Read & Respond week 8: Group blogs past

In preparation for your group blogs (to be announced in Wednesday’s class), you’ll be taking a look into the past. There’s no Briggs chapter for this week; instead, you’ll take a leisurely read through what has come before. Read the following:

1. Morgantown Problems (2013): This is one of the best group blogs produced in this class, and I want everyone to have a look (especially the Panera post and its resulting comment thread).

2. At least ONE of the other previous group blogs (see list):

Move-in Morgantown (2010)

MountainEats (2011)

The Eclectic (2011)

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Morgantown (2011)

Graduation Preparation (2012)

A “J” in the Life (2012)

Mountaineers Connect (2012)

#gradschoolproblems (2012)

Morgantown Man Cave (2013)

Meet Me in the Mountain State (2015)

A Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown (2015)

Wild But Not So Wonderful (2015)

Your response will focus on the two blogs (Morgantown Problems and one other) and what they did. What are they about? Is there a clear focus? What are some of their strongest posts? Weakest? (yes, you have to pick one – be constructive) Finally, and most importantly, what would you have done differently, and how does that influence your own group blog plans? Your response is due as a comment to this post by 11:59 p.m. Sunday, February 28.

18 Responses to Read & Respond week 8: Group blogs past

  1. -Morgantown Problems is a very interesting group blog. It seems to have an appropriate focus and for the most part stayed within the parameters that they set out to cover. Obviously the Panera Bread post was evocative and recognized a “flash-point” amongst students. The pro and con on this was vocal and kept coming. The author took a stand, gave his reasoning, and elicited feedback. I am not really sure where two posts on Black Friday and diversity at WVU really fit into a “Morgantown Problems” blog. I found the Parking posting to be rather weak. I would say parking and traffic are the #1 issue in Morgantown, and considering that this blog was written a little more than 2 years ago I think it was then too. There could have been an interview with Morgantown Mayor or the President of the Monongalia County Commission or a representative from WVU. I liked that this blog was locally focused and could be actually covered.
    -Meet Me in the Mountain State was the second group blog I looked at. It was active during Spring 2015. The idea was cool, but the execution was a bit off. Too many of the posts were short and lacking an angle that engaged the reader. The post I liked the most is “Top 5 Reasons to Camp vs. Partying with Your Friends on High Street.” This post offered a different outlook to college students and an invitation to do something that is fun and affordable. It also used a list to provide its information. My least favorite post was the run on environmental stories than had a secondary relationship to a tourism blog (at best): “Water Woes Started Long Before the Chemical Spill”, “The WV chemical spill vs. new regulations: Was anything learned?”, “Coal Hurts the Mountain State Again”, “Would Kanawha River be a Water Supply for Charleston and Surrounding Counties?”, “Clear Cutting Coopers Rock”, “Potential Pipeline Projects Could Run Through National Forests”, & “Fracking and WV national parks: What the frack”. Although tourism is affected by the environment it just didn’t fit in with the other postings which were directly focused on tourism. The posting that i liked the least was “Coal Hurts the Mountain State Again”. It seemed short and to be a rehashing of the Elk River Chemical Spill.
    -Lessons that I learned from examining these two group blogs include: choosing a theme/scope of the group blog and sticking to it, to keep the focus local, to write about things and matters that get people talking, and to write abou things and issues that directly impact people’s day-to-day lives.

  2. Morgantown Problems is focused on the problems and issues facing Morgantown, and how the community is trying to find solutions to these problems. One of their strongest posts is “Five Reasons Why You Should Hate the New Panera on High Street.” As mentioned in class and as shown in the comment section of the blog, the authors of the Morgantown Problems blog got a huge response back from the audience. They included a lot of outside resources in the form of tweets and hyperlinks that brought readers to supportive evidence. They also listed reasons, which appeals to the audience because it’s quick and easy to read. The authors also provided statistics and facts to support their arguments. Another good post by this blog is “The Daily Athenaeum’s List of Influential People is All-White and All-Male.” They provided a lot of outside support in the form of tweets and hyperlinks while also including a list of the choices. Their weakest post I would say is the one on the Slutwalk. This post just featured pictures from the event and just basic information about the event. They didn’t provide any substantial information. I wouldn’t have done anything differently with this blog.This blog is a good example of what we should be doing with our blog when looking at how they supported their blog posts. I also really liked how they provided an interactive map.

