Read & Respond week 13 – Video

This week’s readings are mostly viewings. To start, though, let’s have a moment of silence for Vine. The six-second-video-sharing app is owned by Twitter, which in October announced plans to shut it down. In a nutshell, Vine could be used to create and share a six-second clip of anything … just how useful can that be?

There are several possible reasons. For one, Twitter has been scaling back in the hopes of turning a profit. For another, livestreaming apps have horned in on its territory. Periscope (also owned by Twitter) is popular and defeated competition like Meerkat, and Facebook Live is perhaps even more popular; one mark in Facebook Live’s favor is the use of the social networking giant’s ability to note popularity of specific points in a stream through viewer likes and reactions. This is our current social media world: Ideas live, they die, they live again (but under new management).

So how do you livestream? The Providence Journal has some suggestions, as does HuffPost. Is livestreaming something you’d try? How can we apply this to the practice of journalism, and what are its problems?

Before Wednesday’s class (we’ll be editing podcasts on Monday), give livestreaming a try. Take a few minutes on Facebook Live to broadcast something you’d like to share – it’s a good idea to tell your followers in advance so interested parties can check it out – and see what you think. We’ll discuss!

Post your responses in a comment to this post by 11:59 p.m., Sunday, April 9.

18 Responses to Read & Respond week 13 – Video

  1. Rebecca Toro says:

    I have never used vine for news, just for entertainment which is personally why It might have died. People just might have gotten bored of it.
    After reading, Vine Journalism Awards best example of 6-second news, I learned about how vine was incorporated into the media world. Journalists used vine to show behind the scenes, sports footage, to be inspirational, for breaking news, and more. These simple, six-second videos can capture a quick moment that is newsworthy.
    The article, How Journalists Use Vine helped me understand the challenges of capturing a moment and news in six-seconds. With vine you can capture multiple angles which is a benefit because a viewer can see maybe six different angles of one event and take that into their own interpretation of what is going on. The downside: It can be a challenge getting the right moment and saying its news.
    Since Vine died, live streaming has become the next movement in social media technology.
    I feel personally that live streaming could be more effective because it is longer and less stress trying to squish information down into seconds. I feel that someone who is really interested could spend time watching a livestream and get a ton of information out of viewing it.
    Live streaming is even something new to me. So Social: 5 tips for live streaming video on social media, helped me understand how to properly live stream. We are media students and so most of our live streaming should be for spreading the news. It’s like our own personal broadcast. You want to have a good title to draw people in. You want to plan it. You want to acknowledge that you are live and that there is an audience. You want to plan one long broadcast to prevent having to make multiple videos. You want to report on an important news worthy broadcast.
    If I had my own live stream, I would be so uncomfortable because I like to do print journalism. Technology and social media is always changing and growing. Media students have to keep up with the next source of spreading news. Live streaming is one of those fast effective ways of spreading news. I now understand the need for fast news reporting even if it means having to go live and speak the news through video.

  2. I think that live streaming has potential for journalists since it could help make live reporting have more substance. I personally never used Vine so I cannot compare it to live streaming, but from watching the Vines selected for Vine Journalism Awards they seemed awfully short. I also feel like telling a story using a Vine would be more difficult. I don’t know for certain if there was a time constraint on the videos you could post to Vine, but from what I saw it almost seems like it. Live Streaming, such a Facebook Live doesn’t have that issue, so an entire event could be covered such as the women’s march that recently occurred in D.C. As of right now I can’t think of a downside of using live streaming for news. I honestly think it would just help to make event coverage easier and help provide news as it is happening.

  3. Cara Devenney says:

    I am so sad that Vine came to an end! I love going on YouTube and watching Vine compilations with my sister because it makes us laugh until we cry, haha!

    Anyways, when we were in high school that is when Vine came out. It was super popular and everyone who I knew used it. The Vine videos are only six seconds long which is not a long time at all, so other LiveStreaming outlets have the better advantage when it comes to time. I noticed Facebook Live when the different news outlets were using them when they were out and about and streaming what is going on. I would get a notification stating that “CBS 3 is Live! Join the conversation” and it would lead me along with thousands of other people to the Live Stream and you have the option to comment, like it, hate it, love it, etc. I tried Facebook Live once when I was at a local Chick-fil-A back home and there was a jazz band playing! I thought it was bizarre and awesome so I decided to Live Stream that and it had a lot of likes and views.

    I also consider Snapchat a Live Stream because people are taking videos of what they are doing right then and there and others watch it. So, basically all of WVU Live Streams. I think it would be beneficial in the journalism world because news outlets are already using it, and it is successful. For example, if you are a NAT GEO journalist wouldn’t it be cool to Live Stream a volcano erupting or giraffes herding? It would also be interesting to see lifestyles in different cultures too when you travel to different countries.

