Read & Respond week 13 – Video and Vine

NOTE: Our guest speaker on audio cannot attend until next week, so I’m moving the video classes to this week. We will cover audio in the following week when we can get an intro to the podcasting station.

This week’s readings are mostly viewings. In addition to Briggs’ chapter 8 on video, get to know a bit about Vine. You’ve already tinkered with the app in our Twitter Scavenger Hunt and Storify assignments, but you may not have given it a thought since then. In a nutshell, you can create a six-second clip of anything … just how useful can that be?

As with Twitter’s 140 characters, Vine’s time limits force you to be creative. Vine regularly poses challenges to its users, and the results are always interesting. Possibly my favorite idea is Six-Second Science Fair. Originated in a challenge by General Electric, the idea persists in various forms today. Is this sufficiently informative? Can you see potential here?

Getting away from Vine, let’s look at the short, exciting history of Meerkat. For a very brief moment, Meerkat, a livestreaming app, was the new hotness. But before you rush to download it, stop, because it’s pretty much failing, slain by Twitter’s Periscope app. This is our current social media world: Ideas are announced, get investors, are copied by bigger players, die, and are quietly buried in a matter of days.

So how do you livestream? The Providence Journal has some suggestions, as does HuffPost. How about you? Is livestreaming something you’re thinking of trying out.

Post your responses in a comment to this post by 11:59 p.m., Sunday, April 10.

16 Responses to Read & Respond week 13 – Video and Vine

  1. I am so happy that we are talking about Vine this week because I am an avid vine user. Though I revine things more than I actually create vines, there is so much potential in using Vine as a media tool. It’s a six second video that can convey so much in a small span of time. I really liked how MediaShift described vine, “Vine is like a mixture of Twitter, Instagram, and animated GIFs,” because I never actually thought about it that way. It’s a combination of all of those elements and can be incorporated through sharing through those same elements that a Vine combines. MediaShare goes into detail about this tool is already being used by the media, such as using it to allow preview print editions, share those appealing visual elements of a story or more. They offer some really great tips and tricks to go along with Vine to make its use more efficient. There is clearly a lot of potential with the app and I wonder where it will take us in the media world. Part of me sees it being used to offer live coverage of an event and maybe use it include short snippets of an interview as teaser to a larger video. The article Vine Journalism Awards showcases the best examples of 6-second news shows just some of the minor things that have been created using Vine, but we can only grow in its use and continue to use it to our advantage.

    The examples provided in the Vine Journalism Awards showcases the best examples of 6-second news article are actually informative in their own ways. They give tidbits of information that could stand alone but could also be used in collaboration with an additional element, such as a print or visual story. However, when you look at the stories of Meerkat, another live streaming app that had great potential, that started off as strong and then died off. Ever since the creation of Vine, it seems like it might be taking the same route as Meerkat. It blew up when it originally started and I personally think it has started slowing down and that’s scary. Vine has so much potential and offers great opportunities. I would hate to see it die off before it reaches its full potential.

    I personally don’t live stream often, but I would love to get more involved in that realm of the media. I would love to incorporate Vine in my own personal blog and group blog posts. Vines are super easy to create and can be uploaded instantly. They could change the broadcast side of journalism greatly and journalism as a whole. I hope that they continue to grow in use and I can’t wait to see how they shape the journalism world.

  2. amdewitt94 says:

    I think this week’s topic is very interesting!! Vine was first becoming popular my freshman year of college. I remember seeing people post their vine usernames on Twitter while having no idea what it really was. Once I got involved, it was only a matter of time before I fell in love. I had my favorite accounts, such as Brittany Furlan, that I’d go through every day. There were a few WVU students, one in particular, Freddy something, that gained wild popularity through vine. His vines became funnier and more creative as time went on, and it was impressive. I tried my hand, but never really came up with anything worthwhile. They’re still fun to look back on today though. I remember reading a piece about the marketing styles used on Vine, and Nike had some brilliant 6 second clips. It amazes me how popular something can become in an instant, and how quickly that same thing can die – such as Meerkat. Here one day, essentially gone the next. MySpace was in this position, but it had a sufficient run. While FaceBook and Twitter don’t offer the creative stylings that MySpace offered, it still died out as the group matured and moved towards a less childlike site. I’m not sure I really understand Facebook Live or the whole live video streaming thing? If that refers to Snapchat, sure. I post videos on my Snapchat story daily. As for Periscope and Facebook Live, I am not a pro and don’t really have much of an opinion one way or the other.

  3. John Mark says:

    It’s funny you mention Twitter running Meerkat out of business because the same thing happened with Tout, a video-based social media service that came out just before Vine. I remember Tout being pushed hard by several companies and then Vine came around and Tout was never heard from again.