    The second blog that I looked at was A Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown, which focuses on different aspects of student life in Morgantown, but more specifically the overall problems faced by Morgantown males over the age of 21. One of their strongest post is “The PRT: Is it more painful than personal?” Within this post, they include other students’ perspectives, pictures, a vine that they may have made, a tweet and an additional photo. All of these additional aspects helped to support their blog post and provided the audience with a visual to aid in understanding. Another one of their strongest post is “Are You Making a Fool Out of Yourself on Tinder?” In this post, the author provides a comedy video along with pictures of statistics on the gender gap and the top three attention getting devices on Tinder. They also included interviews from students on campus to get their opinion on the matter also. One of their weaker posts would be “2015 Gold-Blue Spring Game Tailgating Destinations.” While this blog provides a lot of useful information, there isn’t any additional information really. There are a couple of hyperlinks, but that is it. Because of this, I feel that the blog post is week without the additional sources. The audience likes seeing those tweets and photos within the blog posts. I did like how the included other students’ perspectives on the topics discussed in the blog post. I will want to include this within my blog posts also!

  3. emilyeisenhuth says:

    Morgantown Problems is about the problems people face every day here in Morgantown. I think one their best post was the “5 Reasons Why You Should Hate the New Panera.” This post was very strong because it was short and right to the point. It captures your attention with a list. We have discussed in class that list attract to people and that is exactly what it did. It received a lot of feedback. Even the people that read the post find out information deeper than just location but what it means to other businesses on that street/area.For their weakest post, I think it was “A Diverse Look At WVU: Intro.” I didn’t really see how that was something for a Gentleman’s Guide in Morgantown. We already know that diversity is in the shadows and that is why we have diversity week, but I think they could have enhanced it or made it different than what we already hear in class or at panels.
    The other blog that I chose to read was “A Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown.” I think that branching out to all different factors like golfing, businesses, and drinking seems broad but it really worked. I think they did a good job by finding things that usually appeal to the male eye and wrote about it. They use all different types of social media in their articles. I think “Are You Making a Fool out of Yourself on Tinder?” was a strong article along with “Morgantown: Where it is easier to get a bong than a Big Mac.” These two articles have a variety of different social medias to prove their point. I think the Big Mac story with the graph makes it stronger by showing that and getting a visualization of how many bong shops are actually in Morgantown and how many McDonalds there are here too. Another reason that makes these strong is that they get students at WVU to talk about it and have their opinions on the issue. Their weak post I would have to say is “15 Gold-Blue Spring Game Tailgating Destinations.” This is information that people already know and I think would only attract to people outside of Morgantown that are looking to come up for a game. Yes, football and tailgating are some things that men love but I just think there could have been more information from those that tailgate rather than where to tailgate like they did for “Tailgating issues for WVU students since ranked No.1 party school ranking.”

  4. amdewitt94 says:

    I really enjoyed this assignment because it’s cool seeing what other students were interested in and how they focused their blogs. The coolest part? I remember reading this blog post when it went seemingly locally viral a few years ago. I shared a similar feeling as the majority of the commenters: I hadn’t thought of the downward spiral this restaurant would incite. I’ve never been a huge Panera fan, but so many of my friends are. I knew how excited they were, and so I was excited by association. It never crossed my mind. And those are the most exciting blogs to read: the ones that surprise you, enlighten you, and teach you. This blog did all of the above. It was a sensation, and it was very impressive. I had no idea it was for a class project, I had assumed it was for the DA or someone ranting about this new development. The fact that it was simply an assignment I think impresses me all the more. The comments were interesting, but also expected. Of course not everyone is going to agree with you. And if you’re a die-hard Panera supporter? In no way are you going to let some blogger come in and shame your new soon-to-be favorite hangout. So you react, in comment form. On the other hand, it was really cool to see comments with the same though process as myself: thanking the author for shining a light on an issue that many of us hadn’t even realized was an issue. To put into perspective what Panera may have done to local businesses on High Street, just look what happened to the Sunnyside Superette after Sheetz moved in.

