Read & Respond week 6: Mobility

Here’s a vivid thought from @GeorgeBray on that everpresent device in your hand.

The concept of Mobile First is informing considerable mass media practice. One of the up-and-coming areas in mobility is wearable technology, and some newsrooms are looking for ways to incorporate it. Its poster child was once Google’s Glass, whose “failure” we’ve discussed in class.

Do you find this fascinating, or do you want to slap the guy? The company pulled the plug on Glass in early 2015, but wearable technology is not going anywhere (get a load of the hedgehog-like iGel). Consider these perspectives:

Naturally, there are naysayers as well:

So how do you see wearable tech influencing the future of mobility? Be sure to post your response to Briggs and the readings as a comment to this post by 11:59 p.m. Sunday, September 18.

14 Responses to Read & Respond week 6: Mobility

  1. michalalynn says:

    Wearables are a tech trend that doesn’t seem to be going anywhere. Personally, I have a set of Bluetooth headphones as well as an Apple Watch. When I leave the house without one or the other I always feel like I’m missing a part of me. The feature of my watch that is possibly the most helpful for mobile reporting is the option to use it as a remote for my phone camera. This Briggs chapter talks about the importance of good visuals’ place in journalism. The quote, “Journalism without photographs is like writing without verbs.” is very truthful.
    As for wearable’s effect on journalism, I can already the shift happening now. When I get a New York Times notification on my watch and think it’s a story I’d really enjoy, I get my phone out and read it. I believe the biggest challenge for wearable tech will be to make it integrate with our preexisting tendencies. I believe that Google Glass failed because it created a physical barrier between people. There was nothing more annoying than trying to have a conversation with someone using Glass and blatantly not paying attention. Smart watches, on the other hand, are easier to ignore when conversing with someone.

  2. Ryan Decker says:

    Pictures and visual elements, as Chapter 5 discusses, are a very important part of any article on a website or a blog. Visual elements can capture a moment, or multiple moments, in a way that words come up short in describing. Like we’ve talked about in class, if pictures of what you’re looking for aren’t overly available, other visual elements such as videos, graphics and tweets are a viable substitute.

    Google Glass is something that I think is interesting, but I would never get it. And after reading Jeremy Littau’s Seven takeaway points on Glass I’m even further convinced that, if it were still on the market, that I would not buy it. The apps seemed to have limited capabilities, it had a short battery life, and if reading is not easy, then what is the point of the device?

    Some wearable technologies that I would be interested in are (50) Gran Turismo Sport, and (38) Wearable data in sports coverage. Although, any of the wearable technologies in the forms of watches that Dan Sung of Wareable mentioned would not be for me.

  3. carlyperez5 says:

    The world has become a place that thrives on new technology. Some technological improvements have taken off, such as apple watch, where as others have failed, for example Google glass.

    Briggs mentions in Chapter 5 that the process of making photographs in a darkroom created a barrier between those who could and those who could not. I believe Google glass also put a barrier between two worlds, those who had it and those who did not. These two situations relate to each other in a sense that they separated people into two categories, which ultimately ended in failure. The video on being a “Glasshole” really explains this to us in a comedic way.

    I might be slightly biased because I do love dogs, but I think Nuzzle is a great idea. It reminds me of the “find my friends” app on the iPhone, but for your dog.

    Wearable technology in terms of clothes is also a great idea, but there is still the issue of making it fashionable. It may work well, but if there is a big, obnoxious button in the middle of your shirt, i.e. Adidas’ future clothing, chances are you will not want to buy it. I believe some wearable technology could be useful in the future of mobility, but there is still a boatload improvements needed to be considered.

  4. Beyond Craft Beer says:

    I am totally partial to wearables. I sport a Fitbit Alta everyday and rely on it to accurately track how many calories I burn and how many steps I take, a much more.. I understand wearable technology as another form of communication and convenience. It all boils down to connecting with yourself and other people, while not going out of your way to do so.

    The first video, I wanted to punch the guy. For more reasons than one, but mainly because he seemed too promotional. He seemed arrogant, somewhat of a Glasshole. I felt like I was watching a Google ad rather than a review of the product.

    As Briggs mentions, the development of technologies has widened and bridged the gap between people in many ways. Photography has come a LONG way recently. I mean like 30 years ago you couldn’t process a quality photo without an elaborate set up, now almost anyone can whip out their cellphone and take a decent picture. This bridged the gap between those who could reach the technology, but wearables can widen the gap by price points and overall usage. A lower class worker is not going to buy an Apple Watch because they cannot afford it, but more importantly, because it doesn’t fit into their life and isn’t necessary.