    I’m not a huge fan of Vine, and I think its services are a lot like what people share on their Facebook walls. Things that make people either laugh or think “Huh, Interesting” before moving on to the next thing, etc. There isn’t any real impact. 6 second clips aren’t long enough to establish a real connection to your audience.

    I’ve been thinking about livestreaming, although I have nothing interesting to really stream. I think Periscope would be best, as it’s the easiest way to connect to the people who already follow me and the app is fairly simple to use. I wish the commenting/interaction between streamer and watcher was better, but it’s the best we have right now.

  4. matthewfergo says:

    You mentioned the dynamic of bigger players, and at first what came to mind – at least for me – was the battle between Instagram and Vine a few short years ago, as Vine started to gain popularity. From a consumer prospective, I think Vine lost steam when Instagram introduced video posts. I agree with John Mark in the sense that 6 seconds isn’t long enough to make an impact. Even 15 seconds – like Instagram has – may not be enough.

    Live streaming is something I definitely have been interested in. However, I think it requires a certain setting for it to work well. Sports are a great example. Chris Broussard, a reporter covering the NBA for ESPN – often will use periscope to answer questions, and generally talk sports with his fans. If live streaming accomplishes it anything, it should be connecting the consumer in a way that it feels they are there themselves.

    I would love to live stream, but it takes strong social media following and good content for it to really get off the ground. For example, if I were covering WVU football, Periscope would be ideal to broadcast the press conference to viewers. Live streaming has a bright future in the tech world because it eliminates the separation from media and consumer (which may not bode well for the workers of our industry) but it gives the viewer what they want – instant access to something they normally would have to wait for.

  5. I never thought about Vine being used in journalism. It’s always been something I look to for wild and hilarious videos. Looking through the award winners, it is obvious how useful this tool can be. Recording quick quotes or catching something unique in 6 seconds is helpful because of the fast-paced world we live in. While it may be hard to convey messages in that time constraint, when done right it is really effective. I really like the Six-Second Science Fair. The vines were fun to browse through and relayed a lot of information really quickly.

    I’d never heard of Meerkat or Periscope until now. Being able to live stream so easily is definitely useful, especially if something totally unexpected or bizarre unfolds. For The Telltale Bones, this tool could be useful to live stream a body farm or the initial discovery of a crime scene or something like that, but it’s not really feasible. For the group blog, it could be used during an even. But it’s not something I personally would take up. Anything live like that is not my cuppa.

  6. I honestly am not a big vine user. I think it had a huge boom in popularity while I was in high school and my freshman year of college, but now the people I know who still use it mainly just revine posts from popular users. While it’s still mostly user-generated content, I think it’s moved away from normal people creating and posting content to popular viners routinely posting vines, and maybe even getting paid for it (similar to the extremely popular YouTubers who are famous for their videos.) I do think, however, that it can be a useful tool in journalism ( I think initially of how it could be used to recap major news stories, although some may argue that it would continue to drive away readers in search of longer, more substantive content). It’s also a great way to give additional, supplemental content, clips you wouldn’t otherwise get from a print piece or maybe even an audio or video piece.

    I think that live streaming is an excellent way for journalists to connect with viewers–they can see behind-the-scenes footage, have questions answered, and just get a more intimate viewpoint from the user. I personally haven’t used it just because I haven’t felt I have content exciting enough to share with the world, but I can see using it more in the future.

  7. tuellkristen says:

    Over the weekend, I attended the West Virginia Broadcasters Association seminar, where Al Tomkins talked all about how journalists can better use social media. He ended his seminar by showing us how to use the new live streaming option on Facebook. For journalists, he said, and proved with statistics, that people still turn to Facebook before every other social media app for news-related information. I’m sure everyone follows their hometown or local news station on Facebook and with this new live streaming service, reporters and anchors can bring us breaking news immediately without waiting for the 5, 6, or 10 o’ clock news, which could really change how broadcast journalists inform their viewers. Granted, we could all bring immediate video for our Facebook friends with this new feature, but I’m not sure I have anything interesting or important to live broadcast right now.

    I have a Vine and have made silly videos with my friends, but I’ve never utilized it for a real purpose until we used it during the scavenger hunt. While it was interesting, and kind of hard, to use only a 6 second clip of one of the people we were interviewing, I think I like the idea of live streaming so much better for journalistic purposes. The streams are usually saved, I’ve replayed them on Facebook and Periscope, so live streams can be used just as vines if you want to watch something over and over again. I think live streaming would be a better option because it really brings viewers into what’s going on RIGHT NOW, and puts the viewers at the scene. I began second guessing this theory after reading the article of Meerkat’s failure, but if Twitter bought Periscope for $100 million, there must still be some potential behind this idea, so I’m still supporting it.