    I also enjoyed reading the Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown. First, I love the name. I think it’s very clever and also very catchy. My favorite post was probably the most recent, the post about beer in Morgantown. I liked this post because it’s relatable and funny, but also because it consisted of real research. I enjoy opinion pieces as much as the next, but I really enjoy reading thing that interest AND surprise me. I had no idea that only 6% of people drank from kegs. I had no idea that only 6 students prefer Coors Light (I’m not surprised, I just didn’t know – don’t get that confused). These kinds of things are interesting. And it’s so simple to do this stuff nowadays. I could create a poll in a tweet and theoretically get hundreds of responses/answers. It’s a really cool idea that I’d like to incorporate into my own blog somehow. One thing I noticed that could’ve easily been avoided was the grammar errors. There are quite a number that a once-over proof read could have easily caught. They aren’t anything massive, but they are incorrect and sometimes even leave out a word. That would be my one suggestion – proofread.

  5. Sierra says:

    I looked at “Graduation Preparation” and “Morgantown Problems”. Both of the blogs are very engaging and provide great information. Graduation Preparation is about what you go through while being a senior in college. The post ranges from seniors giving freshman advice to giving tips about the dos and don’ts when you’re in a job interview. I think the focus is clear because it hits on everything that can relate to because I’m going through it right now. The weakest points that I can see is the topic for number one. Like I said I find this blog interesting because it relates to me right now but in the next couple years it won’t whereas Morgantown Problems hits a number of target audiences and could be of interest whether you live in Morgantown or not. I think choosing a topic like this makes your audience very limited and hard to expand to new audiences. The second weakest point is the plainness of the blog. There are almost no graphics, pictures, or media included on any of the post, just links. Morgantown Problems has numerous amount of pictures which makes that information more interesting and helps reinforce the point of the post. Considering the majority of people are visual people and images make information easier to engage with, it’s hard to a first impression about the post. Including images is definitely I would have done differently and will include in the group blog.

  6. Before looking at “Morgantown Problems,” I assumed it would be about quirky local blunders. However, after reading I was surprised to find that the blog is much more political than I originally anticipated. The blog covered many current issues going on in Morgantown including racial concerns with campus superlatives and Morgantown’s infrastructure plans. I think the group utilized local resources well such as local data and community organizations. Additionally, I like how each story had a substantial amount of hyperlinks, showing that they verified the information they published. I would hope to incorporate similar aspects such as links to community organizations and local business to reinforce the town focus. I think the group could have done more personal interviews and sought out students opinions on some issues, especially those involving campus and construction.

    I also looked at the “Morgantown Man Cave blog.” I really enjoyed the light-heartedness of this blog. I think it brought together a fair balance of information, entertainment and wit. I think that finding a catchy voice is important when building a blog with group. Also, I think this group was innovative in generating their male-themed content. They didn’t just stick to partying and sports. This group branched out to music, food and even clothing retailers. Being creative with content is essential for keeping readers returning week after week. I would also have done more personal interviews for this type of blog. Maybe do a ” man on the street” type article where you poll men on campus. This is a good way to engage readers online and on campus.

  7. EmilyGMartin says:

    One of the posts I liked most on Morgantown Problems was the one about President Gee. Everyone sees this bubbly, outgoing side of him, but you don’t often hear about any bad or negative things he may have said/done. Maybe to improve upon that post, they could have asked students here about what they think of Gee, then tell them that information, and capturing their reactions somehow. Overall, as a blog it was nicely done. The website was set up nicely and it was very accessible.

    The other blog I looked at was Mountaineers Connect. They focused on how WVU students stay involved with the community, which I thought was a unique idea. Sometimes, as a student, it is hard to find time to do volunteer work or even just regular work, but this blog provided plenty of options. I liked their “Spotlight: WVU Student Lacey White Connects” post because it highlighted one student in particular, while showing several different opportunities to get involved. One way I thought they could improve that post would be to expand on each of opportunities in their own posts. Talk about Sundale and what one can do there in one post, then talk about The Shack itself in another post. Overall, as a blog, I thought they could improve their website a little more, maybe make it more appealing and less basic.