  4. Cayla Nolder says:

    I think that live streaming is wiggling it’s way to the top because even now advertisers are using live stream! The longest live stream was snicker’s 36-hour long live stream on Facebook during the Superbowl. I’m at a slight disadvantage because I never used Vine but I don’t think Vine would be appropriate for journalistic stories because of the 6 second time limit. However, I can see journalists using Live Stream in the future. It allows a reporter to video in the moment and for followers to get the news in real time which would be cool because then Journalists would get to be able to see the audiences’ response while video recording. Being able to see responses would allow a Journalist to see if people have negative or positive viewpoints regarding their stories as well as get feedback quickly. I don’t see a downside to Live Stream but like everything…as technology progresses it probably will die just like Vine.

  5. I’ve never seen Vine used as a journalism tool before, but it’s not surprising it was used for that (R.I.P. Vine). While its videos were not long, they could add interesting tidbits that told part of a story quickly, often without voiceover necessary. The video of a boy with polio riding the bike is a simple but powerful addition to whatever format the story was being told.

    I’ve only been part of a live stream once, and it was scary. The Providence Journal tip on letting people know is a big one. Live streaming is a way to connect to your audience in real time. If you’re audience isn’t there, then it defeats the purpose of not having a flawless pre-recorded video for them. As the HuffPost article mentions, live streaming has integrated into social media, which makes it a great for expanding your brand and letting an audience into an event that they are unable to attend.

    Live streaming is going to continue to grow and change in the upcoming years, and when done right, it is a great way to connect to the audience and promote yourself.

  6. miaswanegan says:

    I am one among the many who also just used Vine as a comedic tool. Sophomore year of high school, i want to say, is when it came out and everyone had an account as well as posted silly videos.When I look back on it now, the videos my friends made really weren’t funny at all but over the years there were some pretty iconic ones made by others. It was sad seeing it all come to an end. The only downside for using it as a news tool is that the videos can only be 6 seconds max.

    I do think live streaming plays a huge role in how we get our news today. Since it is so in the moment, it gives us the opportunity to see what is happening right then and now instead of having to wait for a story to break.

    Personally i cannot think of something I would do a live stream about now but some of my friends have done them on Facebook before and it is quite interesting because they are literally able to reach such a wide crowd. Also it is cool to be able to say something once and not have to repeat multiple times, for example if someone was live streaming to answer a few questions, multiple people get the answers at one time but also can still go back to the video once it has ended.

  7. mglamastro says:

    Hi!

    My bachelor’s is journalism with an emphasis in print, so multimedia, video especially, has never been my strong suit. Other than what I can do on my iPhone, which is arguably quite a lot, I do not know much at all about creating or developing video, images, graphics, etc.

    When plans were announced to terminate Vine in October, social media users (especially Twitter users) produced a lot of outcry, from my perspective at least. But it did not really concern me at all because I know next to nothing about Vine. I have always thought that six seconds is no where near enough time to produce meaningful content, and that Vine was just full of people looking for their 15 minutes of fame. But, I really enjoyed the six-second science fair.

    The video clips show very interesting and important content relatively to the community at large–not just the science or the STEM community. And, the corresponding hashtag adds another element to the community that can be used across various social media platforms, such as Twitter (microblogging), Instagram (images), Tumblr, Pinterest and Reddit.

    Not only are hashtags a great way to spread the word about a certain event, they are perfect for getting the community involved and to contributed to the event–instead of just experiencing it second- or thirdhand. This produces more content, especially from those who may not be interested in using Vine, because, like I said, they can use the hashtag across so many other social platforms or on their own personal blogs.

    I definitely think a Vine community needs a hashtag so that they can expand beyond the six-second clips. The same can be said for Twitter–it needs hashtags in order to expand beyond the 140-character limit.

    As you mentioned, there are several reasons for Twitter doing away with Vine. Now, there are so many social media platforms that allow for live streaming: Facebook and Instagram being two of the biggest players. Most people already have Facebook and/or Instagram accounts, so there is no real reason for them to download extraneous apps such as Vine or Periscope–that would require building a following on those apps, as well. And why would anyone go through that hassle when they already have followings on other platforms that now offer live streaming. To put it plainly, there really is not much of a need for Vine or Periscope now. They were extremely short lived despite their success. I can definitely see why Twitter is doing away with it to increase profit–it seems like more trouble than it is worth.

