Read & Respond week 6: Mobility

Here’s a vivid thought from @GeorgeBray on that everpresent device in your hand.

The concept of Mobile First is informing considerable mass media practice. One of the up-and-coming areas in mobility is wearable technology, and its poster child was once Google’s Glass, whose “failure” we’ve discussed in class.

Do you find this fascinating, or do you want to slap the guy? The company pulled the plug on Glass in early 2015, but wearable technology is not going anywhere (get a load of the hedgehog-like iGel). Consider these perspectives:

Naturally, there are naysayers as well:

So how do you see wearable tech influencing the future of mobility? Be sure to post your response to Briggs and the readings as a comment to this post by 11:59 p.m. Sunday, February 14.

18 Responses to Read & Respond week 6: Mobility

  1. After watching the first video of the Google Glass demo, I was really fascinated by the whole concept of the glasses. The glasses are essentially an iPhone in a glasses form, somewhat similar to Apple watches. You can really multitask with the glasses and Drew Olanoff really shows off the multitasking aspect by using GPS while also reading his email, the news and taking a photo. They certainly look futuristic, as shown in the Vogue photos. Olanoff even commented on the fact that Google Glass will be available in different colors and styles. While they offer a lot of cool technological aspects, people would also be able to make them more fashionable in some sense. However, I also see the point of the second video. People with Google Glass may think they are smarter and/or better than those without the glasses. The glasses do have their purpose, but they can be abused, just like any other technology.

    Wearable technologies, such as Google Glass, are going to make multitasking that much easier. Individuals are going to be able to walk from place to place while reading their emails, the news or using social media. Mobility will increase, but the dangers will increase also. While you’re wearing the glasses, it’s hard to pay attention to where you are going. If individuals start using these while driving, they will become extremely dangerous. In addition, if keeping someone’s attention is already hard as it is with iPhones, just imagine how much harder it will be with wearable technology. Individuals won’t have to be fully paying attention as they do other things on the wearable technology while looking as though they are paying attention. Wearable technology is cool, but will it end up causing us more harm than good?

    Looking at the Briggs chapter, I really liked the focus on photography as a whole. I’ve always had an interest in photography so this chapter provided me with a lot of information. Briggs emphasized how to take good shots in this chapter by giving tips such as getting as close to the action as possible, taking multiple shots and just using lighting to your advantage. Since journalists have to execute both the reporting aspect and the photography aspect of the business, this information provided a basic understanding that would allow for print journalists, such as myself, to take effective photos. I also liked how Briggs laid out how to edit and manage photos. Briggs gives step-by-step instructions for both Photoshop and other photo editing programs. However, he made sure to emphasize that as journalists, we are to do no harm and that includes adding or taking aspects away from a photo while editing. In addition, Briggs goes into detail also of how to publish photos on a blog, which is especially helpful to us this semester. All in all, Briggs laid out the basics for all journalists to succeed with the photography aspect of stories.

  2. Whether it is a watch, glass(es), or a neural implant in the temple (like Geordi La Forge in Star Trek: Next Generation) I feel this stuff is ridiculous. There is already a major problem with distracted driving due to texting and other functions on mobile devices, and having something that will lead people to distracted: walking, bike riding, etc. is not something I believe we need. I would also like to point out that the entire concept of “multi-tasking” is bogus. The researchers at both M.I.T. & Stanford (see PBS’s Frontline episode “digital_nation”: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/digitalnation/view/) say that multi-tasking is a myth. Technology has a very prominent place that is not going away, but a portion of what this industry offers is frivolous. I wear glasses and would love to be able to not have to wear them because I have a lens between my eyes and the world. The last thing I want to be seeing is a digital display like I am Arnold Schwarzenegger as the Terminator. I do not believe that this kind of technology will impact my job as journalist very much. Smartphones are already small enough to provide convenience and flexibility for “on-the-spot” news coverage.
    My graduate assistant position is in the photojournalism equipment closet in the ground floor of Martin Hall. I handle the latest in photojournalism equipment on a daily basis, including the Nikon D600 DSLR camera that has both still and video (with audio capability). It is amazing how far digital imaging technology has some in the 20+ years since I graduate with my B.S.J. I also was enrolled in JRL 220 for 2 months last semester, before I dropped it due to an overburdened schedule and workload, and I learned so much in that short time period. JRL 225 also was a tremendous help when it comes to photography. Briggs offers an excellent, brief of what is available and what can be done with digital photography at the present time. I still believe that professional journalism organizations will have people who are photojournalists and those who are (writing) journalists for a long time into the future. However, a photojournalist has to have some basic writing skills and a (writing) journalist has to have some basic photography skills.

