Read & Respond week 15 – Get to know Hunter Homistek

This week I’d like you to have a look at some work by this Wednesday’s guest speaker, Hunter Homistek. Hunter is a WVU alumnus (and originator of one of this class’ best blog names). He’s currently content marketing coordinator for FloSports, but he got there via a string of blogging and freelancing opportunities (and hard work), mainly writing about the world of Mixed Martial Arts. As a blogger in this class, Hunter wrote about MMA because that’s what he cared about, and he parlayed that interest into actual employment, writing for blogs like Bleacher Report and MMAfighting.com.

Here’s a list of links to his work. Skim, find some things of interest, and talk about what you see.

Writing

At Bleacher Report

Another from Bleacher Report

For Fight! Magazine

MMAFighting.com

FloCombat (most recent)

Hunter recommends this post as an example of making boring recaps pop with gifs

Preview video from FloCombat

Luke Bryan story (for the Daily Athenaeum – we all have to start somewhere!)

Creative and Editorial work

Rebranding Project for DrWayneAnderson.com

Editor and author for several books

Scan through this work and get a sense for Hunter and the kind of skills he needs to do his variety of jobs. Have questions, both about the links and about what he does and how he got there. You don’t need to be an MMA fan – the takeaway here is how you can pursue an interest to become a voice on the subject.

Since Hunter isn’t coming until Wednesday (and since you’re coming off a turkey-laden break), I’m extending this deadline. You have until 11:59 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 29 to post your comments as a response to this post. Make sure to connect what you read with the work we’ve done this semester. What skills do you see at work? How could you follow Hunter’s lead? What does he need to tell you? I’m asking him to read your comments as well, so let him know what you want to know!

15 Responses to Read & Respond week 15 – Get to know Hunter Homistek

  1. carlyperez5 says:

    After reading through a few of Hunter Homistek’s work you can really tell that he is writing about something he enjoys. I think if the magazines he wrote for chose someone else who wasn’t as interested in the topic of MMA they wouldn’t have as much character and excitement. Even though I am not a fan of MMA, his excitement for the sport really shows through and gets me excited. Hunter’s article on Bleacher Report, “UFC 172: The Final Report”, is a perfect example of this. You can really tell he knows what he is talking about. I also really enjoy how the media he incorporated tells a part of the story without him physically writing a block of text about it. His post on FloCombat about Valor Fights also used media in the perfect way. Again, instead of typing a block of text about the fight and what went down, he showed it to us. I myself respond better to video and pictures, rather than just text. A question I have for Hunter about his posts is how he incorporates his own voice into the articles without sounding biased?

    When it comes to writing, I do a much better job when I am writing about something I personally enjoy or have experienced. I believe that if I am able to promote my health blog enough and keep it going after this class ends, I could possibly follow in Hunters steps. How did he get people to start noticing his blog? And what steps that he took failed and which ones succeeded?

    • Hey, Carly, thanks for the comment and the kind words. I think I covered how I incorporated my voice thoroughly in class, but to your other points…

      “How did he get people to start noticing his blog?”

      I’m not sure people noticed my blog from class. Rather, I developed my skills there, experimented using different voices, etc., then used that to build something to show to Bleacher Report. So my class blog itself wasn’t successful from a recognition standpoint, but it undoubtedly helped to propel me to other outlets.

      “What steps failed? Which ones succeeded?”

      Failed: I took on a few feature assignments that I wanted to be these long, grand stories but ended up simply being too much to handle while juggling other jobs. The result was a diluted product that didn’t do the subject justice.

      Succeeded: Writing every day—whether I had something due or not—made a huge difference for me. You develop your voice, you become more comfortable in the space, and you keep your skills sharp in doing so.

  2. Ryan Decker says:

    One thing that I immediately noticed in Hunter Homistek’s writing is it is very descriptive. There are a ton of details. And everything is detailed well, well enough to have an exact idea of the feeling in the arena, or the pain of an injury setback. Not only do the details help tell the story, but the way the stories are written also make everything easy to read. Everything seems to flow together very smoothly. He changes sentence length to aid in this. Homistek even uses a little bit of alliteration to help move the story along.

    It’s obvious after reading his articles that he knows the sport very well. He includes background information from fighters’ pasts that only an avid fan (or journalist) would know. With that said, you can also tell he does a lot of research, as to not miss any important details. This comes through in his interview quotes, which all seem to be very well. Some of this can be credited to the fighter or whoever he’s interviewing, but a majority of the credit should go to him that ask good questions that elicit a good response.