  8. tuellkristen says:

    I read the Morgantown Problems and Mountaineats group blogs.

    For Morgantown Problems, I thought I knew going in what the blog was going to be about. I figured it would be about problems that students and residents in Morgantown face on a daily basis. Once I started reading, however, it didn’t seem like all of their problems focused on “problems.” Towards the end of their blog, it seems like they were just writing about Morgantown stories. I know they wrote a post explaining they wanted to write “what you want to hear,” but then it’s no longer sticking to their title of Morgantown Problems. Some of theirs were awesome explanations of Morgantown problems we face though. Of course, their Panera post was incredible. And, when Panera was announced it was coming to High Street, there really was a lot of controversy, so it was super relevant for the bloggers to write on this topic. And, the fact that it gained so much attention through all of the comments, that posts proved to be pretty influential to a lot of people’s thinking. I also really liked the post on parking. I face this problem nearly every day and I think that’s something everyone in Morgantown can relate to and consider a problem. I really didn’t like the post on The Cupcakerie. While I love The Cupcakerie, I would definitely not consider it a “problem.”

    I also read Mountaineats. I figured this would be about food and restaurants in the Morgantown area, and I was right. I love food and I love reading reviews on new restaurants, so I was intrigued to see how these bloggers took on the job. What I gathered from the blog was that the authors really liked pizza. Morgantown has so much more to offer than just pizza, so I would have liked to see a little more diversity in the posts. I did like the post on Pizza Al’s. It seemed to be the most in-depth and I like that the author included a personal preference for what pizza to try. The post I liked the least was the Rusted Musket post. It just didn’t seem that they dug as hard for this one as they did for the others.

    I think the first blog was super easy to relate to, but I think the the second blog stuck to its theme a bit more. I would like to stick to a specific theme and make sure every post focuses on that theme.

  9. coreymac94 says:

    Morgantown Problems was excellent. I wish I knew about it beforehand. It focuses on issues relevant to Morgantown but also transcends it and focuses on broader topics. Obviously the Panera post was good; it incited heated reactions from many different people with differing opinions. My favorite post however was the one about University President Gordon Gee, who at the time was serving as interim president. The writer did excellent research and did a near perfect job of balancing journalistic techniques with blogging techniques (showing a unique style along with a strong opinion). I had no idea Gee was on the Board of Directors of Massey Energy.. a little research goes a long way and sheds some light on WVU’s perfect PR face. One weak post I found was the post on Black Friday. I don’t really know if that fits under the whole Morgantown Problems topic. The nearest mall is in Westover (and it sucks), and students aren’t even in town during Black Friday, since it falls right after Thanksgiving when the majority of Morgantown is home for break.

    A Gentlemen’s Guide to Morgantown was also a cool, kind of bro-ish blog that had some interesting content on it. My absolute favorite post was the ‘Is graduating from WVU harder than other public universities?’ post. Spoiler alert… yes it is. That post detailed what I have been thinking my entire college career. Balancing the work load of classes with the arguably harder work load of consistently going out is something that not many people can do, which is why our retention rate is so high. And it really is a ‘sink or swim’ situation.. I know an alarming amount of friends that transferred (or failed out) my freshman year because, well, they just couldn’t hang. One thing I hate is when people tell me I won’t be able to get a job upon graduating, or I’ll have to keep it hush hush about my schools party reputation. Bullshit. The blog ended it perfectly.. ‘next time you’re sitting in a job interview, make sure to sell the hell out of your incredible ability to multitask.’ Spot on. If I come across an employer who might conspicuously question my time spent here, I’ll tell him I worked two jobs: as a bartender and a student journalist, maintained a 3.5 cumulative GPA, all while partying my ass off. One post I thought didn’t really fit was the ‘Podcast: Does Social Media cause Depression?’ post. I just don’t know if it fit the overall vibe the blog was going for. That’s just my opinion though, and it was a good post… just thought it didn’t fit.