  3. audriek says:

    In my opinion, the glass concept is amazing. I think it is showing a new way of usable and highly innovative technology. The man in the first video showed that this is truly the way of life that he has accustomed to. With the functionality of the glasses, he can do anything from taking pictures, reading and responding to emails, and getting turn-by-turn directions, and the best part? Hands-free!
    I think that may be one of the biggest advantages for users of this device.
    In the link providing the “7 quick observations about Glass” one key point that stuck out to me is that the battery life is just a mere 3.5 hours, max! I personally believe that is one downfall because if we compare that to the amount of time we are on our handheld devices or laptops, I think that is a very short amount of time. The time almost doesn’t compare.
    Oddly enough, when I was first watching the first video, one thought that crossed my mind was, “those are ugly!” I do not think I would like wearing them because I would rather be wearing my “cute” sunglasses.
    However, Vogue had a spread that featured these high-tech glasses that were paired with high fashion like Oscar de la Renta and Gucci just to name a few. That just shows that they may be appealing to not just the “nerds” of technology but also the “elites” of fashion.
    Even Briggs comments on the idea of GPS in this weeks reading.”It has become standard for mobile devices to attach longitude and latitude,” he said.
    With photo taking, there are always ways of bettering the shot. This chapter touches on the fact that more time put into taking a photo leads to better photos. That may be one weak spot with the glasses as listed in the “7 quick observations about Glass” but if they apply the few steps in chapter 5, the result can only be beneficial.
    Personally, I do not think I would be one of the many who would wear these glasses but I would be sure to hang around those who are to get the turn-by-turn directions to our favorite cafe in town!

  4. davidstatman says:

    In the Briggs chapter, Briggs writes that “one can argue that the digital age has had a greater impact on photography than on any other single skill or ability.” Similar to how smartphones and the advent of microblogging allow anyone to be a journalist on the scene, they also allow anyone to be a photographer without having to learn how to use any equipment. Now, using a smartphone has anyone access to a camera at any time and any place, shooting with a resolution that’s much higher than many cameras from years past.
    People have been saying that wearable tech is the future for seemingly forever, but the remarkable launch failure of Google Glass indicates that that future might be a little further out than we might have anticipated. People might not be as excited about things like Google Glass and what they mean as people might have previously thought. The potential for wearable technology meaning that someone can take pictures and video without someone knowing that they’re being filmed, can be very unsettling for people. Let’s just not all be Glassholes.

  5. coreymac94 says:

    Concerning fashion, everyones going to have a different opinion. I personally think the google glass wear is pretty terrible looking. But someone else might find it a neat futuristic look.

    But the most compelling development is the progress technology is making. Sure, the google glass wear may look ugly or might make you look like an ass, but there’s no denying the capabilities it is giving an average person going about their day. However, there’s something about the notion of multi-tasking with the device that is a little off-putting. We’ve already seen incredible advancements in many different spectrums of our lives due to the progress of technology, but we shouldn’t be linked in to it at all times of the day. There’s a time and a place. And yet I still don’t understand the need for the glass wear if you have a little rectangular device in your pocket that allows you to do near all of the same things. The google glass wear might come off as minimalistic but it’s missing the simplicity part. Just use your phone.

    As for the Briggs chapter, technology once again is progressively making all of our lives easier. If you own a smart phone, you now have basic photography skills, and maybe even some journalistic skills. Briggs’s guide through photoshop and digital photography is certainly helpful.

  6. After watching the first video, I definitely want to slap that guy. I was actually hoping that he got hit by that biker because he was not paying attention. The second video was hilarious and totally on point with the obnoxious way that it is used. But anyway, I do see wearable technology becoming more popular in the future. Google Glass was unsuccessful, but I think they had the right idea. It was just too much work and harder to use than a normal cellphone. Apple on the other hand, has been successful in creating the Apple Watch, despite its high prices, and I think they are going to continue to invent some pretty cool new technology.

    Looking at the Briggs chapter, I really love the first quote by Matt Thompson, “Are we using 1,000 words where a picture would be?” It’s interesting to think about because a picture can literally tell a whole story, sometimes even longer than 1,000 words. “Journalism without photographs is like writing without verbs,” said Briggs.