    Nuzzle is the BOMB. I have 2 pups whom are my children and keeping them safe is my #1 priority. It’s like a Fitbit for my four-legged-daughters, but with more features. Along with Nest and other home technologies, I believe this portion of smart technology is the most practical, efficient, important and innovative. Like I can watch my puppies running around the house while I’m at work or out at dinner. Or I can turn off the heat at the house if it’s starting to warm up inside. THAT IS WICKED COOL.

  5. jayrudolph says:

    As stated in chapter 5 of Briggs, “Journalism without photographs is like writing without verbs.” This sentence really hit home with me because I believe this to be 100% true. There are a lot of parts to make up a complete sentence such as verbs just like there are a lot of parts to good journalism. Technology is going to continue to advance every single day and our ability to use this technology will change everyday too. With samsung recently introducing the first cell phone to include virtual reality I believe that pretty soon you will see this will all cell phones. Just how long ago it was hard to get a phone that had a camera and now its almost impossible to find a phone that doesn’t have a camera. Pretty soon every phone will have virtual reality technology to enhance the experience for the user.

    I think the pictures on the final frontier photo post are creepy. I don’t want to think about a future where everyone is wearing those google glass headsets because it reminds me of all the movies that are utopian society and have total control over the people. It makes me think that google is trying to control the world in the future. If they can make technology that people rely on for everyday life then essentially they have gained that control. I just hope they don’t ever brainwash everyone and take over the world. The article with the 50 different tech gamechangers was really cool. I have a good amount of things on the list and one in particular the Amazon echo has really been a gamechanger in my life. I use it literally everyday and talk to Alexa like she is one of my friends some times as a joke. Me and all my roommates get a big bust out of her. She is always a crowd pleaser.

  6. lmalexander1 says:

    “Mobile technology is the ultimate liberator in modern journalism: the one thing that allows us to leave the desk journalists have too often been tied to,” says Paul Bradshaw. He’s got a point. Being able to be mobile is a huge step for journalists. Gone are the says where we sit at our desks and wait for news to come to us. Now, we go out and get the news ourselves. Within a matter of minutes, breaking news can be broadcasted all across social media thanks to the ability of journalists to go mobile.

    Wearable.com gives 50 new mobile inventions to look for in 2016. If any one of those inventions doesn’t shine a light in in the mobility of today’s world than I’m not sure what will. I think it’s a huge step in the right direction for society to start going mobile. Having the advantage of being mobile makes life so much easier and faster, and gets news out quicker than ever which is a huge advantage for journalists especially.

  7. kameronduncan says:

    Chapter 5 of Briggs talks about the importance of photographs and imagery to journalism. In addition to explaining just how vital photos are to a complete news experience, the chapter also talks about the way contemporary journalists take, edit and compose photos so that they can use them in the most effective way. One particular section discusses the advantages of digital cameras and even cameras on smartphones. I can say from experience that having my phone be able to take high quality image has allowed me to tell more compelling stories when I need to. Being able to access a quality camera basically whenever and wherever I need to is very convenient, and can even mean greater access to a story that I otherwise wouldn’t have.

    As far as wearable technology is concerned, I don’t really see a point for much of it. In my opinion, my phone is accessible enough in a moment’s notice, and I don’t think that a watch or a pair of glasses would enhance my informational experience. In fact, I could see a future in which advertisers and marketers would enjoy being able to place advertisements into the interfaces of these devices, making them even more cumbersome and clunky to use. If I were a pet owner, I could see where something like Nuzzle could be useful, and I’d probably rather have it than not have it. Many of the applications I’ve seen that incorporate VR (especially the gaming ones) seem very gimmicky to me and I don’t see myself getting much out of it.

  8. rmsurella says:

    From what I’ve seen here it would seem like there’s nothing happening with wearable technology right now that makes it a necessity. The first reading link provided a solid rundown of why Glass failed, I would say chiefly because of the lack of battery life and failure to connect to private WiFi networks. As a journalistic tool however wearable technology is very capable of having a groundbreaking impact because it gives the journalist the ability to record important events and images even if they are not attempting to do so at the time that they take place. The Briggs chapter used a quote that said “Photography is all about moment,” but what would happen if photography no longer required the photographer to assess the moment in which he or she needed to take the photo? Something like Google Glass makes it possible for any image that the journalist sees to be seen by their audience, which is one of the biggest advantages they could ask for. Eddie Adams won a Pulitzer Prize for a photo he took in 1968 of a South Vietnamese officer executing a handcuffed Viet Cong member because he happened to raise his camera and take a photo at the exact moment the bullet struck the man in the head. With an item like Google Glass, he could have sorted through the event as he saw it to find the absolutely perfect image, leaving nothing to chance.

