the story was when I watched the 6 second science fair Vines. All I saw were a bunch of science people doing science stuff I didn’t understand. I think that you could definitely use Vine to let audiences preview a story you have in place. It’s a quick method to let viewers know what you have in store. When it comes to telling the story, I imagine people will look at the loops and move on since there’s only so much of the story you can tell in 6 seconds.

  9. ctomes says:

    I think that video can be great. I think it is a better form for blogging then a lot of other journalistic styles. Especially when it comes to using vine, with a vine its so short that it would be easier to use on a blog because that whole blog could give the context that is needed.

    I think its crazy that there is an award for Vine Journalism. Mainly because journalism is all about context and getting a story out there and in 6 seconds that’s very hard to do. With the pie vine I think they gave good context and the fact that they had 3 different views I think helped because in the vine they can give even more context.

    I think PBS did a great job at showing how vine can be useful but also how it can be hard to use. One of the biggest weaknesses I see is the editing part, what if you see something great but you don’t get the video just how you like it. You either have to hope that it wasn’t a one time thing because if so your not going to get the same video or the video you want.

    It also does a good job at talking about what’s great about vine. The biggest for me is the sports replays, I am a huge sports fan and I have watched replays over and over again on vine. Its just a great way to get short to the point clips.

    I think video journalist may be the future to be honest. Briggs brings up an example of the one legged baseball player and with it he shows that a video may not always need context. I think that when you can let a video tell a story without writing a huge story attached to it can be amazing. Why would you read a 2 plus page story when you can watch a video. This is why I think video is the future of journalism.

  10. Using video can take any story to the next level. While excellent writing can help someone visualize a story in their mind, video can actually put them in the moment and see exactly how everything happened. This is what makes video such an important part of journalism.

    Apps like Vine can give people the same information as a longer story if the video captures all the major points. Currently, people are always on the go and want their news and information as quickly as possible. By condensing the time allowed to share the story to 6 seconds, content producers are forced to be as direct as possible.

    Besides the journalistic side, Vine can allow people to create entertainment content that could eventually make them money. A few summers ago me and my friends decided to make a small series of vines to tell a story and actually gained a small following. We didn’t make any money of off it but for a few weeks we felt pretty good about ourselves.

    Briggs says to keep it short when using video because in the Internet era thats what the audience wants. That is what makes Vine and other video sharing apps successful.

  11. cposey32014 says:

    Being a broadcast major video is something I am much more confident in, and more versed. Briggs says that high school students are now being trained in video and are already miles ahead of current journalist right now because they are going to have a higher skill set as far as video goes. In high school I was in a broadcast class and I really learned a lot that helped me with WVU News.

    Video also allows you the freedom to show viewers exactly what you’re talking about. You can be much more specific with video than you can with audio.

    I think journalist using Vine as a tool now is pretty cool. I didn’t really know much about Vine until we used it for our scavenger hunt, but it could be a neat tool to show something little like maybe a traffic accident. Show them where to avoid. I really like that Vine allows you to do lots of short bursts and puts them together, because it eliminates all the wasted time of moving the camera around. It also allows you to be incredibly mobile. Think about how fast it would be just to pull your phone out and not have to worry about getting your camera set up. I don’t think Vine can be used for everything though. Briggs also encourages you to decide what medium is going to work best for you, and to have a plan before you go out into the field because it will save you time in the long run.

    The hardest thing to learn with video is getting lots of different angles of shots, and Briggs really encourages variety. Watching a news story that has creative angles really adds something to the story.

  12. Renata Di Gregorio says:

    The second article brings up that you cannot edit your Vine, and this is something I learned the hard way when we did our Vine assignment after the Twitter Scavenger Hunt. (Although Briggs mentions in Chapter 8 perfection in short videos is not necessary.) The article also mentions that Vines can be used in journalism as a way to set context to the article. I don’t think this is a bad idea since it would put an image in the reader’s mind of the setting and the people involved that are about to be introduced in the article. If the Vine is compelling like the Vine journalism winners in the first article, it can add a great component to an article that is less conventional than a photo or longer video.
    My favorite element of this assignment was looking at the Science Fair Vines. It made me think vine would be great for giving recipes to lazy cookers such as myself.
    As for Meerkat, I wonder who liked Timón enough to name their app after him. I like the idea of live streaming things, especially since it was made for live events, but I think it probably makes people nervous. I enjoy watching the Snapchats of events and New York City and Los Angeles, but those can be recorded as many times as someone wants, which probably contributes to its use since sometimes people record themselves talking.
    In Briggs’ chapter 8 he sites that in 2009 Youtube reported 20 hours of video being uploaded every minute. People love their video. But a 5-shot sequence to creating video can still be used to create a compelling story. These shots include a close-up of hands, close-up of a face, a wide shot, an over the should shot, and a creative shot from an odd angle. For a vine in 6 seconds this could get confusing to follow a story, but it is good advice for slightly longer videos.