    Best,

    Madalyn

  8. I honestly cannot believe that Vine was as big and popular as it was. The fact that a 6 second video could provide something or someone with a valuable way of communication or advertisement is crazy to me! I did not know that news sources used Vine. I have only ever used it for entertainment purposes. Then again, when Vine was in its peak, I was way younger and didn’t really pay attention to news or how news operated.
    Live streaming is a big thing right now. I don’t think Snap Chat would be considered live streaming but that is the closest thing I’ve done to live streaming. In businesses, I find it to be very helpful. In my internship, I have used Instagram live to show off one of our events we held in NYC. People can tune in and comment. We found it to be very effective! I don’t know if I would like to use it in my personal life though. The funny thing is, I love social media and everything that comes with it for business use. I accepted a job as a Social Media Coordinator for after graduation that I was extremely excited about. However, I barely use my personal social medias. Very odd I know! I just can’t seem to get myself to do what I do for businesses on my own. Maybe one day I will!

  9. There is a large void in my life now that Vine is gone. Like my classmates, I only really used it for entertainment. I have seen many individuals build a career from Vine. I did not however ever see it used as a news source.

    I remembering reading articles about how Twitter was scrambling to reshape the social platform since they were not making money. The CNN article attempted to makes sense of why Twitter shut down Vine. The article stated that it wasn’t a platform like Facebook, where all users felt comfortable posting. Vine was left to the creatives. I think this was a major downfall. Even so, it is interesting to see these social media platforms battle and adapt to one another.

    Live streaming is a new tool that many companies are using. Live streaming allows the audience to be more involved within a company. I did not realize periscope was owned by Twitter. I do not use the platform, but I know there is a large community within periscope. I would like to see Twitter combine with Periscope. It would be cool to be scrolling down your Twitter feed and see who is live streaming.

    I think live streaming is going to continue to be an effective tool in business. I know in retail, many companies will use Facebook live to promote new launches. A few YouTubers I watch now live stream to better connect with their audience. The Huff post article summed it up great when they explained that it is hard to tell if a live stream is effective. How do you know if the viewer is in your target audience, or just someone stopping by your live stream. Either way, I am excited to see how this tool develops in the coming years.

  10. RIP in Peace to Vine. It was a sad day when Vine came to an end. I really only used Vine for entertainment purposes rather than informational purposes. I think it was much better off as a way for entertainment. If I was trying to get information out of a story I would rather read or watch a longer video rather than a 6-second highlight. However, live-streaming definitely has potential to become a essential tool for journalists. Social media has become the fastest way to break a story, but what an even faster way to break it by live-streaming on a social media app.

    I think live-streaming is something that I would be interested in. I do think it would be difficult though. If the approach was to be professional and break a story, or be newsworthy, I think I would struggle. However, if it was for entertainment purposes or to be about sports or a hobby I think I would enjoy it and maybe be decent at it.

    I do watch some live-steams on Periscope on Barstool Sports. Most of their live-streams are from an event though and it is meant to be entertaining and funny, and not so much informational.

  11. I have seen livestreaming being used a lot lately. The most popular in my feed are consultants for LuLaRoe, a direct sales women’s clothing company. The concept is that prints are only made for a certain amount of time, and each consultant orders by size and style, but she has no control over the prints she receives. Consultants use Periscope and Facebook live to do “out-of-the-box” sales and people tune in to get first dibs on the latest prints.
    Lowe’s also used vine videos in an interesting way by making 6-second how-to videos for home improvement projects. The link for the videos is still active as of today.
    For journalism, livestreaming could be useful in capturing a realistic picture of what is being reported on. It could capture the environment and the things and people in it more naturally. Livestreaming is also what is happening right now, so timeliness is a big strength.
    Downfalls of livestreaming might be outside noise, people interrupting, pauses or breaks in the action. It could also be used for evil, such as terrorist actions. Livestreaming at inappropriate times would also become an issue, such as funerals or other private events or sacred events.
    I think live-streaming could be used to promote my blog. For the Facebook live assignment, I plan on discussing the progress I’ve made in decluttering while giving a tour of my house. I probably would be more likely to use a pre-recorded video, so I can stop and restart if I need to, but I do think Facebook Live creates more opportunity for interaction with your audience

  12. zamuhammad says:

    I used Vine all the time when I was in high school and I loved it! I enjoyed the article on how journalist used Vine. I believe that Vine was beneficial because of how short it was. It was short enough for people to watch and next thing you notice you’ve been watching hours of Vines.

    The most popular now is live streaming whether it is on Facebook or Instagram. In my opinion I believe that live streaming is not something that I would be interested in doing unless I am live streaming an event. When I get on Facebook and see people on Facebook live they are literally just sitting their and looking at who is viewing their stream. But in other ways live streaming is very beneficial, I know that there has been a lot of crimes that have been live streamed and the entire social media has seen it.