    Both blogs made me realize we’re going to have to hone a very specific focus or angle in the group blog. It can’t be too sporadic and it has to be consistent.

  10. Morgantown Problems was my favorite blog out of all of the past blogs, which is why I based my group blog idea off of it. It discussed the issues and problems that the city faces on and around campus. There is definitely a clear focus and vision with this blog. I felt that some of the strongest blogs on this page were “The Daily Athenaeum’s List of Influential People Is All-White and All-Male,” and “Five Reasons Why You Should Hate the New Panera On High Street.” I thought the weakest post was “Black Friday Cheat Sheet: Morgantown and Beyond,” because it didn’t talk about Black Friday being an issue. It gave a list of places to shop with tips on what were the best deals. It didn’t really fit in with the focus.

    I also really love the focus of the Mountaineers Connect blog. There are some great quality articles on this blog. All of the write-ups on this blog related in some way to community, and whoever came up with the idea was a genius. I think I really like this focus because Morgantown has a small, community feeling to it, but nobody really talks about it. I think their strongest post was “Creative Arts Center Creates Community.” Not only is it a great title, but it was a great blog to read and it had the most comments of all the blogs on the page. I felt that the weakest blog however, was “Social Media Strengthens Morgantown’s Community Relations,” because it wasn’t so focused on community. The writer kept using “I” which was wrong because it is a group blog, and she wasn’t telling the story on behalf of the community. The blog just talked about the app they used and what they did, rather than how it directly affected the community.

    With both of these blogs, I think they could have been a little more consistent with the content. They both had specific topics to discuss, and the groups needed to get every member on the same page about what to write and talk about, and make sure it tied in with the focus. This is something that we can all take away for our future group blogs.

    -Patrick J. Clarke

  11. John Mark says:

    The Morgantown Problems blog is so good because it looks at different areas of Morgantown-infrastructure, diversity, social issues-yet still keeps a familiar voice. I liked the majority of it. The one thing that felt out of place for me is the three consecutive blog posts about Black Friday/business in Morgantown. The first, titled “BLACK FRIDAY: IS IT WORTH IT?”, openly criticizes the practice, while the next post, “BLACK FRIDAY CHEAT SHEET”, openly promotes it. Then, the next post criticizes Small Business Saturday, saying that the holiday shouldn’t be a footnote after Black Friday, even though the post itself is overshadowed by the two blog posts before it. All three posts are great, but they’re juxtaposed oddly.

    A Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown also has a broad topic, although it feels a lot lazier than Morgantown Problems. I enjoyed the haunting series, but other stuff like “Like Beer and Getting Caught in the Rain? Then Morgantown’s the Place for You”, feel pointless, and I learned next to nothing from them.

    From these blogs, I’ve learned that my group blog should cover a good bit of ground without scraping the bottom of the barrel. Using Youtube videos and memes are fine for adding flavor, but when we need to be careful and not use them as crutches.

  12. pmlilly says:

    The blog that I liked the most was move-in morgantown. I think the focus is very clear and focused. It is all about moving in to morgantown and what to do while you are. My favorite post was the one about tips for moving into a dorm. I feel like that could be very helpful for freshman, and it is cool how it is themed all around Morgantown that is nice. Overall I really like this blog, but the only thing that I would change is the layout. When you pull it up online it is pushed to the left and not centered. That is all I would change is to make the stories centered. I really liked all the posts but since I have to pick a least favorite one I suppose my least favorite would be “Packing for Summer”. It is just a shorter post and the picture wouldn’t load on my computer so I couldn’t see that, but that was all I had to complain about.