    I thought it was a bit repetitive when he talked about the main functions of a camera, as if nobody knew. However I found the editing tips and software discussions to be useful, considering how digital everything is and that is how most people view images, digitally.

    Finally, I took away his tip on size and content mattering when it comes to photos on blogs. I have been struggling with photos on my blog, whether it has to do with size, if it adds to the story, and the way it is used.

    “Blogs without art are lame,” said Briggs.

    -Patrick J. Clarke

  7. Sierra says:

    In my personal opinion, I think that wearable technology like glasses and watches along with some technology that isn’t wearable like Xbox Kinect is absolutely awful. Although it does show major advances in technology that can be good, I think that the overall affect produces laziness in people. Google Glass does nothing that I can’t do from my phone or tablet and I won’t look like an idiot in the process. I think having everything connected in one place can be great but this kind of technology is just honestly too much. What’s going to happen when all of this technology fails one day and people are going to have to go back to MapQuest or reading an actual map or reading a real paper newspaper or they have to use the card catalog to look for a book? Like I said making advances in technology is wonderful but it is taking away the knowledge of how to do basic things without the use of technology which is only producing an unintelligent technology dependent nation which could be a big downfall in the end.

    I think that because wearable technology is deemed important, it will influence the future of mobility in many ways. It’s kind of scary thinking about someone driving with wearable technology on but I guess I have to hope that the inventors find a safe way around the issue. Maybe soon directions will be displayed on the windshield of your car or on the inside of a biker’s helmet but the possibilities are truly endless.

    I think that visual journalism and photography have come a long way and add to the story since people are more visual than anything else. Briggs makes the statement, “journalism without photography is like writing without verbs” and this is 100% true in my opinion. Photos also aid in being evidence to some of the happiest or most difficult times for this country and the world. Thanks to digital photography, phots can be used to enhance the feelings and emotions that are being captured which then enhances the attention of the audience

    I like how Briggs always gives a play by play instruction list. I had to do photography last year in one of my journalism classes and I was very surprised at how much actually goes into making a good photo and how many tools were out there to use afterwards to make that photo even better, despite all of the ethics that surround photo editing. Briggs mentions that you should keep it simple which is something that I always had a hard time doing. With all of the photo programs available, it’s hard to remember to keep it simple just by cropping or resizing. Briggs also mentions to focus on one thing which can sometimes get overwhelming if you are photographing a busy scene or situation. If you follow the instructions he gives, you have the potential of producing very powerful photography.

  8. matthewfergo says:

    I have to say, I definitely wanted to slap that guy. He oddly reminded me of the comic book guy from the Simpsons. But I digress..

    Briggs writes that new technology may have advanced photo and video more than anything. In the midst of this second industrial revolution, where technology allows anyone to be a journalist, or photographer. Of course, this technology allows the average person to assume the roles of these professions much easier than before. But that does not make them legitimate. (I could go farther – I have the web MD app, but I’m not a doctor. I have T-Pain’s auto-tune app, but I’m not a singer).

    With something like Google Glass coming along, where consumers may be excited – but more often than not, scared. It’s kind of a similar situation to when the iPhone first came out. The average consumer was afraid of having no keyboard or buttons of any kind on the phone. With Glass, people don’t realize it’s capabilities (like when the bartender thinks this guy is recording). I believe once they do realize how easier it can make our lives, we’ll be closer to the futuristic society imagined in the Vogue slideshow.

    It’s funny to see what Briggs says to keep it simple. I can see that in all of our modern technology. Every day we see smaller screens, less buttons, and the whole world at your fingertips. I think as time goes on, that feeling of simplicity will only become more extreme.

  9. The first video was very intriguing because the guy actually wore and used Google Glass for real life situations. When Google Glass first came out, I thought it was kind of silly and that people wouldn’t actually use it. Seeing that it actually was usable in everyday life made me want to try it out.

    But then again, the second video made me remember why I thought it was ridiculous in the first place. I think the Google Glass is incredibly tacky and makes users look pretentious. Also, in my opinion, it serves no real purpose being that we all have mobile phones that can do the exact same thing the Google Glass can do.

    The Briggs chapter talked a lot about photography, which is my favorite part of journalism. Photography and art are the two reasons why I love technology and web design. The photography software and editing tips that Briggs included in the chapter are very useful when blogging, and will probably help me in the near future. I found the list to be a pretty handy guide that I will probably look back on.