  3. Hunter’s work shows a lot of knowledge and attention to detail. You can tell he is a huge fan of the MMA, but his fandom does not get in the way of his storytelling. Detail and description go a long way in his posts. As soon as I saw the recap with all the gifs, I instantly knew it was applicable to this class. MMA relies so much on visuals and gifs are great way to show not tell. The combination of the good analysis with the action-packed gif makes it easy to see why this has translated past this class. I also noticed that throughout the portfolio of work provided, it is all so different. This well roundedness is something i would like to emulate myself.

    I am interested in the path Hunter took to get here. Where did he start in WVU, what field? How much of his work in classroom help his passion of MMA? Which of those aspects helped more to getting him where he is today?

  4. michalalynn says:

    After reading some of Hunter Homistek’s writing it is immediately clear that he loves what he is writing about. You can tell this mainly because he is very descriptive in his writing and it comes across as a very loved story. My favorite piece was Cody Garbrandt: Kicking Ass and Keeping Promises. You can really tell that he spent a lot of time talking to Garbrandt and getting his side of the story. The use of quotes really paints a picture for the reader as opposed to just telling the reader what happened. I really believe that the best part of writing is when you get to be able to write about what you want. It’s easy to write about things you care about as opposed to being made to write about something you have no feelings about.

    The post recapping fights with gifs was really an interesting read. Being able to visually see what happened in the fight as opposed to reading a large descriptive block of text. Personally, I, respond better to video and pictures, rather than just text. They’re easier to keep the attention of your readers with as well. I would love to know how Hunter continues to keep his writing fresh.

  5. I started off this assignment by reading just a couple of Hunter’s posts. What I quickly realized is how extremely detail oriented Hunter is. It is evident that he puts a great deal of effort, time and detail into his research to find images, quotes, videos and more.

    After reading all of the links from the assignment, it also became clear Hunter’s passion and dedication for MMA. It was really nice to hear someone’s love for a topic in their work. Hunter made me realize that if you find something you love, it can drive your work.

    One post that I really enjoyed was http://www.flocombat.com/article/48105-valor-fights-38-results-gifs-kid-kash-falls-early-prospects-shine. The use of linked videos helps to dramatize the post. It is also very detailed and well structured.

    It was in this post that I realized why we as students were assigned to look at Homistek’s posts. He is so detail oriented, focused, information, and interesting.

    Overall, I really enjoyed reading Hunter’s posts. He is an amazing writer and it shows as he has made a career out of it.

    Tomorrow in class, I would like to ask Hunter about his rise to success, and how he found himself where he is now.

  6. The first thing that I noticed about Hunter’s work is that he is very detail oriented. He makes the subject matter he is discussing (which can be dense and sometimes even intimidating) easy to understand and follow along with, which is a good quality to have as a writer. I particularly enjoyed his writeup on UFC 172. I’m an MMA fan myself and I remember watching this event, but Hunter’s article gives me a sense of access and knowledge about it that can only come from being there live.

    Hunter also incorporates different forms of media and social media into his posts, which is something we’ve become proficient in over the course of this semester. The article on Valor Fights is probably the best example of this, with all of the different clips from the fights interspersed with Hunter’s commentary. I enjoyed reading Hunter’s work and I can see why he was able to make a living writing.

    I would like to ask Hunter what steps he took to be able to write about the thing he is most passionate about.

  7. smarino92 says:

    One of the articles I really enjoyed was things one:http://www.fightmagazine.com/cody-garbrandt-kicking-ass-keeping-promises-10066 and for a few reasons.

    I feel like it wasn’t a run of the mill story about a fighter. This had deeper meaning and substance- sure plenty of kids are trying to make it MMA and all that- but this guy’s story was a little bit more inspiring and gritty than some small town guy who wanted to be a fighter.

    Media was a player as well, which is always a bonus reading anything online, and I noticed in other things there were pictures, videos, Tweets, etc. The writing was not bland, but engaging so that helps also.

    I think there are a lot of things I would probably want to ask- but why MMA of all things? I know UFC and stuff are hot topics right now- but what draws him to it? Is it hard to report on these things because generally it’s kind of always the same subject matter- or is it? I am curious to know.

  8. lmalexander1 says:

    I don’t know a single thing about MMA fighting, but after reading some of Hunter’s articles you can definitely say that I’m more informed. The detail in his articles is amazing and it shows how much time and effort he puts into his work. He knows what he’s talking about and that really helps someone who has never read anything on or watched MMA understand the sport; someone like me.

    His interviews are great, which allows me to believe he’s great at asking his sources interview questions and making the information fit into his stories. The various types of media that Hunter incorporates into his stories really help the read flow better than most blogs out there. You can tell he really cares and enjoys what he’s writing about and that makes for the best kind of writing.