    I really liked the Morgantown problems page everything looks very nice and I just liked how the webpage is presented. The stories are pretty interesting as well I didn’t really like the post that was “What you should know about Gordon Gee”. I felt like it was just bashing him, and he has done an awful lot for our school and has a good plan for the future. I just think that they came at him a little to hard, everyone has their opinion, but aren’t things like this supposed to come from a biased perspective? I just think they could have mention some of the good he has done. I did however really like the article about “the Rack”. It is an a story about a place that feeds hungry students, and some homeless students. I liked this article because I had no idea anything like this existed, it is good to know our school has nice programs like this. I also think this is a cool article because it could probably help the rack get more donations to help feed people. I like this blog, but I like the other one more because I think it can be more useful to students.

    I think this influences my blog because whatever I end up doing I feel like I will have to report both side evenly and fairly and not show any bias, like in one article. I also think it will help because I think my group should ,model the look of our blog after th Morgantown Problems blog.

  13. Kaitlyn Powers says:

    I think Morgantown Problems had a clear focus of highlighting the general issues facing Morgantown–including homelessness, infrastructure, and local businesses vs. chains. Some of my favorite posts included the one about then-interim president Gee, and the DA’s list of influential people being all white and all male. I also liked the post about homelessness in Morgantown. These posts provide unique content, while providing adequate media and links for sourcing. They provided information I didn’t know with an interesting voice. The one post I felt was weakest was the most recent one about the annual Slut Walk; I felt as if it was merely an advertisement or a recap for an event with no synthesis.

    The second blog I read was Graduation Preparation, and I felt it was overall very weak. While they did have a clear focus, their posts were not much more than personal advice. If I were using this idea for my blog, I would have tried to give it a more journalistic approach, expanding ideas about student debt and job availability, while linking to concrete sources. I also would have used more media to make my posts more interesting. Going forward in our group blogs, I will aim to maintain a lively voice while covering informative topics and giving readers information they wouldn’t otherwise have.

  14. audriek says:

    Initially, the pictures of the protesting signs helped get the point across that a lot of people were partaking in this. It was visually pleasing because of the formatting with the headings etc. which is a small point but also a very importance aspect.
    Additionally, this blog did not highlight or focus on one certain thing. The topics varied which I think kept the audience wanting and waiting for more. It wasn’t like readers were checking back each week for the same exact topic just different perspective.
    Although this blog was written about 3 years ago, it still is fun to be able to connect and relate with the subjects mentioned in the weekly blog.
    I do believe Morgantown Problems is focused because it does not leave the perimeters of Morgantown.
    One thing i would have done differently is interviewed individual people just to get a direct perspective, something similar to a “man on the street” type of idea. I think that would have been a good opportunity to show the diversity not only in town but also in the topics.
    That is one thing that I would have done differently.
    On the other hand, The Morgantown Eats was a fun one because of the content. I think the focus was clear and I also thing some strong points included the fact that the destinations were distinct and would be easy for a reader to go out and find the location being “reviewed.” The pictures were also some strong points because it is a way to entice people and see a visual as the place is being highlighted on. Additionally, I think the prices were another strong point because as consumers, that is something people like to see.
    Something I would have done differently as well as done differently is comparing. I would love to have two places that are similar in atmosphere, food and price and then do a general opinion on what the people of the town think deserves a higher rating.
    Overall, these different points help me gather and focus ideas to be more comprehensive for the audience as I move forward into the group blog. I think it will be important to not only be clear, but also be neutral to not just target a specific person but a larger audience.

  15. davidstatman says:

    Morgantown Problems is remarkable to me for its clear voice and excellent focus, and its lack of fear for pushing its point of view and speaking out on controversial topics. The Panera post is easily its best, and Morgantown Problems worked best when it allowed itself to get out and do some actual reporting – when it hung back more, that’s when it produced lower-quality work, like the post about pedestrian safety. The other blog that I read was Meet Me in the Mountain State, which I also liked for its clear focus – it was a blog that set out to shed light on interesting tourist destinations in the state of West Virginia. It achieved that, finding some really out of the way landmarks and events that could interest anyone touring West Virginia – stuff like the Italian Heritage Festival in Clarksburg. More than anything, a group blog needs to have a clear, strong focus that it sticks to, as illustrated by these blogs.