  10. pmlilly says:

    When google glass first came out I thought it sounded like a pretty weird thing, and it turned out I was right. One of my professors was able to become one f the testers of google glass and brought them into class one day to show them to us. He passed them around and let us try them on, and I honestly didn’t like them it was pretty hard to see the screen. He then talked about his experience using them and said most people really did not like the fact that he was wearing them and could take photo’s or videos whenever he wanted without their knowledge. I really think the glass thing was silly, but the smart watches I do think are cool. Sending simple messages without getting your phone out and being able to see who texted you would be cool.

    Although I do agree with Craig Campbell in saying that we as consumers already have a serious problem with multi-tasking thinking we can do it all at once but we really can’t. If anything we need to calm down and slow everything down and just take things one step at a time instead of trying to do everything at once.

    From Briggs in the chapter I really like that he had a big section on how to edit photos after you have taken them on a computer. That was a very helpful section and I am defiantly going to look at that in the future when I have to edit photos. I have never really edited to much photos after I have taken them so this will be very helpful.

  11. EmilyGMartin says:

    The guy in the first video definitely annoyed me. What was with the jersey and jacket combo? But whatever. I like the idea of wearable technology, such as glasses nor watches, but I don’t necessarily think they would pan out very well. We are already constantly distracted by our phones that I think glasses would just make it worse. Your vision would be focused on whatever you were trying to read/watch/whatever instead of where you are walking. While we basically do the same with our phones, one can easily enlist the help of Siri to send a text, email, make a phone call, etc without looking at their phone. Watches aren’t so bad, as it’s just like having another phone. In the second video, the part that bothered me was when he was on a date with a girl and he focused his glasses on her chest and it gave him the option to take a picture or video. It definitely makes the glasses seem dumb.
    I liked in Briggs how, just like in the twitter chapter, our phones are allowing anyone to become a journalist. With twitter, someone could easily tweet on-the-spot news or share their own articles. In this chapter, he focuses on cameras and the fact that anyone with a smart phone can learn basic skills and become an amateur photographer.

  12. jadenarth says:

    The first thing I thought of when I watched the Google Glass video was that it’s a lot like the movie Her, where everyone has a little portable computer that can talk to them, read their emails, and show them the news. Personally, I don’t like Google Glass and am glad that Google pulled the plug on it. There are already a ton of distractions facing people. Having a (goofy looking) pair of glasses that show you things right in front of your eyeballs are a huge distraction when you’re driving, or even just having a normal conversation with someone.
    Google had the right idea with Glass, but I think Apple did it better with the Apple Watch. Wearable technology allows us to constantly stay connected. This could be a good thing or it could be a bad thing. It’s good that we can always be reached, but it’s hard for us to disconnect, even for a little while, when we have multiple devices ringing at once.
    In this chapter, Briggs discussed photography. Like in his other chapters, he said it’s easy for anybody to be a journalist. Basically everyone has a smartphone these days, and almost every smartphone has a really nice camera on it. So, really anybody can be a photographer. With a little research on photo editing like Briggs discussed, anybody can publish their photos and call themselves a photographer.

  13. emilyeisenhuth says:

    In Briggs reading, he mentions that photo and video have advanced the most through technology. I can see why he says that because I didn’t know half of the devices that were out there for photos and different apps for everything and anything. I think technology advancing is a great thing to have you have the world at your fingertips but at the same time, it makes people ignorant of the world and what is around them. I think now that technology is such a necessity to everyone that it has made a lot of people lazy, which leads me to my opinion on wearable technology. I think some things are great but I think that people are getting too lazy and anti-social. People would rather meet someone over the Internet than getting out and going to finding someone at the bar or event. It drives me crazy when people are out on dates, events, or dinner and no one is talking to each other because everyone is on their phones. It is great to stay connected with different parts of the world but I think you also have to value the people that are right in front of you. Wearable technology is awesome and I think that some other devices that have been coming out are amazing. I think if they could make it for people to be more active that would be better but escaping to a different world like the Google box is awesome.

  14. I was really intrigued by the Google Glass demo, as a I have never quite understood how they operate. The idea of having an additional tool for instant information can certainly make one’s life simpler, if not more in sync. However, I think I side with the makes of the Glasshole video. While the idea of Google Glass seems innovative, the reality of consumers using a product like this is unlikely. Wearable mobility should be seamless and functional, but many systems available today teeter the line of technology overkill. Google Glass appears to be disconnected from your mobile device in regards to texts and other mobile based apps. Also, the fact that speaker is loud and very public raises major privacy and functionality concerns.