    I love to write, and I really love writing about things that I’m passionate about. My only problem is that a lot of the things that I’m passionate about, a lot of other people aren’t. Therefore, I feel as though they won’t read what I have to say. I feel as though MMA fighting is something that some people aren’t interested in reading about, and I’m just wondering how Hunter gets those people to read his work. Obviously people who like and follow MMA fighting will be more than willing to read his blog, but what about those who don’t? I’m sure he still wants those people to stop and take a look at his work, and I’m just wondering how he makes that happen.

  9. Beyond Craft Beer says:

    Hunter clearly has a passion that goes beyond this subject. He cares about his writing and how people can enjoy his writing no matter the subject and I feel like that is something you have been teaching us all semester. You began this class with the idea that nobody cares so we have to make them care through our writing techniques and Hunters writing hooks people even if they don’t like MMA.

    Also, Hunter always uses media mediums besides texts. The recap of a fight that you have us wasn’t just another highlight reel of what happened the previous night, it had background and meaning but still provided exciting visuals to keep interest. Hunter finds ways to answer this: “ok, we know who won the fight, but why should we care?”

    Also, I really enjoyed the Luke Bryan post, because I actually attended that concert and thought it was well-written. Covering events can be bland and repetitive, especially with a highly-covered subject like Luke Bryan, but Hunter made the event come to life with his descriptions. He’s just missing the fact that Luke took my sisters phone and took a selfie with us during the concert!

  10. rmsurella says:

    I like Bleacher Report so I decided to start there. Hunter is doing the thing that I have been struggling most with which is describing my own experience with a particular thing in a proper balance with providing the full objective information necessary for someone with leser involvement in the subject matter to understand what is being discussed. The Instagram picture of himself attending the event is awesome because it shows that like the majority of his readers, he is simply a fan of the material he’s covering. This is important because it shows them that he shares the passion for the subject matter as much as they do, and is committed to doing it justice as best he can.
    I think I do my best work when I incorporate more personal elements into the introductory portions of my writing like Hunter does in that post, which is a great example of a way to follow his lead by breaking down my reluctance to do this for fear of making the blog too much about myself.

  11. While looking through Hunter’s work, I noticed that most of his articles generate a lot of comments and discussion. That means that there is a community who is looking for this type of content and they take time to read Hunter’s articles, comment on them and share their thoughts. I think that Hunter has achieved one of the main goals of blogging.
    It’s also evident that he is very passionate about what he writes about. Seems like he is sharing his hobby with the public, gets great enjoyment out of it and also manages to make a career out of it.
    His articles are very informative and he uses social media, like Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, etc. in his posts to make them more rich, eye-catching and exciting. I think this is great, this can attract new readers for sure.
    As somebody who is not interested in MMA, I would probably never read an article that only has bland text. But some of the visual content definitely draws me in.
    I would like to ask Hunter how he became interested and decided to write about MMA? Was it his life-long hobby or if he learned new stuff as he went?

  12. What I noticed about Hunter’s work was that it was easy to read, since I do not know a lot about what is going on in that MMA and I was able to understand what was going on. I also noticed he uses a lot of descriptive language and tries to set scenes for his reader, another way which made it easier for me to read.
    Some skills that were very noticeable were they amount of social media he used in his posts like Instagram and Twitter. But he interchanged the amount of video and pictures so there was a good ratio and it was pretty even. I also like the fact that he incorporated YouTube videos, along with Instagram videos which is a nice change and keeps things interesting.
    Honestly I would like to know how he got into writing for Bleacher Report because I follow them quite regularly and think they are a great source for sports news.

  13. I’m a fan of Hunter’s writing style because there are great transitions between sports and human interest, particularly in th Cody Garbrandt piece. I can definitely see some of the elements that we’ve covered in class. His mix of media styles is well related to his topic and helps tell the story, while keeping the reader engaged in the writing. The videos and photos and design choices in the Garbrandt piece made the appearance very captivating and effective. The flocombat piece shows how well he does with multimedia, which is something we’ve scratched the surface of in this class, so that shows there’s room to immerse yourself in multiple forms of media to be successful.

  14. jayrudolph says:

    Sorry I’m late. But firstly I started with the Bleacher Report because I actively follow BR’s instagram and twitter regularly. Its a great spot for sports updates and inside information. Hunters post did a great job of telling the story as well as incorprating links, Instagrams and even tweets. We have learned all these techniques this semester and I personally have used the twitter embedding a lot in my most recent post to highlight the student body life and what they have to say.
    Next I read the mmafighting link, another great post but much more of a hard read. I liked this one a lot more because I got lost in your words as I was reading and fell into the story myself. You can tell that you write with certain tone of voice that flows with the story throughout.

Leave a Reply