  9. Wearable technology has a lot of potential, but the issues brought up in the readings are excellent points as to why it may be failing to take off. Jeremy Littau made a good point about the social media sharing aspect being easy, but not functional. Posts not going up correctly can lead to lost time (deleting and reposts) and defeat the purpose of the wearable. The lack of reliability in Wifi and adding captions mentioned can create an issue in posting original content. According to Briggs, mobile video streaming is really important for multitasking and collecting multimedia for your audience. ad wearables like GoPro and presumably glass could aid in that, but the reliability factor has got to be improved. Overall, I agree with Briggs point about journalists experimenting with new technology and wearables being a necessary evil. Someone has to take it on so we can learn how to fix the issues.

  10. smarino92 says:

    I’m really not into all this high scale technology. I was like one of the last people on Earth to get a smart phone, and I still have an iphone 4. I think people get way too hyped on the things that are coming out, I don’t see the point in being able to text someone from your watch or use your credit card, why do things have to be over-simplified? I think it’s part of the problem with people in the modern world. However, I am really into 360 videos lately, I think they’re awesome because the submerge you in the situation, it’s like being there in first person. I think virtual reality is cool, they should make invested strides in that, but they’re too busy making a new iphone every year. Briggs is right to think video and photos are import in journalism- I think that was a point made a week or two ago, but the truth about people is they want almost too much stimulation anymore. I remember when google glass was a thing for like 5 seconds, I just don’t think we are there technologically yet, but I think science is getting close. I think in the next 10 years things will be significantly more advanced, less buggy, and user friends. We’re still in beta of these kinds of devices.

  11. The idea of google glass seems intriguing but also funky at the same time. For example, in the “A day with Google Glass” video the guy showed how you can read news while walking on the street. This seemed a little dangerous as walking and reading and not paying attention to cars or what’s going around you is not a good idea in my books. Plus if you have your phone with you, you can check emails and read news on the go as well, so what’s really the point of google glass? 🙂 Also the battery life of Google glass is 3.5 hrs max, which if you are a journalist willing to incorporate this device into your work, will be a huge inconvenience.
    Chapter 5 in Briggs highlights the importance of knowing basic photography skills for any journalist. A powerful image can be worth a 1,000 words. Plus incorporating images into your work will make a story more lively.

  12. Alexa Ciattarelli – R&R6

    What we see is everything – our first impression, how we interact, our method of judgement, how we learn, and so much more.

    Technology has increased our ability to “see”, especially in the field of journalism. Being able to post stories, articles, posts, and more online allows more and more people to find themselves reading our work.

    And with technology presents the opportunity to post visuals, and as stated in Chapter 5 of Journalism Next, “Journalism without photographs is like writing without verbs.”

    Technology allows us to find our news when we want and how we want. We no longer have to wait for the newspaper boy to round the corner on his bike and toss the paper on our doorstep.

    I personally have no problem with increased use in technology. I think it is practical, easy, and efficient. But, with that being said, I don’t think Google Glass is anything worse fussing over.

    Technology allows us to come and go as we please. To constantly be wearing something, like Google Glass, seems invasive. And trying to make them fashionable so that more people are willing to wear them is ridiculous.

    Besides the questionable invasiveness, the device isn’t reliable. If we are using technology, we want to have confidence in it. Wearable technology has potential, but I don’t think we have advanced enough technologically to perfect Glass. As stated by Jeremy Littau, we want something fully activated.

    Having to constantly wear the glasses doesn’t seem like something I am interested in. And maybe I am uninterested because the man in the first video completely turned me off to the device. He seemed pushy and harsh. But, Google Glass just doesn’t seem like a logical investment.

    Overall, technology is important in the journalism field. But, I think there is a line we may have crossed with Glass.

  13. It is my personal opinion that wearable technology will not become a popular trend. The idea has been around for a while and very little popular development has been accomplished.
    Google Glass is an interesting but undesirable product in my opinion. Littau’s comments on Google Glass lead me to believe the product would not do very well even if it stayed on the market due to several features mentioned.
    The Apple Watch seems to be one of the only pieces of wearable technology that has really caught on in addition to the fit bit and similar devices. I believe the reasoning in this to be who’s behind it. For example Apple Watch was released by Apple, a brand that we all know, trust, and buy from. Fit bit was made for exercise and healthy lifestyles. It’s a simple design in a time where healthy lifestyles are glorified.
    In chapter 5, Briggs makes mention of photography and its importance to a journalist. I believe this to be especially true today as everyone has access to a camera, and a decent one at that. Being able to accurately and completely capture an image or event is so important to the instant Information Age that we are currently living in.

  14. […] by it, but do you know how to use it as a blogger? As a journalist? As we discussed in our Mobility week, we’re increasingly devoted to technologies that track our movements, habits, and preferences, […]

Leave a Reply