    Mobile technology has boosted media, especially in the last decade’s expansion of social media.The ability for journalists to report in real time and online fosters open discussion and helps creates viral content. Briggs brings up many benefits to mobile journalism and lays out potential opportunities for mobile news. Trials, sport events, and breaking news are some of the first type of events that come to mind when considering mobile journalism. Personally, I can recall events such as the killing of Osama Bin Laden, and the VMAs generating mass online content in real time. With hashtags, links and the ability to share, details of these types of events have the ability to go viral instantly.

    I also like how Briggs laid out a supply list of sorts for mobile journalists. Items including as a good quality camera, microphones and recorders are helpful when capturing different types of media for a story. And of course, wifi is essential!

  15. tuellkristen says:

    Briggs’ entire chapter focused on photography. I agree photography is very important for journalists, but I don’t think he needed to go into that much detail about how to take a picture, how to transfer, edit, and publish them. I think this generation is already so good at doing all of those things. And, as a journalist, I know I pay attention to those things more when I see them on TV or I see them in the paper. I think if you are choosing to get into the journalism industry, you already know that you need to know how to make a story better, and pictures usually help.

    I would say it is more important for visual and broadcast journalists to be focused on pictures as opposed to print journalists. Visual journalists, obviously, tell their stories through pictures and videos. Broadcast journalists (TV, not radio) don’t have the time to “show, not tell” with their words. Broadcasts are just too short, so it’s really important to have pictures to put up while the reporter or anchor reads the stories. Print journalists, however, are expected to use a very limited number of pictures. It is nice to see pictures in a newspaper, but personally, I feel it’s their job to be able to explain sights through words.

    When it comes to wearable technology, I do think this would be a cool asset for journalists to use. It’s clear it still has some kinks to work out, but it has the potential to be very valuable. Imagine filming/taking pictures, while you tell it to type/write. You would basically have your entire story on this wearable technology. At the Media Innovation Center, we’re already seeing some really incredible things to help journalists in their fight to stay relevant and modern, so I think it’s just a matter of time before wearable technology is common, especially for journalist.

  16. Kaitlyn Powers says:

    I definitely think that wearable technology can and will be a useful tool in the future, but Google definitely missed the mark with Google Glass. They’re an eyesore, a distraction, and a disappointment. While I was intrigued by the Google Glass demo, I found myself thinking, “can’t I just do that with my phone? Can’t my emails just wait until I get where I’m going?” The wearer seemed distracted the entire time he was using the technology. The technology’s design just isn’t seamless, and Google’s competitor Apple did a much better job with their version of wearable technology, the Apple watch. At least with the Apple watch, you can choose when to connect rather than to have a constant connection to everything going on right on your face.
    I can definitely see how the use of wearable tech could lead to people becoming like the user in “Don’t be a Glasshole.” It’s important now than ever that people take time to disconnect from all of today’s technology.
    Briggs makes a great point about the ubiquity of cell phones making everyone a photographer. As journalists, it’s important that we learn the necessary skills to produce good photos so that we can tell our stories in the best way possible.

  17. mtshadle says:

    After watching the first video, I am amazed by the technology of google glass. Overall, I really like the concept of wearable technology and how we are able to integrate such advanced forms of technology in our everyday lives. While as we discussed in class that google glass did not really take off, I do think that in the future people will be using various forms of wearable technology. An example of that in present day is the new popularity of things like the apple watch or Fitbit, which I think are more successful because they are slightly more discreet than a pair of robotic looking glasses. I also thought it was very cool that Vogue used the glasses in an editorial fashion shoot, because it demonstrates that as we are advancing the possibilities of changing styles and trends in other areas such as fashion and beauty. It reminds me of being younger and imagining being an adult in “space” themed clothing, flying around. The glasshole video was entertaining and I definitely see how use of the technology especially in its “testing” days can be considered pretentious. As for Briggs, I definitely understand the importance of audio journalism as a television major. Audio sound bytes can really take the listener on a whole new experience and can convey emotion in a way that you are not able to do in print alone. A lot of different things can be taken from audio that enhance a story, such as an accent, speaking rhythm, emotion, and pauses or breaks in responses.

Leave a Reply