  16. jadenarth says:

    I think Morgantown Problems did a really good job of highlighting important problems and events in Morgantown. They definitely attempted to ruffle some feathers, especially with their post about the influential people being all white and all male. I also really liked the post about Panera. They did something right because the post has great journalistic edge and it made people think beyond the realm of ‘Oh, there’s a new Panera coming’.

    I also checked out the Move-In Morgantown blog. This blog is really good resource for students moving to Morgantown or those looking to get an apartment after dorm life. For those who have never moved around, it’s a good blog to check out. Something I would have liked to see would be a side-by-side comparison of different apartment complexes for easy comparison.

  17. mtshadle says:

    I really enjoyed the Morgantown Problems blog, and i can see why it is named as one of the best blogs produced in the class. I think what really made the blog work so successfully is the level of engagement it encourages readers to have. Every post includes links, calls to action, live tweets, or video to enhance the story and make it more interesting. My favorite post on this blog was the story about the Hot Dog Man, potentially being forced to move. The video with his personal narrative really took this to a completely different level of emotion and connection for me as a viewer. Birdman’s story told, by him and through him really allowed me to empathize with him and made me care about the ordinance more so than I would just reading about it. I tried to search for post that I would consider to be weaker in this blog and really had a hard time categorizing one as weaker than the others…however, I would say that I would have enjoyed for some of the posts to be more concise, they are all very lengthy reads. While they do include great content in these lengthy posts, it can at times be overwhelming and would be nice to have a “quick” read in between longer ones to break up the flow a little.

    The other blog I looked at was A Gentleman’s Guide to Morgantown, the title made it seem very interesting. While I wasn’t quite sure what to expect out of a “gentleman’s guide” I feel like the topics discussed in posts were a little more broad than the title suggests. Some of them covering topics that could be classified more so as college issues and annoyances, than gentlemanly advice. I enjoyed the post titled “2015 Gold-Blue Spring Game Tailgating Destinations” due to the fact that as a newcomer to WVU or football games, not having a clue where to go or what to do on game days can be very overwhelming, and it seemed like appropriate content for a gentleman’s guide. I thought that posts such as the “Are Morgantown Staples Such as the Superette and Rusted Musket on the Way Out?” were a little broad for the blog theme and irrelevant to the topic, though they are useful information… it just doesn’t seem to fit.

    I will most importantly incorporate a wide range of interactive content on my group blog to engage readers and make stories more interesting, as the Morgantown Problems blog did.

  18. I looked at Graduation Preparation in addition to the Morgantown Problems.

    Graduation Preparation talked about how to survive graduating from college and what to do after. The focus was clear on this, pretty straightforward. There were some grammatical mistakes and many of the posts seemed rushed, but they had obvious and helpful points. One the best posts was “The Significance of Volunteering.” I liked this because volunteering is something we all should focus on from the beginning, but sometimes we don’t figure that out until it’s too late. The post ends with questions directed at keeping the reader thinking about volunteering after they are through with the post. A weaker post was “The End of the World (Not Really)” because I felt like it didn’t say anything new. And there wasn’t a single visual to catch my eye to want to read it in the first place. I would definitely want to use more and better visuals on my group blog. Also, I would not have made so many list or list-ish posts. That was one of the weaker things I noticed. For instance, if we do the blog about gay community in WV, I wouldn’t be like, “The Top 10 Crappy Things About Being Gay in WV.” I favor a more serious approach, I guess.

    Morgantown Problems was about exactly that: problems in Morgantown. I thought the use of visuals and incorporation of tweets was done very well on this blog. I thought a great post was the one criticizing the DA’s lack of diversity in their list of influential people. It’s controversial, hip to current hot topics, and provides ample support for the argument through external sources. I thought a weaker post was the one about Valentine’s Day because it read more like an advertisement than a blog post. I feel like many of the posts cause people to ask questions and maybe inspire a bit of emotion. The Valentine’s post fell flat. That’s something I would like to avoid in my group blog. If Vice Versa is part of the story, I don’t want to make an ad for it. Even in a profile piece, it would be better to discuss the significance of it in relation to the bigger picture rather than list their drink specials, or in Morgantown’s Problem’s case, cupcake flavors.

Leave a Reply