    Either way, Briggs talks about how adding videos has become a versatile form of journalism, which proves adopting vines or live streams (whichever you choose) are unique ways to make journalism more interesting and more appealing to many people who turn to social media for their news.

  8. I’m excited to be focusing on Vine this week! I used to make Vines back in my freshman year of college, but have now just resorted to reposting them. Either way, I really enjoy the idea of video sharing!

    Because most of the account I follow are funny or artsy, I never really considered Vine to be a strong journalistic tool. However, I’m beginning to change my views after reading these sources. Vine is nearly live video, making the ability to capture and share information virtually instantaneous. Meerkat and Periscope take things one step further by offering completely live video feed to its users. I’ve heard of periscope before but have never used either program.

    Live streaming is great way to catch what you aren’t expecting. Journalists often plan well, but there are always aspects of news that are unanticipated. Live streaming allows journalists to be completely transparent with viewers, allowing them to get a 360 degree view of a situation.

  9. EmilyGMartin says:

    I’m interested to see what our talk about Vine will bring. I go through spurts of using Vine and not using Vine, re-vining more than creating original content. (Actually I have never created original content) but I’m excited to learn more about it this week.
    Vines and other live-streaming content are important tools because we are an I-Want-It-Now generation, and videos, especially live-streams, satisfy that need more than articles. With articles, you have to wait an hour or so following the event or whatever to read about it, which presents another issue from this generation: we don’t like to read. Don’t get me wrong, I love reading, but when it comes to social media posts (blogs, articles, etc.) I don’t always have the patience to sit and read them.
    But, with videos, you get to watch what is happening instead of reading about it. Especially with live-streams like Vine. Just like with articles, I don’t have the patience to watch longer videos. If it is longer than about two minutes, I’m probably not going to watch it. With short live videos, that I-Want-It-Now desire is again satisfied.
    Think about big events like concerts, fashion shows, sporting events, etc.. A majority of the general population can’t afford to go and they don’t want to wait on an article later that night or early the next day. A live-stream video/Vine allows us to see right into what is currently going on instead of waiting.

  10. Sierra says:

    I think that Vines can be extremely useful to tell a story but they are very challenging. The Vines featured in the article by Crabbe were great. They conveyed information in such a short window of time and that is increasingly important because I feel like people’s attention span is getting shorter and shorter over time. The article by Kao was interesting because it outlined the importance of Vines usage but also he challenges that come with trying to make a Vine and honestly I was pretty overwhelmed because 3 to 6 seconds seems like no time at all to convey important information. But the other article shows that it can be done. I think that over time, maybe Vines will be used more for reporting the news or just the headlines which may prove to be more of a viable way people get their news in the future.

    Briggs stresses the importance of finding the right productivity tools which is extremely important because even though there are so many tools out there, they don’t fit every type of lifestyle. They can be used for many different purposes so you have to choose the right one for you. Also, as we have been learning in class lately, Briggs talks about data and how and why it is important to the field of journalism. Journalist can now present data in the way that it tells the story for example data can be used to tell a story or present information about government, schools, and city councils. Briggs states that data can also help other stories find their audience when they are competing against shorter stories and would usually get lost in the mix.

  11. jadenarth says:

    I used to think that Vine was one of the few social medias that could not be used for a journalistic angle, but after reading How Journalists Can Use Vine, I see how it can totally be used in journalism. You definitely have to be creative when using it since you only have 6 seconds, and while I personally don’t like Vine, I have seen it used in a lot of really creative and interesting ways.

    I always get a little sad inside when I see that a social media app failed because a bigger company was able to advertise their version better. Live-streaming is relatively new, but I’ve seen a ton of people use it already. I follow different Vice pages on Facebook and am always getting notifications saying “Live now”. It’s the perfect way to bring news to viewers in real time. I’ve been apart of live-streaming and it’s really weird. We tested it out at U92 and anybody that is Facebook friends with you can watch. I don’t think it was really made for just random things like that, as Kleinberg says in his article. You have to be really careful when live-streaming because there’s no filter or time to go back and edit things out, so you have to make sure everything is running smoothly.

    These articles made me want to try out live-streaming. It would be very relevant with what I want to do (music journalism) because I could show fans a concert in real time.

  12. davidstatman says:

    I’m not personally a user of Vine, but over the past few months I’ve started to consider the possibilities that livestreaming platforms bring more than ever before. Coming from a sports journalism background, and as the sports editor of the DA, I’ve been keenly observing what other sports outlets are doing with livestreaming. It’s really interesting, and it gives the option to show fans things that they wouldn’t otherwise be able to see, either from their living room or from the stands. I can’t really speak to anything else, but it’s interesting to look at.