    It is not difficult at all its literally with the touch of a button and your streaming. I just don’t have interest in it nor do I find it entertaining because the streaming is too long and strung on. I personally think edited videos are more effective due to the fact that you can edit and put the most important things in a video to be as concise as possible.

    Therefore, I do not think this will be good for journalist because anything can happen when live streaming. Which happens on the news all the time. Sometimes pedestrians “crash” news reports because they are attracted to the camera. But, with live streaming becoming more popular the use to actually news reporters at stations won’t be as effective because anyone can stream from their social media account to report news.

  13. Laura Andrea says:

    I’ve only gotten mildly interested in live streaming when Instagram added that feature to their stories. I remember when Facebook live streaming started I’d get annoyed at the notifications of people streaming stuff I had no interest in. I can definitely see the journalistic appeal and applications. Right now there’s a student strike going back home and I watch tons of Facebook live streams to stay updated on what’s happening. It’s good because it feels like the most authentic reporting as I can see what’s happening right before my eyes as if I”m there and not filtered through someone else’s perception or bias.

  14. Ashley Conley says:

    I’ve only used live streaming for news purposes. During my time as a media member covering WVU football, I used live stream during the tour of Milan Puskar Stadium upgrades, that way I could show followers the new upgrades before others got to see it in person. It was pretty neat because people’s feedback was really positive and I realized how neat the use of live stream really is. It’s a great way to get visual information out to people really quickly.

    When it comes to Vine, I actually never really used Vine, but I did stumble upon a few Vines on Twitter and Facebook. I think it was great (and sadly missed!) and it’s a great way to really keep viewer attention on you because it only lasts six seconds. Even people who don’t necessarily want to see what you’re putting out there are probably still going to view it simply because it’s so short and simple.

    Although Vine died, I think live streaming is going to continue to expand and grow because people are becoming more visual than ever before. Instead of clicking on articles on Facebook, people are going to scroll past them and instead click on Facebook Live videos because it’s just quicker and a visual is almost always better.

  15. Haley says:

    I think the awards for the six second videos showed how importing live streaming is. Senator John McCain stated his views on Vladimir Putin directly to the social media world. I think Vine died because it wasn’t keeping up with the rest of the social media world with mass improvements like Twitter.
    Live streaming is important to becoming another medium for the way we receive news in our everyday life.
    Virtual reality and live streaming have the possibility for a future of real “live” news to the audience and viewers.
    Periscope and Twitter allow users to promote themselves effectively. In the Providence Journal they discuss the importance of users promoting before they tune in to gain the greatest number of audience members.
    I do think that live streaming should be a part of your social media strategy even though we need to come up with improvements for new strategies to get a majority of social media interacting with live streaming at a high rate.

  16. dshedrick says:

    I’m definitely an avid consumer of all things social media related – I adore Twitter, and I check Snapchat, Facebook, and Instagram religiously. Obviously all of these companies have to stay on the cusp of emerging technology and user trends… But I think the livestreaming aspects of these apps have gone way too far. This tweet from a fellow WVU student really sums it up.

    As a user, I wish that there was just one app that people could use for all their live streaming and “story”ing and whatnot. Adding “live” features to every single social media makes them messier, in my opinion. These sites do not always need to diversify their portfolios (as Twitter saw with Vine). I think the users would not mind for them to have all of their eggs in one basket, as long as it was a nice basket.
    At the same time, there are definite benefits to these tools. Certainly the goal of them is to bring us closer to unlimited access to information, and I definitely think they achieve that (to a fault, at times). I might not be thinking creatively or deeply enough, but when I imagine these livestreams, I just always think of them being useful primarily for events or outlying situations that are not mundane or everyday. The constant bombardment from certain brands’ social media definitely cheapens these methods of getting their message across at times. So I would say, use it for important things and save the run of the mill nonaction for yourself rather than your followers.
    Also, my apologies for the slight lateness of this post. The Mad Max clip got me sucked down a wormhole of Mad Max related things, since I have never seen that movie and had no idea why that man was putting what looked like spray paint on his teeth (still don’t).

  17. How did I miss Vine being used as a tool for journalists? I think that would have been a difficult medium to use, because it can be hard to *really* tell a story in six seconds. I imagine that took a bit of practice. As for livestreaming, I think that’s a great tool for journalists. It allows us to reach our audience and allow them to see something happen as it unfolds, rather than several minutes or even hours after. That’s made even easier with smart phones and Facebook Live. I have a bit of an affinity for emerging media, so I think we should always look out for and jump into new ways of telling stories and immersing our audience as much as possible.

Leave a Reply