  13. mmarsh6 says:

    I think vines are sufficiently informative if they are used in the right fashion. With only 6 seconds, going into it thinking that it is possible to cram a whole videos worth of info/video/pictures into a short time frame will result in a bad vine. From looking over some of the examples the best ones are those used for humor and also ones were able to tell a short story or show how something works in the small time frame were successful vines in my opinion. I do see more potential in vine but the way Twitter and Instagram allow you to share longer videos and with a much larger amount of users, it has lost traction from when it first launched.

    Meekrat is a classic example of how an app gets very popular when it’s first released, but bigger apps update their technology and phase these smaller apps out of the picture. An idea can only be so original until it is released to the public and other companies apps with more money can change their app according and result in these other apps becoming an afterthought a few months after they launch.

    Briggs talks about how video is easier to produce for everyone now that most of us have cameras on our phones there is a lot more video posting happening online in the journalism field. Professional journalists are not being hired as video journalists, which was never part of the traditional news team. In the chapter Briggs also talks about how story boarding can be a useful strategy to use before making a video. This is essentially sketching out pictures of potential scenes in a story separated into different parts so you can plan possible sequences of events or get an idea for how the video will be produced before you go out to the field and shoot.

  14. I’m so glad you mention six-second-science! It’s by far one of my favorite uses of Vine. It’s a simple, user driven website that got some pretty big attention thanks to some big names like Bill Nye and NASA.

    Vine and other video sites like YouTube all suffer from over saturation, though. Briggs talked a little bit about this and reported that 20 hours of video was being uploaded everything minute. Youtube’s statistics page now reports that 300 hours of video are uploaded every minute! https://www.youtube.com/yt/press/statistics.html
    With all this content, what amazing stuff are we missing? Or are we missing anything? Are there enough internet users to sort through the rabble and find the gems? I was recently listening to an NPR piece where a guest takes time everyday to search random numbers on YouTube just to get a peek into someone else’s life. Often, videos with numbers are uploaded as family videos and never given a title. It’s basically the Deep Web part of YouTube.

  15. I’m somewhat surprised to see that Vine is used for data journalism. However, I feel like journalists must adapt in a social media platforms, Vine included. I honestly As mentioned by PBS, Vine can be hard for journalists to design and execute because it’s so limited. I personally think Vine’s six seconds is shorter than 140 characters on twitter. Providing context is hard. I can’t imagine doing it in 6 seconds or less. Briggs said each shot should run at least 3 to 5 seconds. Vine doesn’t allow that. Therefore, shooting spontaneous events is difficult because you never know how long your clip is going to last. Interviews would rarely be successful. Lastly, you can’t edit! I’m a neat freak, so that’s definitely a game changer for me. Choppy starts and ends bug the shit out of me, and Vine forces you to watch it again, againnn and AGAIN. However, Brigg’s says you don’t need to be perfect.

    Despite the struggles of using Vine, it is considered a ‘viral video’ as Briggs mentioned. Videos have the power to grab the viewer’s attention and build an emotional attachment. Visual story telling is a powerful, useful tool for journalists.

    • I think Vine is useful in a sense of entertainment. For sports journalism I think this is a useful tool. I’ve seen plenty of sports site post a vine of a big play or something of that nature to their website or on their social media page. Sports journalism is a form of entertainment more than “new journalism” is and Vince is something they use to enhance this.

      Vine, in a way, can go viral as Briggs mentioned. There’s actually several people who are “vine famous.” Because their vines went viral they’ve gotten popular. For example, Jess Hansen, her vines were immensely popular and now she does modeling. It’s a way to discovered.

      It can be a good entertainment source and provide people with a short, but useful tool.

  16. Logan Barry says:

    I liked how you mentioned in the directions that Vine forces you to be creative with its 6-seconds rule, comparing it to Twitter’s 140-characters rule. I was aware of Vine before taking this class, but I had never used it until this year. It definitely made me think more creatively when putting together a video with only 6 seconds, but I agree with the previous post. I think it is a little harder to cram in 6 seconds of information into a Vine than it is to cram in 140 characters of information into a Tweet. Since Vine is still relatively new, I guess people are still trying to figure it out, and despite what I think, it is still doing pretty good as far as popularity goes. As Briggs mentioned, it’s a “viral video”, and I couldn’t agree more, once I watch one that I like, I watch it again and again, and than I will usually also send it along to a friend, or share it on my Twitter feed. So it definitely has the power to grab the viewer’s attention if it is used correctly. I just think that if they would allow you the option to add a few more seconds into your Vines, then it could be even more powerful. Since it is much easier for everyone to produce videos these days, as Briggs mentioned, you don’t even have to be a video journalist anymore to do these kinds of things. I also liked how Briggs mentioned story boarding as a useful strategy to use before making a video, I think that is especially true for making Vines. Because you are sketching out potential scenes, and that’s what makes Vines so powerful in my opinion.

  17. abdulazizq8 says:

    A Six second video may seem too short if the content is not solid. I think that Vine challenges its users to do their best and come out with a great six-seconds video. The best part of it is that you can even divide your six seconds to shorter clips and combine them together. Just like twitter, it seems hard in the beginning to use only 140 characters then you get used to it.

    Briggs offers good tips on how to aim for solid clips. Avoid panning and zooming, hold your shots and be silent when you shoot. These tips could help you get a cool six-seconds video if you have good content.

Leave a Reply