  13. I think live-streaming and videography is becoming more and more popular today as technology evolves, however I think Vine is slowly dying, if not dead already. I used Vine a lot in high school when my friends and I would screw around during free period or at lunch (even though my Catholic high school didn’t allow it). We would make videos to make it seem like we were floating or walking through walls like Harry Potter. I’ve never actually seen Vine’s where people are giving tutorials or doing something positive with it, so I am really excited for the in-class discussions to see how we can use this platform in a positive way.

    I’ve recently been using Periscope a lot, which I think is way more useful than Vine and a lot easier to access. For those who don’t know, it’s basically a live stream where anyone in the entire world could watch (think Facetime clashes with Skype). For example, I’ve always wanted to visit Ireland since I have red hair and my name is Patrick, so early Saturday morning I woke up and watched some live streams in Dublin and Cork and was exposed to their culture. Ashleigh Banfield on CNN also likes to Periscope herself on-air to help promote her news stories as well, and I think that’s where our two worlds collide. I just think it is a neat platform that is very underrated, and journalists can use it on location during live events. Many celebrities use Periscope and live-streams in general as well to promote themselves and engage with their fans.

    Many social media platforms have added the option to live-stream on their websites, like YouTube and Facebook, and it’s changing the way we deliver news on the internet and from our mobile devices.

    -Patrick J. Clarke

  14. pmlilly says:

    It is interesting that there was an award for best vine journalism. I never thought it was that successful, all I thought it was good for was silly videos. It is cool some people used it for real journalism instead of just nonsense. I was never a user of vine but it is cool that some people were able to use it for something beneficial. The example in that one link were pretty cool particularly the one of the cops carrying away people. It was a good way to show the circumstances. Sadly I think that vine is a dying media, nobody that I know still uses it and I haven’t heard of anything cool on there for several years.

    It is funny that you mention in this post about Meerkat and how it failed, because like I said earlier I believe vine is starting to die. I know really know how it is doing in the professional world, but as far as just normal use it has seen a huge downfall as far as I can notice.

    I like the tips that the Providence journal had. The one that I thought was the best was that the Caption and title matter. I have watched many videos without knowing anything about them, but reading the caption. It can really either draw someone in, or make them not want to watch at all. As far as the Huffington post goes the best thing they had to say was make sure that you can view the videos easily on a smartphone, as well as a computer.

  15. emilyeisenhuth says:

    This weeks reading was interesting. I am not a huge fan of Vine and never have really used it but some people can be really creative. I think it was something that isn’t as popular. Yes, people still use it but it is not something people go on like they do with Facebook or Twitter. I don’t see myself using Vine in the near future because I also think that it is dying.

    Briggs talks about how important it is to know data. We have been talking about it a lot in class and knowing how to processes the information can change all the time. Its super important to keep up to date with technology but I feel like you never really know what is the new thing because it is always changing.

    Something that I am trying to learn and be more active with is my captions. In the Providence Journal they talk bout how it is important to put something that will attract to people. If you have something good and it doesn’t appeal to a lot of people they are either skipping over your work or just don’t care if they read it. I think its funny too when someones caption on Twitter has nothing to do with the article but yet its something that I thought would be interesting and wanted to see more of it. It got me to click anyway so you just have to be creative.

  16. audriek says:

    I think the idea that you can create and share a video within 6 seconds is amazing. Over the past 4 years that I have studied here, I have learned that not only has journalism developed in the technology department but it has also transformed and expanded into different outlets like Vine, one example of a social media platform that did not exist years ago.
    One point made from the Huffington Post link was that years ago, marketers never even thought that it could become so convenient and cost-effective. I think it’s pretty incredible to learn that more than 50 percent of the marketing has now shifted to digital marketing. One reason I think this was a smart move is because people are constantly consuming news, and mainly by phone. Why? Because it is so convenient and typically always in their hands, or within arms reach. As the link said “More than 50 percent of social media users access their profiles through a smartphone.”
    Although Vine may have earned itself the title of the best example of 6-second news, I think even that has shifted a bit. It seems to have been a big craze for a short period of time where everyone had an account when it was first released, but looking at it a few years later, the majority of students in college more than likely still have their accounts but don’t look on it as regularly as their Instagram, Twitter or Facebook.
    Along with anything come strengths and weaknesses. One of the links provided shone some light on each of these and highlights some key points that I think all users of Vine have noticed themselves. For example, as listed, “once you shoot it you can’t go back and edit it.” For anyone who may consider themselves perfectionists, this is NOT the app for you! On the other hand, it is an excellent way to show a short, to the point, “how-to.”
    Lastly, the link that incorporated the Science Fair through Vine was awesome. That exemplified that this app is still alive and can really do some awesome things. Did I mention it’s only in 6 seconds?
    So whether we vote for or against Vine, it does exactly what it was set out to do, and even more since it was first created 3 years ago.

Leave a Reply

